Ratings based on 228 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from groton ma

Girls end of summer overnight

Posted Aug 28, 2017
A perfect place for a one night stay to celebrate the end of the summer. More than comfortable room with a spectacular view.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 26, 2017
Great place. Convenient location to dropping my daughter off at UNH and close to Portsmouth.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Northampton, MA

Diappointing

Posted Aug 21, 2017
Pros: Location and building
Cons: Service, service, service
I read in the reviews that the hotel is beautiful but service is weak and that is quite accurate. I booked for 3 adults (me, my wife and daughter) for 2 queen beds and purchased the breakfast included package. There was a fairly long wait to register. The room was nice with a nice view but 1 king bed. I called the front desk and they argued with me that I had booked a single king, despite my email confirmation of 2 queens. They informed me that they were full and no double queens were available but could send up an air mattress and take $100 off the bill. That was in the afternoon. That evening after a disappointing meal at Latitudes (we heard the food was great; very mediocre) still no mattress. Called the desk again, waited another 20 minutes for the mattress which was very uncomfortable and I awoke the next AM with a sore back. Went to Salt for breakfast the next AM and nobody new how to handle the voucher for the included breakfasts. I discussed it with the restaurant manager and hostess and they said it would be "taken care of". When I checked in I was told the voucher was only good for 2 breakfasts, I told her there was 3 of us and she crossed out the 2 and wrote 3. The restaurant manager argued with me about this and wanted the name of the front desk person. We had a very nice breakfast, excellent food. Then the waitress brought us the bill and I explained I had given the voucher to the hostess. She wanted the name of the hostess! Another argument!
4 out of 5
by Carl

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 24, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Michael

Posted Jul 5, 2017 on Hotels
I had heartburn set in around midnight and the front desk called to have the gift shop opened so I could purchase some antacids and gave me some bottled waters for free to help wash them down. Excellent service and hospitality.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 15, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Donna

First class vacation

Posted Jun 4, 2017 on Hotels
This is a beautiful property, the town is nice, and it's a great location to take day trips from. But, you would be perfectly happy staying at the hotel because it's so beautiful. Also, the food was great, have the lobster salad, may be the best salad I've ever had!
4 out of 5
by Dan

Beautiful old property

Posted Mar 3, 2017 on Hotels
Beautiful property, rooms are comfortable and well appointed. Did not get to use the pool as it was school vacation week and it was filled with kids making it tough to relax there. Minor issues-walls are fairly thin so anyone in next room holding a conversation is like they are right there with you, same with people in the halls. Beyond that, the hotel is beautiful, great bar and restaurant, grounds are very nice and the area is incredible.
5 out of 5
by Roger

Nice weekend winter getaway in Portsmouth

Posted Feb 22, 2017 on Hotels
Went to Wentworth when it was worth it (ie during the half priced winter season). Would give it 5 stars for everything (except maybe value). The room was excellent and the views SPECTACULAR. Very comfortable bed, quiet room, digital climate control, great/friendly service, great food (great local seafood, and great lower priced flatbread), nice pool and fitness center. Fun to wander around the historic hotel and see the old photos and postcards. Can walk to the nearby marina and also over to the Fort Stark State Historic Site and its stone jetty. Other sights worth visiting on the island include Great Island Common, and Fort Constitution/lighthouse. Sights off the island include Odiorne State park and the Urban Forestry Center (which has some cross country skiing trails along salt marsh flats and an arboretum with an amazing Witch-Hazel tree that blooms in the mid-late February snow.) If you like shopping then be sure to visit the myriad of yuppie shops in nearby Portsmouth (but be prepared for slow driving on the narrow city roads and lack of available parking spots). While your wife shops, check out the USS Albacore museum, the Thirsty Moose Tap House with its 116 beers on tap, and the amazing mineral/fossil collections at “Scallops” and “the Village Silversmith” (the latter if you are allergic to incense.)
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Prestigious property

Posted Jan 22, 2017 on Hotels
Extraordinary! Beautiful property full of history.