Ratings based on 287 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pennsylvania

Faded but comfortable

Posted May 18, 2017
This hotel is next to the Perrache railway station but there is no noise from the trains. My room was on the top floor and was clean and comfortable, though it could do with more light and better air-conditioning on hot days. The staff could not have beenore helpful. Getting to the hotel by car is tricky due to its position between the train tracks and the dual carriageway, but easy by foot from the station. It is conveniently placed to access the city centre with plenty of restaurants within a few minutes walk.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 19, 2017 by Marta Pardo Badier, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. We are sorry regarding the air conditionning, for your next stay, don't hesitate to inform the reception, they will be the best to find a solution. Sincerely, Marta Pardo Badier General manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Excellent hotel

Posted Apr 6, 2017
Pros: Everything, no complaints
Cons: Nothing
Location: Very central, access to railway station, metro, tramway and town centre.
The hotel in general was excellent, very close to railway Station, metro, tramway etc. Lovely terrace at the front of the hotel, excellent stay.everything
4 out of 5
by pankaj

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 28, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not a 4 stars Hotel

Posted Feb 13, 2017
Pros: the architecture of the rooms and saloons - it is a chateau
When we arrived we did the check in and demand for a parking place. All of them where booked... The room was clean and big but the shower gel and the shampoo where missing. The next day when we we did the check out the receptionist demand us to pay the room which was already paid via expedia.com - very annoying moment.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 8, 2017 by Marta PARDO-BADIER, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Marta PARDO-BADIER General Manager
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Avoid as run down

Posted Nov 17, 2016 on Hotels
Run down property No water for a shower in morning. Air coming from pipe so no shower to go to work all day Hotel staff dust present bill without any thought of my prediction No refunds no compensation ?
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 25, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. During your stay, there was a general water issue that we settled as fast as possible. For reminder: in compensation, Your room service order has been offered at your check out. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Marta PARDO-BADIER General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sussex

Convenient hotel

Posted Oct 28, 2016
Pros: pleasant hotel with an interesting history. Lovely interior with painted fresco's on the ceilings.
Cons: softer beds
Location: within walking distance to town centre and also the old town. Right next to the railway station and the metro is very easy to find your way around on.
Very convenient hotel for a stay in Lyon. The map makes the hotel confusing to find even though it is right next to the train station, Pleasant and helpful staff. The breakfast may be limited in choice but is nice and plentiful and we found it very tasty The only thing we would find to complain about is the extremely hard it was like sleeping on a board and we would not have been able to stay for longer than a couple of night. Overall a nice hotel to stay in about a 5 minute walk through the railway station and a pleasant square to shops a restaurants.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pennsylvania

Enjoyable stay

Posted Oct 10, 2016
Pros: Excellent location adjacent to the Perrache train station. It was very quiet in the room even though it was close to the station.
Location: Close to train/metro/tram easy access to all points of interest by public transport.
The hotel staff were very helpful. One of our party injured her knee and they arranged a wheelchair rental for us. They also printed some documents we needed for a business deal.
4 out of 5
by Raymond from Holmfirth

Nice Hotel wrong location

Posted Aug 11, 2016 on Hotels
Lovely stay only let down due to two things... Hotel is not in the nicest part of town with walking at night not recomended Also the Hotel was great but didnt really cater for English with only one TV channel in english ( Major Let Down )
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Weekend with friends

Posted Aug 2, 2016 on Ebookers
Pros: The room was of excellent standard and special mention should be made about the mattress and beddings!
Cons: Car access can be tricky in this part of the city, although I don't think anything can be changed by the hotel!
Location: The situation is ideal on the island, right at Perrache station, very close to Bellecour
The staff at the reception was very friendly and apologised for not seeing the booking we'd made about 2 hours earlier. The cleaning lady was sent to the room to make a third bed within a few minutes. Everything took very little time. The waitress and barman were very nice and we had a lovely talk about what to do in the evening. Very appreciated.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Old building in terrible needs for renovation

Posted Jul 28, 2016
Pros: They responded my request for a quiet room prior to my arrival. I did not hear other noise except for door closing by neighbors, which was loud though
Cons: Air condition did not work. Some doors could not be closed; others made loud noise when you pushed hard. Need paint outside.
Location: The name of the hotel is misleading because it is not in a central location. However, it is close to a train station. So it is convenient enough.
Worst: it was mid July, 32-35 degrees. The room temperature must be close to 30 degrees, only a little cooler than outside during the day, but hotter than outside during eves. (it is central air-conditioned but did not work). Major: Inconsistent handling of booking information and double charged me city taxes: my room was prepaid to expedia. Here is the description: "The below fees and deposits ONLY apply IF they are not included in your selected room rate. You'll be asked to pay the following charges at the hotel: A tax is imposed by the city: EUR 1.65 per person, per night. We have included all charges provided to us by the property." From this description, I believe the city tax was collected by Expedia. I was told at check-in everything was paid but breakfast was not included. In the last eve, I went to the desk. The lady told me I needed to pay the city tax. I showed my booking on my phone. She said that was a mistake by expedia. I said that was the deal I got. I suggested her to talk to her manager, but not possible before my leave. So I suggested to pay my breakfast first. She said I did not need to pay, because it was included (no space to continue) At the end, I paid my breakfast next morning to a guy (I told him what happened in the previous eve). They charged me the city tax again after I left without telling me the decision of the manager, even the lady took my email and promised to contact me. This is not consistent with the 4 stars engraved on the entrance.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 12, 2016 by Marta PARDO-BADIER, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Hôtel Mercure Lyon Centre Château Perrache. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence concerning the air condition in the room. However, the city tax is always charging at the hotel, never online, we are sorry if you misunderstood this information. Do not hesitate to contact us concerning this issue, as we could see together what happened. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Marta PARDO-BADIER General Manager