Ratings based on 27 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Amazing safari adventure

Posted Nov 29, 2016
This was my first stay at the intrepids camp and it was an amazing experience. From our fantastic game drives to the hotel service, every experience was beyond my expectations. Great staff and we highly recommend Raph as the game driver. He was well experienced and found us a leopard every day we went out, not to mention all the other amazing animals as well.
4 out of 5
by meghan from San Francisco

Great stay but a bit overpriced

Posted Oct 14, 2014 on Hotels
My boyfriend and I recently stayed at Mara Intrepids for a long weekend. Overall, we had a great time. The park is beautiful and we saw almost everything you could hope for on the safari drives. The tents were nicely furnished and our particular one was secluded and right on the river. The staff was very friendly for the most part. The food was disappointing, but our server was dedicated to making sure we were happy so went out of his way to modify the menu. The website advertises that the hotel provides boiled water for drinking, however, they don't. Be prepared to pay for water bottles. Also be prepared to pay an additional $70 USD per person per night for park fees. We missed that in the fine print, so were a bit surprised at the end. Alcohol isn't included either, which for many safari companies it is. In our opinion, the price is a little steep for what the company offers and quality of the food, but it was still a wonderful time.
5 out of 5
by Brian from Vancouver BC.

Fantastic!

Posted Sep 3, 2014 on Hotels
Absolutely fantastic tented camp with wonderful staff, each eager to help you with anything you might need. Beautiful comfortable tented rooms. Our guide Sakut led us to the Big 5 in two drives, everything else was gravy....and there was lots of gravy. We also were fortunate enough to see a great migration river crossing...absolutely spectacular. Highly, highly, highly recommended!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from boston, ma

awesome experience

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Pros: the safari drives were awesome. we saw so many animals each time. we also saw many animals from the camp. the staff was wonderful. a perfect stay.
the tents were clean and comfortable. spaced nicely from your neighbors. you could easily forget you were in a tent. i would highly recommend!
5 out of 5
by Trevor from England

Wonderful was the best holiday I have ever had.

Posted Jun 30, 2014
Pros: Nice clean and right by the river very relaxing.
Cons: More rhino's
Was a great six day's sarfai, our driver did every thing in his power to make each drive better than the one be for. A big thank you for all you done Vincent.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ausgezeichneter Service

Posted Apr 21, 2014 on Hotels
Wunderschönes Safarihotel mit bestem Service mitten im Game reserve.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Nairobi

A lifetime of experience in 48 hours!

Posted Sep 17, 2013 on Hotels
We went to Mara Intrepids for my girlfriend's birthday weekend and it was just magical. The staff were all very friendly and efficient, and gave us excellent service from the moment they picked us up, at the airstrip a few hundred yards away. The best part about the visit was undoubtedly the game drives. Our driver/guide (Simon) was quite brilliant. He found, over the course of just four drives, the following: A migration of 500 wildebeest across the river being attacked by crocodiles; a cheetah kill from start to finish; a leopard with its kill up a tree; a lioness playing with four cubs to their heart's content; a fully grown male lion less than half a mile from the camp; herds of elephant, buffalo and zebra, hippos playing in the river; and so much more. The only things that Simon couldn't find were a rhino and a unicorn! What else can I say, the food was fresh, delicious and plentiful, the massage on the last day was very welcome after all those hours in a Land Rover, and the pool was refreshing. My only complaint was the utter blandness of the cheeseboard. Across the border in Tanzania the Engiteng Company make excellent cheese from Maasai cattle herds and all varieties taste great. I recommended them to one of the managers (Steve). Seriously, it costs a small fortune to stay here... but its worth every shilling!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice safari but hotel not so great

Posted Sep 16, 2013
Pros: Nice safari drives / well located to see animals.
Cons: They could be welcoming and generous with their guests eg give guests several bottles of water (we paid $1,000 per day), especially since water dirty
Running water but not clean? Very stingy with water. Hotel nickels and dimes you. Staff is hit or miss: some friendly, others not.
4 out of 5
by Ioan from Australia

Good base for Maasai Mara

Posted Sep 9, 2013
Pros: Staff. Things run on time. Camp location. Safaris. Food.
Cons: Lower prices. Maybe offer a shower to guests on the last day after check-out time when returning from the last safari trip. Consider buffet dinner.
Location: Well located in Maasai Mara. Good base for great safari holiday.
Intrepids Tented Camp is a good base for a fantastic safari holiday in Maasai Mara. The tents are clean and have the basic requirements for a comfortable stay: beds with mosquito nets, chair, 2 desks, 2 sinks, separate toilet and shower rooms, electricity, lights, running water including hot water at set times – just do not expect 5-star hotel luxury. Tents, restaurant and bar are in a nice wooded area. Staff are friendly and accommodating of guests’ requests. Manager Edwin was present at dinner to interact with guests and was accommodating – thank you. My driver Simon was very experienced, able to find whatever animal we asked for and accommodating of my obsession of Mara crossings (we saw 15!!) – thank you Simon, you did a great job! Food is good. Prices for everything are high e.g. lunch $USD45, 1hr balloon ride $USD450 but you need to consider the challenge of running camps like this in the middle of nowhere with "so-called" roads in poor condition. Staff do not ask for tips but gladly accept them, so be generous! Safari trips are fantastic, you get to see lots of animals. Well done! Ioan G.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 2, 2013 on Hotels