Ratings based on 29 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Beautiful View but Very Basic Overall

Posted Jun 5, 2016
Pros: The view. The cleanliness. Large Shower. Good size room safe. Clean public restrooms.
Cons: I forgot to mention when I left that the bathroom door was very squeaky and would wake up everyone in the room when used at night.
Location: The Quetzal bird was visible for a long time in the park. Numerous hummingbirds are fed outside the park entrance. A zip line is near town.
Maybe this is typical now, but I was charged extra for 4 people in a room with two double beds anyway. The room was set up for two when we arrived. It took a long time, but we finally got the needed towels, glasses, cups, etc. The breakfast was per se very good. But orders got mixed up adding much time to our eating, and they temporarily ran out of coffee, orange juice, plates, and bowls. Replenishment was lacking. They did take an order for eggs, meat, and toast. Maybe some extra help is in order. We asked for an hour extension on checkout time just in case we didn't make it back from the park in time. The request was refused so we checked out early. We would have made it back on time. (This is not a complaint as we knew the policy.) This may be difficult to improve due to water runoff, but the entry to the hotel is a rough curb slightly smoothed out.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

Improvements are needed

Posted May 22, 2016
Pros: The breakfast staff at the restaurant were very nice.
Cons: Include fans in the room, have extension cords available. Improve communication between the morning receptionist and the evening receptions.
Location: Horse tour and zip lining were the best. Do not book the horse tour in the rainy season because there is not "sunset".
There were no fans in the room. The room was hot and there were no 24 hr service staff. I received the fan the next day, however the outlets were not close to the beds. Therefore, I had to request an extension cord at 8 a.m. and didn't receive the extension cord until 5 p.m. the same day. There was miscommunication about the shuttle transfer in the payment. When I had booked the transfer they had told me the payment was to be made at the hotel, which is what I had done with the previous hotel in Arenal. However, the payment was cash only and made directly to the driver. At the end of the stay they wanted to charge us again, which they had charged us upon arrival. It took 2 staff and the general manager to straighten out the payment situation. They blamed it on the system, however I believe it was user error. It took 20 minutes for them to figure out their mistake. I would not go back to this hotel again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

not recommended

Posted May 13, 2016
i found a dead bug on my bed in the morning shower water is not warm enough
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from PA

Beautiful view

Posted Mar 3, 2016
Walking distance from town, large comfortable rooms with fridge, adequate hot breakfast although was lacking in healthy choices( fruit loops and cocoa puffs??). Would definitely stay again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great view

Posted Feb 22, 2016
Pros: Modern. Cleanliness. View
Very nice hotel. Basically walking distance to all things in town. Some rooms are up high with challenging slopes. If you mobility issues select rooms on the lower levels. Views are fabulous. Highest room on (looking up) the the right has a slight view of a car wash. Noise during the day with the high pressure machines. We weren't there during the day so no problem. Great sunset view!!!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NY

Disappointing

Posted Jan 28, 2016
Pros: It's located walking distance to town.
Cons: More staff is needed in the afternoons and theyshouldhave a better command of English.
When we arrived there was only one receptionist who was in charge of the entire hotel. She was very sweet and helpful however did not speak English well which caused some miscommunications. The room seemed spacious and decent until we noticed that the beds had dozens of tiny ants on them. There were no other available rooms to switch to so we checked out and went to another hotel who was able to accommodate us. The manager gave us or money back the next day which we were very thankful for.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice monteverde hotel

Posted Jan 22, 2016
There was no air conditioner in the room and when asked they say its not needed for the place and none of the hotels have one. I dont know the truth behind that but air conditioner is a must and its up to customers to use it or not. Atleast in some rooms so the customers who needs can use. At the bare minimum fan is must.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Relaxing home away from home

Posted Jan 14, 2016
The staff helped us book all kinds of fun things in the area and everyone did it with a smile on their face. Eugenia and Ana were especially great, and even helped me practice my Spanish (although everyone was fluent in English too). Very easy to communicate. Breakfast was delicious, fresh, and the two gentlemen running the buffet each morning were so kind. The chef makes fantastic Gallo pinto and the made-to-order eggs were wonderful. Lots of fruit and juices and amazing coffee!!! Our room had an amazing view. We were near the top center of everything and from the looks of it, every room had a nice view. We especially loved the giant sliding doors to the balcony. The temperature was warm during the day, but also cool in the evening, and we had some of the best night's sleep we've had in years. Very relaxing. Great view of sunset. There's a wonderful mist that rolls off the top of the hills in the morning, which makes morning walks even better. I can't say enough about how wonderful this place was. We look forward to returning to Hotel Ficus!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Decent short walk to town

Posted Jan 4, 2016
Hotel room was big and clean. A little empty. They have big uncomfortable wood chairs in the rooms, but they were useful. Our shower wasn't hot on the first night, but the staff fixed it the next day. Hotel had nowhere to get a bottle of water or soda which was annoying so we had to go to town, but they had a fridge which helped. Breakfast was ok.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Moorhead, MN

Clean hotel, friendly and helpful staff

Posted Feb 11, 2015
Stayed 2 nights. Evan was very helpful in arranging tours. Breakfast was ok, rooms were clean, beds were very firm.