Ratings based on 94 Verified Reviews

3.1 out of 5
69% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.1 Service & staff
2.7 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

NIce, friendly hotel

Posted Aug 22, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: Near Metro and Train Station Friendly Staff Lots of Restaurants and Creperies nearby
Cons: Air Conditioning
Location: Theatres and Restaurants are nearby Train Station Metro line across the road Open Air Market some days across the street
I enjoyed my stay here. The room was small, but it was located near a lot of restaurants, the Metro, and the train station. The staff was very friendly. Not a place if you want lots of comforts, but if you want a clean, safe hotel in Paris with easy access to things, this is a good choice.
4 out of 5
by Stephen from Wollongong

Quinet alive and kicking

Posted Dec 22, 2015 on Hotels
Big room with shuttered windows overlooking lively square with Street market. Interesting architecture and buzz. Fresh food markets on Saturday transformed to art markets the next day. Close to all our travel needs.Steps very steep for our heavy luggage.
3 out of 5
by Patrick from Västerås, Sweden

Reasonable price, good location

Posted Dec 3, 2014 on Hotels
Perfectly serviceable room, if somewhat small and a bit worn about the edges. Hotel staff are friendly and accommodating. The building has four floors and no lift, but is only a few metres from a collection of decent cafés and a few hundred metres from la Gare Montparnasse, which makes it within easy reach of Orly airport and nearly everywhere in the city centre.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very small but serves its purpose

Posted Oct 21, 2014 on Hotels
The staff were excellent: very helpful, very friendly, all spoke English. But this is a pretty basic hotel. My room was on the third floor and there is no lift, which is something to consider if you have heavy bags. The room itself was tiny. Not just a normal small Paris hotel room, but miniscule! The en-suite had everything so tightly packed in that you have to leave the door open to use it! But if you are just looking for somewhere to sleep this hotel is fine - it served its purpose and was reasonably priced.
3 out of 5
by sandy from morrison

Cheap and friendly

Posted Dec 19, 2013 on Hotels
This is a modest little hotel. I booked it for its proximity to Montparnasse station and you couldn't get much closer. Rooms are small and basic, but so is the price. The reception was helpful and charming. Highly recommended if all you want is a clean bed for the night.
4 out of 5
by Toby from Colchester

Great location.

Posted Oct 25, 2013 on Hotels
I had a tiny (single) room but it had everything I needed. Particularly if you are just using it as a place to sleep, excellent value for its location. Literally in the shadow of the Montmartre Tower, in the same street as one of the 'celebrity' Paris cemeteries. A very short walk from a variety of shops and restaurants and a short bus or metro ride to many of the main tourist attractions.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Waterloo, Ontario

Excellent location, very little space

Posted Sep 10, 2013
Pros: The location is great. The street is lined with restaurants.
Cons: The shower should be fixed.
Location: Two metro stations nearby. There is a huge parking garage by Tour Montparnasse (although it will cost you). Restaurants and cafés on the street.
We stayed at the hotel with two kids. A few things to keep in mind: - The hotel rooms are tiny. Once you put all your luggage down, you can barely move around in the room. - There are no elevators, you need to to use the stairs. - We had some trouble with the shower controls, it was stuck on either very cold or very hot water. - There are bars and restaurants under your window. Great atmosphere, a real "Paris feel", but bring earplugs if you'd like to sleep.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from USA

location perfect paris experience

Posted Jul 26, 2013 on Hotels
Stay anywhere near Edgar Quinet station! This area Is a great find, safe area for kids. Cafe's, craperies, open air market some days, grocery store, only one metro line to the Tour Effel! Ps No AC
2 out of 5
by ivan from new york

Disappointing

Posted Jul 13, 2013
Pros: Close to everything in a decent neighborhood
Cons: Rooms and bathrooms to small,receptionist non caring!
Location: Location was excellent
Hotel was close to everything but rooms were to small and the bathroom left much to be desired!!!!!!!
2 out of 5
by Elizabeth from L.A.

Reasonably close to the center of Paris

Posted Jul 6, 2013
Pros: Some of the staff
Cons: Build a new hotel.
Location: It is fairly near to center of Paris
Hotel Edgar Quinet was something of a disappointment. There are stains on the rugs leading to hotel rooms, the furniture looks as it were made with particle board, the walls and door are so thin you can hear your neighbor's every move. The television does not work well, the view from the window is of a roof top. The rooms themselves are tiny. Coffee or tea in the morning must be had in the cafe next door. The internet is iffy. On the better side, a few of the hotel staff are very friendly and try to be helpful. The bathrooms are new and done fairly well but tiny. The cleaning staff does a very good job cleaning the rooms. Overall, this is not a great hotel, except for some of the staff. I met the owner who told me he was selling the place. Perhaps the negatives stem from a lack of care on his part.