Ratings based on 25 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sudbury Ontario

Not worth the $

Posted Jan 5, 2017
Smelly rooms, windows don't open, no fan, smokers smoking outside our room that made our room stink, old bedding, difficult to park your car. They charge $20 more for our daughter they said it was because of breakfast but their small limited portions weren't enough and she had no juice only tea or coffee
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

You get what you pay for.

Posted Oct 10, 2016
Pros: The brothers who own this hotel were very pleasant and polite. The hotel was very inexpensive and it includes freshly made breakfast.
Cons: The room was extremely humid, it was like sleeping in my basement before we put in a dehumidifier.
Location: The location was great, lots of things to do.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, Canada

Unique experience

Posted Sep 22, 2016
Pros: friendly and helpful staff, delicious breakfast, cool setting with jungle sounds at night, hummingbirds outside the window in the morning, funky murals on the wall Cons: beds are a bit stiff, some mold in bathroom, cold lighting, not a luxury hotel by any means. All in all, I liked this hotel because it had character. Perfect for a brief stay in beautiful Monteverde.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent location, lovely staff

Posted May 31, 2016
Pros: The staff were very friendly and helpful and there were monkeys right outside my room.
Cons: The pillows weren't very comfy and my room was dark. The rooms were a bit dated and could have done with a refurbishment.
Location: Fabulous, beautiful location. Close to all the main attractions in Monteverde and close to shops and restaurants etc.
This hotel, although a little rustic is a lovely place to stay. I really enjoyed my time there due to the friendly staff, location and monkeys that visited.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

View and location perfect!!

Posted Feb 19, 2016
Pros: Staff, hummingbirds, THE VIEW, large room and bed, walking to everything.
Cons: Could use better pillows on the bed.
Location: Plenty of restaurants with fantastic food. Night tours of the cloud forest - AWESOME! Ziplining. Several cloud forest parks. Bat Jungle.
Jonathan checked us in, he was wonderful. Gave us a recommendation for a night tour, which was fantastic! Hotel room was large, bed comfy, view was incredible! Hummingbirds fly all around. Wind at night sounds haunting but cool. Good parking, close enough to walk to stores and restaurants, but far enough away from noise. I loved this place, wish we had spent more time here. The food in Monteverde is soo good!!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Nova Scotia

Location surprised us.

Posted Aug 11, 2015
Pros: Staff, I assume they were the owners, were helpful and friendly.
Cons: Unfortunately the location cannot be corrected.
Location: Set down off the main road in a less than desirable area, surrounded by a tall fence and gate. Did not give you a sense of security.
Ad on Expedia did not prepare us for this hotel's location, etc. Had a difficult time finding it to begin with, had to ask at three places before someone recognized the name, Forest Dreams, only when we said Manakin did someone realize where it was. Our first reaction to the location was "we can't stay here!" If it was not for the fact that we had aleady paid for the three rooms, we would have gone elsewhere.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from california

Good rate for budget travelers

Posted Aug 12, 2014
Very helpful and friendly staff.Book our tour for selvatural park and recommended delicious local restaurant at good price .ok if need to spend a night or two .
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Hotel Forest NIGHTMARE!!!!

Posted Jul 6, 2014
Pros: LEAVING
Cons: No electricity, no wifi, Limited staff hours, dirty bedsheets, leaky roof, bad attitudes of staff.
Location: Ziplinig, hiking, nature walks.
Expedia gave us a refund because this place was so bad!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Do not stay here! The hotel is only staffed for limited hours during the day. We arrived there around 8:30pm and were left a note saying our room number, how to open a large gate to park our car and that there would be NO electricity the next day. When we got to our room the comforter and pillows were GROSS!!!! We spent only a few hours there and left early the next morning. Do not stay here. This place is really horrible. Worse part was that we left a note for the manager and the next day were given so much Attitude and treated very badly when we wanted to discuss a refund. He was upset that we left him a note.....just like he had left us the night before!!! Also he said that we did not specifically write to him prior to arriving stating that we needed electricity and wifi 24/7.....really dude? Anyway Expedia saw right through the horrible conditions here and his bad business practices and we got the refund. DO NOT STAY HERE!!!!! Costa Ricans are for the majority loving and kind people but the manager CHRIS V is horrible.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Marilyn from NM

Nice hotel in a beautiful location

Posted May 27, 2014
Pros: Good location, quaint rooms, nice staff
Cons: Although the breakfast was a traditional Costa Rican one, it could have been a tad bigger. It was delicious, however
Location: Zip lining and cloud forest preserves
We loved our upstairs rooms with balconies. We had the feeling on being in a tree house. It was excellent for viewing birds, including Toucans, although we did not see any monkeys here. It was quiet, safe and very relaxing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Boo yeah!

Posted Apr 18, 2014
just stay here. super friendly/helpful workers. breakfast was awesome, room was clean. parked car in a safe/convenient spot, friendly cats and dogs everywhere. short walk to town/rainforest