Ratings based on 27 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice resort, but better attention needed

Posted Oct 28, 2016
This was our second stay at the Painted Boat. We rented 2 rooms and stayed for a total of 3 nights. We would probably stay there again, however we did encounter numerous maintenance problems with both units that should have be addressed before we arrived. It was their low season so maintenance was had limited. There was a 1 day delay in responding to all of our requests and concerns. When I stay at hotels that brand themselves as "luxury", I expect proactive attention to such issues. Overall, I would describe our experience as satisfactory to good. The natural beauty within the property helped make up for the maintenance problems. However, I would not call it a luxury experience. Here are the problems we encountered: Unit #6: 1) Heat wasn't working on the main floor -the Unit was 61 degrees F upon our arrival and would not warm up past 68 degrees despite our best efforts; 2) Teflon frying pan severely damaged/scratched -this releases carcinogens into your food when used... Health Canada recommends to dispose Teflon coated cookware that is scratched; 3) phone not working; 4) fireplace not working; 5) dirty/stained dishes in cupboards. Unit #8: 1) dirty/stained dishes; 2) light out in bedroom; 3) bathroom fan not working. All issues were eventually addressed by maintenance, but this did not meet our expectations for the price we paid.
5 out of 5
by Betty from Vancouver

Beautiful and comfortable resort

Posted Aug 31, 2016 on Hotels
It's a really great place for family vacation. Every one enjoy their relax days..
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 29, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Friendly and comfortable resort in great location!

Posted May 28, 2016
Pros: Everything
Cons: The spa could be made to be more accessible with wider options.
Location: If you're coming to the Sunshine Coast you already know. Rent a boat from John Henry's across at Garden Bay.
We booked a top level villa overlooking the harbour. Not sure that there is a better view in the Sunshine Coast to eat breakfast! The villa was superbly finished and equipped. Not only did it feel like a home from home, but it also felt like a real treat! The staff were so helpful and friendly.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Surrey, BC

Beautiful views, spacious villas!

Posted May 3, 2016
Pros: Views from villa, pool & hot tub area
Cons: Size of TV in living room if that's important to you
Location: Hiking, fishing, kayaking, relaxing
I booked a 1 room villa but we were given a 2 bedroom. I don't think the resort was full and our villa was huge! Everything you could possibly want is there - BBQ on the deck, 2 full bathrooms, 2 bedrooms (king & queen), full kitchen with dishwasher, all cutlery, dishes. There was a fresh carton of cream in the fridge for our coffee which was nice. The view from our deck to the inlet was so beautiful! We used the heated infinity pool and hot tub as the weather was great. Everything in the villa and pool area was very clean! Ate a 'fancy' dinner at the onsite restaurant and it was tasty, small portions and pricey. Be sure to order appy and dessert! Didn't use the spa. Also there is an assigned parking space so that is very convenient. My only complaint is minor - the tv in the living room was tiny (maybe 27")? But you're not really there to watch tv! My husband just wanted to catch a hockey game and we laughed at the size of tv because everything else here was massive! I just loved sitting and enjoying the view. I would highly recommend this resort if you are looking for a lovely getaway!
4 out of 5
by Jessica

Posted Oct 30, 2015 on Hotels
Everything was great besides the hot tub was cold ;(
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ontario

Quiet hotel, expensive restaurant

Posted Jul 5, 2015
Pros: The room was large and the bathroom was exceptional.
Cons: We thought the restaurant was overpriced for the quality and quantity of food/drink.
Location: Hike Mount Daniel, scuba diving in Sechelt, golfing in Sechelt
We stayed for 4 nights, lovely room and peaceful setting overlooking the harbour. Convenient for hiking and day trips.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sechelt BC

Great experience

Posted Jun 7, 2015
Pros: The overall setting is terrific
Cons: Still a little pricey for a short stay
Location: Very close to a shopping cntre which enabled us to buy food and liquor for a last minute decision to entertain
The weather was great and having the pool and a large deck allowed us to entertain and barbeque for friends on the Coast
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from vancouver

Nice view

Posted Oct 6, 2014
Everything is perfect for me expect the TV is a bit too small in the living room....
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Expedia experience

Posted Apr 14, 2014
I do not trust Expedia travel shopping experience anymore. I was looking for a weekend getaway to celebrate my wife's birthday at a resort close to Vancouver BC. The search I was performing lead me into this itinerary. Expedia presented this by saying "1 Room Left for this price". This tag immediately caught my attention as this made me believe that this resort is a popular and is getting booked fast. My experience after having a stay on this itinerary this weekend. 1. The resort had no other customers that I saw. So, saying "1 Room Left at this Price" is nothing but misleading a shopper. Big Lesson Learnt!! 2. The description of the resort on Expedia included a swimming pool and a restaurant within the resort. There was a swimming pool but the water was not warm. The resort managers said, the pool won't be warmed until summer. Why on earth do I need a pool warmed up in summer, also why advertise when it is not usable? 3. The restaurant was closed for the season as well. The resort managers said it would be open only in May. Again - why advertise when it is not open? 4. We had to buy groceries (unplanned) at a local store and make our own food. We wanted to chill and have a peaceful birthday weekend - ended up shopping (compromised on the prices), cooking and getting tired. I did not want my wife to cook at least on her birthday but there was no choice. Wow and what a Birthday Present. No thanks to Expedia!!