Ratings based on 107 Verified Reviews

2.2 out of 5
36% of guests recommend
2.5 Room cleanliness
3.0 Service & staff
2.3 Room comfort
2.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 17, 2016
Place was not clean and room had a bad smell to it. Noisy all night.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Gomez

Bad, hotel close to the rails train

Posted Nov 21, 2016
Staff like don't take care you, the room smell like humidity bed to hard the thowel stean like blood this is unacceptable
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Do not stay here!!!

Posted Nov 21, 2016
My husband was basically forced to leave even through a late check out at 12:30 was requested upon arrival. At 10:30 am housekeeping was trying to enter, they returned a 1/2 hr later, again trying to enter. The front desk was called & informed of the late check out, front desk was EXTREMELY rude & could have cared less about customer service. I've never been denied a late check out from a 5 star hotel, who are ALWAYS willing to accommodate guests. I guess American's Value Inn only cares about the money & not customer service. Lesson learned cheap is not always better. I'll never stay here again & will be booking out of town guest somewhere else.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

never again

Posted Oct 13, 2016
Pros: balcony
Cons: strong sewage odor in hallways
tweakers every where we took a cab back from an event and the driver said he would not have picked us up iif he knew this was the hotel
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 3, 2016
Room dirty, not enough light, chair broken, they took my P.J. when clean up the room.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Smoky room

Posted Oct 1, 2016
The hotel had a good location and reasonable rates. However, my room smelled like somebody had been smoking in there all day, and there was an ash tray on the table. I thought all hotels had to be non-smoking in California.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Easy freeway access

Posted Sep 28, 2016
Hotel was older, dirty and hotel pool had bugs floating on the water.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from orange county california

Surrounded by homeless and transients.

Posted Sep 22, 2016
Elevator kept breaking down. They were out of shampoo on our first night. Room key would not work.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Nor Cal

If it's the only place available, don't do it!

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Advertised 15 miles from destination, but only if you have a helicopter. Hardest mattress I have ever not slept on, I swear it was two box springs. Pumping sespool by the pool stinks to high heaven. They cut the stale Costco muffins in half for rationing? Race day and the place was packed/sold out! No parking left available. Wow!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Utah

Terrifying!

Posted Sep 2, 2016
We did not feel safe. Other guests who appeared to be long term guests were very loud until past 2pm. There was a cockroach in the bathroom. The room looked moderately clean on the surface but the walls, cabinets, and door handles were flithy. The sheets appeared to be clean, but I didn't want to look too closely. We checked in at 11:30pm. If it would have been earlier, we would have left and not stayed the night.