Ratings based on 30 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

First experience with a B&B

Posted Sep 16, 2016 on Hotels
It was a beautiful, quiet room. I had not expected the spiral staircase as I had recently had hip replacement, but I made it. Breakfast.was a block away although the coffee house was nice and the food great. They were not open on Sunday.
1 out of 5
by Eric

Disappointed

Posted Jul 23, 2016 on Hotels
We were disappointed. When we reserved and paid for our room, there was no information telling us the place was off the 70 acres on busy, noisy Main St., downtown Madisonville. We were looking forward to spending the evening in the pool and being near the lake and enjoying the view. Disappointed
4 out of 5
by stacy

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 12, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Enjoyed the Hammock Moore House

Posted Mar 6, 2016
Very friendly and accommodating. Especially enjoyed the Big City Market Coffee Shop for breakfast
5 out of 5
by ERIC

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 18, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 17, 2015 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by Courtney from Lompoc

Bait and Switch Scam

Posted Oct 19, 2015 on Hotels
We booked the Ruby Lodge at Spring Lake, and chose a room from those pictured. We arrived to be told our actual hotel was a different building, downtown, right next to the railway track (trains every hour all through the night sounding horns at all the crossing through town). Traffic noise and trains all night. Landing and room furnishings dusty. Hotel nicely restored Victorian but the windows were painted shut so there was no ventilation. The bathroom was not attached but down a long hallway. We booked Bed and Breakfast but were told that "My wife is not serving breakfast at this guest house so you can either drive three miles to where you thought you were staying or you can walk to blocks to our daughter's coffee shop for breakfast and we will pick up the tab." No non-slip pads under rugs on polished wooden floors = narrow avoided falling a couple of times. Went to kitchen to heat water for a cup of tea - microwave encrusted with rancid bacon grease. Owner basically told us it was not a scam but our fault for booking something over the internet and for picking "our cheapest room". I did not book the cheapest room available and the internet information is only that provided by the proprietors. We were very disappointed and will be sending pictures and a report to the local Better Business Bureau.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Stepping back in time.

Posted Aug 14, 2015 on Hotels
Wonderful House. I'ts like stepping back in time. Authentic and very Detailed to what it looked like when the original family lived there but with the comfort of air conditioning. Trains go by behind the house and love that. Peaceful area with the convenience of major stores and restaurants nearby. Decided to stay here as long as my job assignment takes to complete here in Madisonville and may take up to six weeks.
3 out of 5
by Louis

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 10, 2015 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 13, 2015
Room was dusty. Bathroom light switch was very hard to find. Shower door was broken, and one side completely fell off. The only clock in the room was on a CD player, and the time had not been set. Room temperature is centrally controlled and can't be adjusted in the room. One bath towel had unsightly stains on it. Toys were scattered about the common living room. Overall it seemed the owners are having difficulty keeping up with the maintenance.