Ratings based on 67 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excellent location, lovely staff

Posted May 31, 2016
Pros: The staff were very friendly and helpful and there were monkeys right outside my room.
Cons: The pillows weren't very comfy and my room was dark. The rooms were a bit dated and could have done with a refurbishment.
Location: Fabulous, beautiful location. Close to all the main attractions in Monteverde and close to shops and restaurants etc.
This hotel, although a little rustic is a lovely place to stay. I really enjoyed my time there due to the friendly staff, location and monkeys that visited.
2 out of 5
by Gladys from Seattle

Backpacker Hostel. Not a hotel. NO Hot water

Posted Feb 24, 2016 on Hotels
If you are a backpacker it is ok. Not adequate for other couples or families. No hot water at all. No a/c or heat. Towels were threadbare. No toiletries Breakfast was great , wifi ok and the staff were very nice. More like a hostel than hotel but the price was right
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

View and location perfect!!

Posted Feb 19, 2016
Pros: Staff, hummingbirds, THE VIEW, large room and bed, walking to everything.
Cons: Could use better pillows on the bed.
Location: Plenty of restaurants with fantastic food. Night tours of the cloud forest - AWESOME! Ziplining. Several cloud forest parks. Bat Jungle.
Jonathan checked us in, he was wonderful. Gave us a recommendation for a night tour, which was fantastic! Hotel room was large, bed comfy, view was incredible! Hummingbirds fly all around. Wind at night sounds haunting but cool. Good parking, close enough to walk to stores and restaurants, but far enough away from noise. I loved this place, wish we had spent more time here. The food in Monteverde is soo good!!
2 out of 5
by Rowena from Toronto

Call it a cabin

Posted Jan 29, 2016 on Hotels
This is a cabin not hotel accommodation. The tv is better than other in the neighbourhood. The bed is a bunk bed. Great for students or for a short stay. There's really not a lot of choices for accommodation but if you are looking for a hotel this is not the one. It's a bit pricy for what they offer
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 22, 2016 on Hotels
We enjoy the Monte Verde visit and the time on the Forest Dreams Manakin Hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 26, 2016 by FDM Team, Hotel Management
Dear Guest. Thank you for your positive comments. We so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! I hope your next stay and just around the corner. Call us if there is anything we can help you with.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 27, 2015 on Hotels
Muy buena atención, excelente disposición de la recepcionista para guiarnos por la zona.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Nova Scotia

Location surprised us.

Posted Aug 11, 2015
Pros: Staff, I assume they were the owners, were helpful and friendly.
Cons: Unfortunately the location cannot be corrected.
Location: Set down off the main road in a less than desirable area, surrounded by a tall fence and gate. Did not give you a sense of security.
Ad on Expedia did not prepare us for this hotel's location, etc. Had a difficult time finding it to begin with, had to ask at three places before someone recognized the name, Forest Dreams, only when we said Manakin did someone realize where it was. Our first reaction to the location was "we can't stay here!" If it was not for the fact that we had aleady paid for the three rooms, we would have gone elsewhere.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Profit mit Buchungen? - Nicht zu empfehlen

Posted Jul 20, 2015 on Hotels
Es schien, als wäre das Hotel überbucht: Bei der Ankunft hiess es, es sei geschlossen, wir haben aber Gäste gesehen. Wir wurden in ein anderes Hotel geschickt, das nicht den erhofften Confort mitbrachte. Die Bezahlung sollte zwischen den Hotels stattfinden. Der Hotelmanager war nie erreichbar.
2 out of 5
by isabel from 78955

Avril 2015

Posted Apr 24, 2015 on Hotels
Hotel pratique mais un peu trop nature
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 9, 2015 on Hotels