Ratings based on 9,560 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Super ligging maar sobere accommodatie

Posted Aug 29, 2016
Als uitvalsbasis voor NY citytrip perfect maar qua luxe en comfort beetje karig hotel. Broadway classic kamer echt lachwekkend klein en lawaaiige airco. wij konden er mee leven omdat we toch amper op de kamer en in het hotel waren maar achteraf bezien wel heel prijzig voor het geboden comfort. Ik zou het niet zo snel weer doen.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from MI

Nice hotel close to Times Square

Posted Aug 28, 2016
The staff was great. Our air conditioner stopped working during a hot week and they took care of us by giving us a new room and tickets for breakfast. Staff was helpful. Breakfast was an average American breakfast buffet. Rooms are fairly comfortable but very cozy.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Good location, otherwise average

Posted Aug 27, 2016
Pros: Location. It is secure. It is comfortable.
Cons: It is too dark and you are only paying for location.
Location: Right on top of Times Square and nice places for breakfast. Easy to pick taxis up nearby but when getting there in a taxi, give specific location.
The pictures on Expedia and other websites show a nice looking hotel. They are slightly misleading. The hotel is nice, but very dark everywhere inside. My friend and I likened it to a modern, chic crypt. The rooms are quite nondescript and basic looking with thinning carpet. I think that it is very overpriced, you are really only paying for a prime location but we were expecting more. The rooms are tiny, beds are comfortable but the air conditioning is terribly noisy and the water pressure in the shower isn't great. Breakfast is extortionate and I have never paid for so many unknown taxes after checking out (although this seems to be the norm in NY). It's fine for a base to sleep and safely store your belongings, but if you are looking for a more well rounded place I'd go somewhere else. I would only stay here again because I now know where everything is nearby.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location. Accaptable if Deluxe room

Posted Aug 27, 2016
First arrived has been provided not the room I uave booked. Smaller. Conditoner not working. Not clean. Very small bed. Old room. Then next day has been tranfered to Deluxe room with 1 king size bed. It was a good comfortable room. Fairly clean. Good bed. Very accaptable. Dont like the smell in the lobby they probably using some special porfum not sure. Lobby specious lots of sitting places. There is also Facility charge besides what Expedia charge you. So please be aware of that. Just some facts overall expeience satisfactory considering it is a New York and few steps from timesquare
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Decent hotel close to Times Square

Posted Aug 26, 2016
Lobby is stunning as is outside of this historic hotel. Rooms are super small and need updating. They are dingy and smell from the old air conditioning.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Belfast

Revisit after 6 years

Posted Aug 24, 2016
We originally stayed in 2010 and throughly enjoyed The Paramount Hotel. If you haven't stayed before the lobby and guest areas are amazing. Very modern. We arranged to stay this summer because we loved our stay in 2010. We booked a Superior Queen Room on Expedia...similar to what we stayed in before. We checked in late, and where quite disappointed with our room. The bed looked like someone had sat on it and the sheets had some stains. The air conditioning unit was covered in rust which had went onto the floor. It would have easily stained your clothes. Obviously the hotel has aged in the last six years. The next morning we raised our disappointment with the front desk and the staff member put us through to the Duty Manager (Desirre) who was excellent. She arranged to have the room cleaned immediately. The following day she moved us to the 14th floor to a Delux King which was amazing. What we can say is that we where very happy with the customer service. In light of this our advice is that if your not happy tell them and they will do everything possible to make your stay more enjoyable. One thing that did annoy us was the "Resort Fee" - on the day of checkout they slipped a note under the door for over $80. No where did it highlight this in our Expedia Booking. Apparently it is for the use of the gym (which we didn't use), Internet and Telephone. This is something we will raise with Expedia.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from newcastle englang

Great location horrible hotel

Posted Aug 24, 2016
Pros: Looking back from the taxi on the way home
Cons: Don't stay here and stay somewhere else. I stayed at the novotel times square and wish I'd gone back there.
Location: Great location
Don't stay here. Was charged £61 to leave. For use of gym which I didn't eve n know they had and local calls. You do that much walking you don't need a gym and everyone goes on holiday to phone the locals???????? Rip off
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from toronto, ON

Great location, bad service

Posted Aug 24, 2016
We booked this hotel for our 1 yr anniversary trip to New York. We took the bus there and chose this hotel based on proximity from Port Authority bus terminal. When we arrived the staff at reception weren't very friendly at all and looked as if we had inconvenienced them that we arrived to check in. Check in time is late -4pm, and we arrived at 9am. They allowed us to check our bags (no charge- but paid $2/bag at check out) told us to come back later. I emailed to hotel prior about requesting a room with a nice view of the city along with a few other inquiries and the receptionist said there weren't any comments with our booking request. When we finally checked in, we got to our room which overall had a very nice modern feel. We had 2 windows with a view (construction across the street & the hotel right next to us- rm 1237) but the room was fairly spacious considering it was New York! The worst part of this hotel (aside from the reception staff) was the bathroom. You can definitely tell it was dated and had a mildew/mold smell -probably due to the bathroom not having a fan. The bed was comfy and the room was over all nice. Beware of the hidden fees! We paid on average $247/night for 3 nights, plus $16/night in which we were charged separately for (this includes gym, wifi etc). The hotel is a good choice if you are looking for something that is close to time square, Central Park, ESB & 5th ave shopping. You can probably get a better hotel for less, with more included!!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location in the heart of Times Square

Posted Aug 23, 2016
Bare bones hotel. Old, dark and outdated. Staff is friendly and it's a convenient location close to Times Square.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York, Manhattan

Helt okey hotell nära Time Square

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Trevligt hotell så nära Time Square man kan komma. Mitten av Manhattan nära till mycket och många trevliga restauranger i närheten. Rummet var litet, med stor skön säng och litet badrum (något slitet, men okey). A/C låter för mycket svårt att reglera värme/kyla är det mest negativa med rummet. Hotellets lobby och restaurang/bar klart godkänt.