Ratings based on 48 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Terrible service. No aie conditioning

Posted Mar 31, 2017
Over charged my booking price from Expedia by $500.00. Rude staff. No airconditioning in extremely small rooms. No bottled water for guests. Restaurant service was poor. Only patrons there and it took 30 minutes for someone to give us water and a menu!!!
5 out of 5
by Robert

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 17, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Rebecca

Loved it!

Posted Feb 13, 2017 on Hotels
I loved staying at Lumeria!! The room was comfortable and clean. The only issue was one window that was loose in the track and banged around when the wind blew. I stuffed pieces of magazine in there and it stopped. There was a tropical storm going on so you have to make concessions for that! The morning breakfast was good. Basic buffet but had gluten-free options. The smoothies, extra charge, were overpriced and not worth it. I had the seed crystal healing massage with Karin. AMAZING!! The grounds are beautiful and if you're into yoga there's plenty of classes to choose from.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from chicago, il

Beautiful and close to everything

Posted Jan 2, 2017
Grounds were beautiful and breakfast (included) and dinner were tasty. We were too busy to take part in the yoga but the facilities looked perfect. Rooms were nice and the porch just right to relax on in the afternoon. Pool was nice and hot tub just what was needed after a long hike. The second bed slightly small for two teenagers but otherwise a lovely stay - would come again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lumeria is real, on Maui, get lighter & brighter

Posted Dec 5, 2016 on Hotels
The yoga class w skeeter, the BEST. I am a Yoga therapist. She met my edge and guided my beloved through his first yoga class. We loved the seclusion.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful & relaxing

Posted Oct 2, 2016 on Hotels
Perfect place if you're looking to get away from the tourist resort areas. Totally off the beaten path. However, it is an hour drive from the West Maui beaches if you plan to spend any time there, so be prepared. Lumeria is quiet, relaxing, sophisticated, and beautiful. The staff was attentive and accomodating. Our room and bath felt luxurious. One word of warning though: with no AC, you leave the windows open, so there isn't much sound privacy. My husband and I had their farm to table dinner one night and it was our favorite meal of the whole vacation (Oahu and Maui). We only attended one yoga class, and it was good for beginners, if you're a novice like us. And our massages at the spa were rejuvenating. We even had some free time to relax by the pool and in the courtyard. Really glad we took the time to enjoy so much of what Lumeria has to offer. It was a fantastic stay and I highly recommend it!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 30, 2016 on Orbitz
Wonderful setting outside of the hustle and busstle of the tourist areas
4 out of 5
by Dacie

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 18, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

nice hotel but not suited to non yoga types

Posted Jul 2, 2016
Pros: Quiet and in a nice area. Free yoga and meditation.
Cons: Better breakfast, Tv, free late and smoothies for breakfast, larger rooms, my husband couldn't get out of his bed without trouble. More reading lamps
Location: It wasn't near town and was pretty isolated. We used the pool which was lovely and there was a glass blower there who was really interesting.
This is a yoga retreat, not really a holiday stay. No Tv, staff weren't friendly, it was expensive for what you got. Breakfast was so minimal we had to go away and eat more mid morning, just fruit, yogurt and museli and you had to buy late and smoothies. Felt ripped off, but not much else to stay in that area at all.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from West Coast

Enjoy Upcountry Maui Retreat!

Posted Jun 10, 2016
Pros: I loved the hotel, the Expedia price, the setting, the room, the food, the spa and the complimentary classes for guests!
Cons: Honoring the confirmed and paid Expedia price and room type without any problems. Better customer service by the early morning yoga instructor.
Location: Great way to explore Upcountry Maui and Makawao, 10 mins to Pa'ia, 15 mins to beaches & Mama's Fishhouse, 60 mins. to Haleakala, drive to Hana, enjoy!
Loved Lumeria! Don't worry about being away from the beach, you are a 10 minute drive from Pa'ia and the serene setting is a wonderful alternative to a tourist beach hotel and a great way to explore Upcountry for a weekend get-away or a week long retreat. Be sure to bring your Expedia reservation confirmation and specific room rate so you don't encounter any problems at check-in. Take advantage of the Crystal Spa, the services are amazing, and try the complimentary yoga, meditation, essential oils, and Hawaiian dance classes. After a visit or two to the spa along with the yoga and meditation classes, you'll really begin to experience the Aloha spirit, unwind, relax and enjoy all that Maui has to offer . . . . Be sure you eat at least one dinner at Lumeria, the fruit and veggies are fresh from the organic gardens and the fish is equally fresh and delicious! Makes you realize just how extraordinary fresh organic food is!!! The gardens, whispering pines, and singing birds add to the ambiance while the old plantation-style boutique hotel has exceptional rooms with modern bathrooms. Lumeria is wonderful and I look forward to a return visit!!!