Ratings based on 18 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Vancouver WA

3 bedroom condo overlooked pool

Posted Dec 24, 2016
Pros: Very close ( across street and short walk) to the beach with lifeguard and bathrooms
Cons: Comfort of King bed in master with better quality sheets ( they were a little scratchy).
Location: Close to beach and right in main area of Kihei and walking distance to eating and shopping
Condo was well stocked in the kitchen ( incidentals also) and a closet full of beach items including chairs, body boards, towels, snorkels, masks, fins and 2 beach chairs. The condo was right out from 2nd pool that was never crowded and wonderful. Short walk to the beach. King size bed in master bedroom was hard so we bought a foam pad for it and were much more comfortable. Queen size bedroom has no air conditioner and is right off living room so plan on no privacy since you need to leave the sliding doors open to get any cool air at all. Twin size beds in 3rd area were comfortable and a good size room with private bath. Well stocked condo in kitchen and beach closet ! Décor was ok and nothing special but functional for our 2 adults and 3 teenage children. We would rent it again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new York, NY

Great stay at a private condo

Posted Jan 23, 2016
Pros: Privacy, space, 2 bathrooms
Cons: Could have used new comforters on the bed-linens seemed a little old and worn
Location: Close to the marathon start and low key beach right nearby
If you are looking for a hotel, this is not it. It is much more a condo which is rented out when the owners aren't there. No room service, housekeeping, etc. however, the location is great-right on the beach, and the room had a beautifully redone kitchen and bathrooms. Overall I would definitely stay again since it was more like staying at a beach rental than a hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calgary, ab

Great condo right across the street from the beach

Posted Jan 20, 2016
Pros: Clean property, very nice grounds surrounding the hotel
Location: Across the street from the beach, a couple blocks walks to the stripmall
Maui Banyan is a really nice property in a great location
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Calgary, AB

Close to beach but very old and dirty condition

Posted Jun 23, 2015
Good location and across is a beautiful beach. Condo room needs renovations and cleaning. Toliets didn't flush. Bedroom and bathroom doors didn't close properly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Surrey, BC

Posted Apr 21, 2015
Pros: Kind, friendly staff and cleanliness.
Cons: Air conditioners were a bit noisy. Water pressure could be better in showers.
Location: Great location to beaches, shopping and restaurants.
Great family vacation, place we stayed in was awesome. Condo included everything we needed plus more. Beach was great and hotel grounds and pool areas were well kept and clean.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington state

Excellent place

Posted Aug 13, 2014
Our experience at the Maui Banyan was excellent. I would definately recommend this place to everyone that I know
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Manuela from B

Shaka at the Aston Maui Banyan

Posted Mar 25, 2014
We've been to Maui 4 times now and we always stay at the Maui Banyan in Kihei: laid back, a riot of tropical flowers and trees, close to shops and facilities, just across the beach and standout sunsets, best place to turtle watch on the island, this place is a keeper.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mike from Saskatchewan

Wonderful Location

Posted Feb 2, 2014
Pros: Rooms are well equipped and comfortable. The grounds are well kept, lots of parking, 2 swiming pools with barbeques.
Location: A white sand beach is across the street, great restraunts and shopping with in a short walking distance
We have stayed at the Maui Banyan 3 times and would stay again, it is very quiet and comfortable place to stay. Its a home away from home. Staff are very personable and friendly, always ready to be of service
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Laurie from US

Good value for your vacation in paradise

Posted Sep 6, 2013
Pros: Location/price was what drew us here. Plus our love of Kihei and desire to stay at a different condo every time we visit.
Cons: pool access instructions at keypad would be helpful. front desk indifferent to that and also about someone disabling our key cards on our last night.
Location: Favorite places: Maui Tacos, the hidden Black Beach in Wailea, Lappert's ice cream, 3's Bar & Grill (lettuce wraps are THE BOMB), Local Boys shave ice
Location was perfect, proximity to the beach was good. No elevators so kind of a pain lugging your stuff up the stairs but we were only on the 2nd level so not a huge issue. Room was fine, basic. Pocket (sliding)doors between the one bedroom & livingroom didn't work right. Should really have a regular door there anyway to totally close out sound since bedroom and livingroom were next to each other. I stayed in livingroom, friend stayed in bedroom & we could easily hear the other person's tv & see them thru the clouded glass on the pocket door. Lanai was extremely narrow so for two people to go out there & sit each person has to enter the lanai from separate sliding doors. Everything was clean, good basics were stocked for our convenience including beach chairs. Appreciated automatic ice/water in fridge. Internet access was ok. Pool was terrific, clean & often empty. Access to pool could be improved. We were given the pool code but pad was black upon first visit. i.e. nowhere to push in numbers. I tapped pad w/ hand & nothing. Front desk assured us it was working fine. Went back, played with it some more and finally upon laying my hand on it for a few seconds it lit up. Annoying front desk didn't SAY that. Every other person who I saw at the pool had the same issue initially. One night our cards suddenly didn't work to get in our room. Walked to front desk, person didn't apologize, just asked for cards to re-program. She was quite indifferent. Most everything else was okay
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Younes from Los angeles CA

Exceeded the expictations.

Posted Jul 4, 2013
Pros: Everything
Cons: Pool a little bit small.
Location: Beach across the street, and it's one of the best beaches in Maui in my opinion.
1min from the beach, cant beat that. Rooms are spacious and confortable. Everything you need i in there, even spices for cooking were there.