Ratings based on 39 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler from Buffalo, NY

Great for seeing real Napoli.

Posted Oct 30, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: Everything
Cons: N/A
Location: Not a far walk from Centro Storico.
I was very happy with my stay at this B&B. The room was comfortable, the breakfast was adequete, the staff were all very nice and helpful. The area (Sanita) is very interesting. I liked it because it was the same kind of area where I teach in the USA. Area looks impoverished. I had absolutely no problem or safety concerns in this area. 10-minute walk to the subway station. I would stay here again and recommend it to easy-going travelers.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great guesthouse in exciting neighbourhood.

Posted Sep 27, 2016 on Hotels
Lively location, good room and great welcome. Decent breakfast also.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Clean, well-priced,hard to locate, busy area

Posted Dec 16, 2015 on Hotels
The positives: room was very clean. Reasonably furnished though small . Twin beds were narrow European versions. Staff was friendly and helpful, but I had to ask strangers for help calling the reception person because he was gone when I arrived. He had left a note for me on the huge door that leads to the back of a church, but the door was open and I did not see the note. It is a short walk to the National Museum of archeology. Cons: It was very hard to find. There is no sign on the door. You go to the big door under the bridge next to the church on Via Sanita. Figuring out how to get down to Via Sanita was difficult. Via Sanita crosses Under Santa Teresa. The neighborhood is crowded and not easy to drive in. I would describe it as generally working class. Leave excess money in the safe. My husband stayed double parked while I checked the room. When I returned 3young men were opening our trunk. There is a secure garage nearby for $10/day. In summary: The room was clean and secure. The staff are very nice. The price is budget and the room is worth the price. It's a 12 minute walk to museum. Not sure about ease of public transit or if taxistas know how to get there. The neighborhood is a busy working class area, but with reasonable care, I felt safe. Parking is almost impossible to find on the street and insecure.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Horrible - unsafe

Posted Nov 3, 2015 on Hotels
Horrible! Not anywhere near where we had asked to be. Taxi couldn't even get there because of road construction. Dark entranceway - need four keys & two different codes to get into our unit. Unmarked exits. TOTALLY UNSAFE AREA - not for tourists. We booked three nights - stayed just one although we prepaid. When we asked for direction from local shopkeepers they told us it's unsafe to be out after dark! We feel we were deceived & misguided by Venere & deserve a refund & apology.
2 out of 5
by Chia Wei from Canada

Posted Aug 8, 2015 on Hotels
It was very difficult to find and its really hard to get in and out of the hotel because there are 4 keys and 2 passwords just to get to your room. They only take cash which I thought was sketchy, I've never heard of a hotel that didn't take credit cards.
5 out of 5
by David from Andover, MA

A Repurposed Religious Building with Lots of Soul!

Posted Jun 26, 2015 on Hotels
In maybe what might be considered not the best section of Naples, this B&B is a real gem. It has no glitz and glamour but it is truly a standout. As a converted convent, it is owned by the church and run by a group of young men dedicated to helping at-risk youth in difficult situations. Our room was clean, well appointed and conformable. Although we took advantage of our little balcony to appreciate the unfolding of everyday life below us, we certainly appreciated the soundproof windows. Our breakfast was pretty typical and always served with enthusiasm. Enzo Casanova was our young host and happily available to direct us or answer questions. The Sanita neighborhood is bustling, colorful, messy and full of wonderful people willing to answer questions. Don't forget to ask Enzo about the little eatery walking distance down the street. We were always careful walking at night but never felt threatened. An added bonus are the catacombs and the church itself. Staying here was a most unique experience we will never forget and high recommend.
5 out of 5
by Deena from Toronto

Charming Bed and Breakfast

Posted May 27, 2015 on Hotels
Naples is a crazy place but this charming Bed and Breakfast was a lovely haven in an otherwise hectic neighbourhood. The staff was extremely friendly and courteous. The breakfast in the morning was delicious and we really enjoyed our stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

experience the real Naples

Posted May 13, 2015
Cons: everything.
the guest house is very comfortable and intimate.. everything you need.. is there.. even a hair dryer.. staff is very gracious. and they are supoortig projects in the neighborhood with the hotel earnings. but if you want a beautiful neighborhood with fancy shops ..then this is not it..and if that is what you want. why not go to LA..
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Jersey City, New Jersey

Bed and Breakfast with a purpose

Posted Mar 19, 2015
Pros: It is run by a co-op of four young men who are very friendly.
Cons: Improvements will come as the co-op members gain more experience. They are studying languages (French, English) and seem to be renovating more rooms.
Location: Beautiful catacombs and churches are within easy walking distances and all of Naples and beyond is accessible by public transport.
This is a great place to stay. I can second what many reviewers have already written. This bed and breakfast is part of a larger project to preserve some of Naples’ sacred monuments and to improve a poor neighborhood. The Google Earth photo of this address shows a high-rise bridge above the property, not the property itself, which is on a street that is anything but bleak. Rather large rooms have the amenities of more expensive hotels–small fridge, hair dryer, heating and cooling, soundproof windows, free WiFi in both rooms and common areas, television (but all stations are in Italian except one in French)–plus kitchen privileges. Tiny bathrooms. Original art work throughout. There is a small library of novels and books on Naples in Italian and English (mostly). Although it’s a long walk to the nearest subway station, there are bus routes right outside the door and those take you to the metro. There is a taxi stand nearby (take the public elevator to get to it). Nearby eating options are basically limited to pizza, pasta, and Italian deli fare. Laundry nearby. Warmly recommended to everyone, but especially to budget travelers, and to people interested in art, archaeology, history, urban renewal, grass roots organizations, and Christianity.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Unique location

Posted Jan 3, 2015 on Hotels
Casa Del Monacone consists of rooms converted from an old monastery formerly associated with an adjoine church. (Staying at this B & B earned a discount at the catacombs in that associated church.) It is located in the Via Sanita district, which is lively and chaotic, but not too much so. Some nitpicks: 1) it's about a 12-minute walk from either Matardei or Cavour Metro stops, and 2) wifi works only in the common room. Still, I would 100% stay here again.