Ratings based on 540 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Beautiful island

Posted Oct 24, 2017
The island itself is beautiful. The beach is very nice, snorkeling is great, the pool is fantastic, especially for young ones. Only gripe is the food is average but very pricey. Also the people staying need to put their rubbish in the bin. So much rubbish is left, especially on the beach which is so sad. You go to these places for the serenity, I don’t understand why people are so disrespectful and leave their rubbish on the beach where it ends up in the ocean. I spent one morning picking up plastic bottles from the beach, because my motto is if you see rubbish and don’t pick it up your just as bad as the person who left it there. Please take responsibility of your rubbish if you visit and if you see some pick it up. We all need to take responsibility of caring for our beautiful planet.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from brisbane

Plenty of potential, plenty of room for improvemen

Posted Sep 23, 2017
Stayed 7days, sept-17. $550aus per night and average $300au per day in food and beverages. Breakfast before 9am or nothing restocked after 9am. $40fj each. Food orders constantly wrong. Expensive food which is to be expected but quality is below average. New buffet area is massive and feels similar to the food hall at a school camp. A lot of grumpy old staff. The younger newer staff are still bubbly and appear not yet disgruntled. I purchased some water in boutique and literally the 2 old ladies at the counter did not stop their conversation in Fijian while serving me, not even a bula or vinaka. Kids club non engaging. Struggle to get more than 4-6 kids a session. Staff do not pay any attention to distract or engage children so parents can leave. Generally stand around chatting to themselves until sessions starts which is generally 15mins late. Not ideal when sessions only go for 2 hours and are normally out of stream with 20mins still to go. This is the first kids club we have struggled to get our children to attend due to boredom. Not to mention the first kids club I have experienced where u need to pay an extra $30fj per child for registration. Picked children up once to find no one had noticed my 10yo daughter had gone missing and was crying in the furthest corner of the compound. Check in process appalling. Group check in to save time, akin to arriving at a safety briefing at a union site. Bathrooms crusty and moldy. Beds very uncomfortable.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 17, 2017
Pros: Beautiful setting, lovely pools, comfortable room with lovely outdoor shower, easy walk to everything, good snorkelling.
We found staff to be pleasant but service to room when we had problems on two different occasions, firstly with luggage and then with the safety security box, took two phone calls and 45 minutes to get service. Food was expensive and, on the second morning the buffet had run out of spoons, bowls, knives, forks and milk when we arrived for breakfast at 8.30am.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great for families

Posted Sep 7, 2017 on Hotels
Amazing beaches, great pool, friendly staff, heaps of activities, good food, will definitely return! We were very sad to leave and look forward to returning. Vinaka Sim, Zack, Wise, Nasa, Sandra, Lemba, and everyone else who made our holidays unforgettable.
4 out of 5
by Tracey

Great snorkelling, choose your room wisely

Posted Sep 5, 2017 on Hotels
First room we had was terrible (300 block) mouldy curtains and filthy furniture. We then paid to upgrade and had a lovely 2 story room (600 block) which made the holiday much more enjoyable. Snorkelling is amazing with healthy corals both sides of the island. Meal plan is expensive but does include Crayfish.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Hamilton NZ

Great Fijian experience

Posted Sep 2, 2017
Pros: Everything easily accessable. The gym was good. The snorkling was OK. Glad to see some reconstruction on the reef,
Cons: Keep upgrading the facilities. Our room is probably due for a lick of paint. Keep on top of the bedbugs as well.
Location: Great walks, snorkling, swimming. Backpackers resteraunt for a different vibe. Village and school close by.
3rd time we have stayed at Mana and enjoyed it very much. Great to see the ongoing upgrades around the place. We were in room 108 and found a couple of bed bugs, which we told the front desk about when we left. Mana need to keep on top of that. The staff were friendly and great fun. We are looking forward to coming back next year with the kids.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 23, 2017 on Wotif
Fantastic view from room, very comfortable. Breakfast buffet was a sight to behold. Pool area was great. Snorkeling was better on the north side but fantastic water sports on the south side, paddle boards, hobby cat & kayaks free which was brilliant.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from new zealand

very expensive

Posted Aug 12, 2017
Couldn't swim in the beach because of the corals. Food prices are so much. Things in the room are so old n need help to work like electric kettle. Rooms were so old and nothing much to do in the Island. We are Muslim n order vegetarian omelette n saw the Fijian chef using the same spoon and pan. He was using the same towel for wiping the tidy table and same towel for wiping the frying pan. It was yuck.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from australia

Posted Aug 9, 2017
Pros: Water great for snorkelling and swimming
Cons: Replace old fridge. TV in at least some rooms. Food and beverage too expensive
Location: There is a backpacker next door that offer boat trips half the price. You can have breakfast there for around $10.
This use to be an affordable holiday, not anymore. Food and Beverage too expensive
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Lovely island. Nice staff. Lacks ambience though.

Posted Aug 4, 2017
Pros: The setting. The space to move. The free use of snorkelling gear, hobie cats & kayaks. The sunset. The nice staff. The fluffy towels.
Cons: Food. Ambience. Less litter & get rid of the ugly cabanas taking up the best view! Simply not fair to have exclusivity when we've all paid lots of $$
Location: Spacious island. Short hill to climb for views. Snorkelling best (high tide) on North beach. Great hobie cats to use on south beach.
Our family stayed 1 week in July. We chose Mana because of its proximity to Denerau, the size of the island (meaning freedom to explore), the complimentary use of its non-motorised watersports (we love sailing, snorkelling & windsurfing) & it being a family friendly resort (kids are 8 & 11). Mana is a lovely setting. Great beaches on both sides, there is a high point so you can get your bearings, it has a beautiful vista of the other islands on the horizon & puts on a gorgeous sunset. The water is warm, the sand white, & the snorkelling is good too. The welcome was great & very personal. We were taken to our bure & admittedly, was a tad disappointed straight away. It felt like a basic, slightly run down Westernised motel unit, more than a Fijian bure. We actually like basic, but with no mirror, no pictures, no tapa, no Fijian elements, no real furniture except our beds, drooping broken curtains, rattley ceiling fan...there were no little touches that showed any love. We did like the outside shower though. The activities board was a big hit with our family and one of the best and varied activities boards I've seen in Fiji. (we have stayed at 5+ resorts over the years). The kids club was perfect for my 8 year old but too young for my 11 year old. Nice staff. Food. Disappointing and over priced. No beautiful Fijian music at meal times, no alfresco dining in the sand, just a brightly lit, 'school canteen' kind of dining with average food. Where was the ambience????