Ratings based on 114 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Cheap hotel in good location

Posted Dec 5, 2016
Pros: Traditional fit out in the rooms, good location but still quiet
Cons: Maybe not having such a rude person on the desk for check in - although it seemed he was only rude to people who weren't French.
The room was cosy and quaint with beautiful exposed beams in the ceiling. The shower head holder was broken so had to be hand held only, there was no shower gel left in the dispenser, and the bed was quite a small double, especially if you're a tall person like my husband, you will hang off the end. For one night though it is perfect, and although we were there in winter, it was nice and warm. The only problem with service was that we had to check in through the Poulard Terrase reception and the guy was pretty rude. Otherwise it was well worth the little extra for breakfast at la mere poulard and was in a good location, a little bit further away from the main entrance so it was fairly quiet, until the tradesmen started work again in the morning.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from L.A.

Hotel in the village

Posted Nov 11, 2016
I really love the hotel, not because of comfort or amenities, but because it is located inside the walled village of Mont St Michel. Medieval architecture and sparse furniture added to the charm. Even the spider webs in the wood beam ceiling seemed appropriate. i enjoyed sitting at the window, with its iron replica hardware and stained glass, watching life in the village below. This hotel was all about the location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from indiana

Location location location

Posted Oct 25, 2016
Pros: There is no better way to explore Mont st michel than by staying here. You are right in the heart of the site.
Cons: WIFI is useless! They have setup so than no internet sites work, email won't come through and you can't even use VOIP. Only thing that worked was two facebook messages i sent after connecting and disconnecting multiple times.
Location: Everything is here! You are right In the middle of the Main Street. The stairs that lead to the room went right up to the ramparts.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Not a good set up.

Posted Oct 18, 2016
Pros: The cleaning staff were very kind and helpful when we requested extra towels.
Cons: Better communication about what the rooms will be like, the parking process, and where hotel reception is located.
Location: The town is beautiful and well worth the trip. It is quite expensive. Pack light as you'll be toting your luggage uphill, through crowds, for a while.
I chose the hotel for the look of it. When we dragged our luggage to the hotel, there was no one in reception. We waited about 10 minutes before noticing the very small sign that indicated that check in for the hotel was actually in a different location, near where we came into the hotel. Once I located the check in, we were told that we weren't actually located in the primary location, but in an annex of the hotel. It was in such an odd location that the receptionist had a photocopied page with photos on it, in order to help us locate the actual room location. It was not what I signed up for. After I complained about the room, we were given a discount to stay there, which I accepted. The room ended up being okay, but if you are looking for quaint ambience, do not reserve a room at this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Arcata, CA

Ideal location in Mont St. Michel

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Pros: Friendly staff, who helped me out in English. They also carried my luggage to my room in the extended section, which was up the street.
Cons: Breakfast buffet heated food could be hotter. It was lukewarm. An earlier check in time, before 1600 would also have been more convenient.
Location: The island and abbey are stunning. Guided tour of abbey was very informative. Side streets are charming with great views. Pick high tide if possible
Hotel le Mouton Blanc is located in the middle of the main street of Mont St. Michel, next to shops and restaurants. I stayed in the extended section, which put me right over the Main Street. It was a little noisy during the day, but at night, when the majority of tourists left, it was fine. The Abbey is absolutely fantastic, and Mass on Sunday was very moving. The singing was heavenly. Be ready for lots of uphill walking, with lots of steps up to the entrance. But once you make it to the top, it is well worth it. I was able to be there at super high tide, and it was fascinating to watch the water cover the walkway and make it into an island again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NJ

Wonderful hotel near the abbey.

Posted Aug 19, 2016
Pros: Location.
It was a wonderful experience to be able to stay right beside the Abbey. Our room (perhaps more than any of the other rooms) had a commanding view of both the abbey (on one side) and the surrounding water (on the other).
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bed Bugs

Posted Aug 9, 2016
Don't stay here. We stayed in quad room #201. Wall paper was peeling off the wall by the bed, in the morning the previously clean bed sheets were streaked with our blood and we found/ killed a number of shells/bugs. The receptionist did not seem at all surprised at our complaint. We are now dealing with severe skin reactions to the bug bites.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from melbourne

Nice hotel close to amazing monument

Posted Jul 14, 2016
Pros: Location, Location location
Location: The abbey had us captivated as did the village walls. The area is just steeped in history.
The staff allowed for early checkin which was great as we arrived when it was raining. The triple room was a tight squeeze for 3 of us. There was no toilet paper so we had to ask for some, shower took some getting use to as the head kept falling down. Overall a great stay because it allowed us to be able to stay on the island of Mont Saint Michael in what felt like a medieval village once all the day trippers left.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Experience of a lifetime on Mont Saint Michel

Posted Jul 8, 2016
Pros: The location cannot be beat. We appreciated being able to walk for a while, and then return to our room to rest for a bit. Everything was perfect.
Cons: Consider including a dinner discount at Le Mouton Blanc restaurant if you are a guest of the hotel. Aside from that, we enjoyed our stay immensely.
Location: We attended Sunday Mass at St. Pierre chapel, and it was a highlight of our entire trip to France. Allow time to walk around the Mont--spectacular.
Spending a night on Mont Saint Michel was a bucket list item for my husband and me. We were traveling with our 12-year-old son, and we could not have been more thrilled with our stay. Overall, check-in was easy. We appreciated having the parking code in advance, as it was easy to park our rental car in the reserved parking lot and take the free shuttle to the Mont. We had paid in advance to include the breakfast buffet with our stay, but the staff did not have record of this. We showed them our reservation confirmation, and they made the necessary notes on our account. We did not realize the room would be located away from the hotel's main office, which meant walking a bit further up the Mont, but it was not an issue. The room was basic, but clean, and the location was excellent. We could open our windows and see and hear the sound of the seagulls and the visitors. Once we closed the window, the room was quiet and peaceful, everything we needed. The morning breakfast buffet was worth the price. While it was not extravagant, it was tasty. We had everything we could want, including delicious coffee. We highly recommend staying a night on Mont Saint Michel. You will never forget the experience of seeing the tide come in. Take a walk along the ramparts at night, when the Mont is illuminated. It is truly a breathtaking experience, and Le Mouton Blanc provides a clean, comfortable place, centrally located, from which to base your stay. We definitely hope to return.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Quaint but basic.

Posted Jul 3, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Bathroom had plumbing that leaked on the floor.
Location: Very few restaurants on the island stay open past 8pm, so bring snacks.
In the midst of tourist traffic (and early morning deliveries) this centuries old facility is quaint, with small rooms, old furniture, & narrow twisting staircases (difficult for moving luggage). Receptionist was pleasant & able to speak several languages, although the front desk was not always manned & after 10 pm entry was through the kitchen. Rather expensive but expected for an on-island hotel.