Ratings based on 155 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington, Tyne and Wear

Good location, great room

Posted Jul 31, 2017
Located in Jesmond right next to shops and a short walk from West Jesmond metro station so easily accessable to Newcastle and surrounding north east which was very good. The room was fantastic, designed very well and very clean throughout our stay. Rainfall shower, along with air con and built in music system was a lovely added touch to the superior king room. Parking was a bit awkward as the car park out back is very small and often double parked and the surrounding areas are permit only so be careful when driving to the hotel. Breakfast was fast and varied to give a good start to the day. The restaurant inside where breakfast is served is a nice place to eat, completely Asian inspired decor which looked the part. All in all, I would recommend the Cairn hotel to anyone. Quick and easy check in and out, clean and lovely staff. 5 star hotel. Thanks for the lovely stay.
4 out of 5
by Stephen

This is a really lovely hotel...stay here

Posted Jul 16, 2017 on Hotels
The air conditioning made weird noises but it was too late to do anything about it! Otherwise the bedroom was quite small but well equipped. The hotel is very stylish throughout with funky design touches. There wasn't enough staff at breakfast which ruined an otherwise great continental breakfast. I'd stay here again as it was great for the price.
5 out of 5
by Richard

Great value for money in Jesmond

Posted Jul 9, 2017 on Hotels
Have stayed in Jesmond a number of times whilst doing university trips! This has definitely been our most pleasant experience by far. Very much bettered our expectations. A lovely room with good quality fittings and a comfortable bed. Extremely nice buffet breakfast also in nice sorroundings. Very much good value for money :-)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from miami, fl

Nice hotel in west jesmond.

Posted Jul 6, 2017
Pros: Good location, very clean, reasonably priced and friendly staff.
Cons: Available parking for sure.
Location: West Desmond is a mixed upscale very leafy area with a mixture of student housing that is not very well maintained.close to newcastle city center.
Stayed at The Cairn Hotel due to the regular hotel we use being fully booked. The Cairn Hotel is a small hotel in a very busy area. It is well run and very clean. The staff are very friendly and professional. We stayed for 20 nights due to visiting family members. As with most small hotels there is no lift so if you have heavy bags and your room is on the top floor, good luck. Again, as with most small hotels/Inns there is no air conditioning so you will suffer a few days, as we did when the odd heat wave hits the area. The only complaint that I have with this hotel is the lack of parking. I think I was only actually able to park there twice during the entire stay. Some of the guests would even block the parking spaces by not pulling their cars forward, this happened quite frequently. We ended up parking on the street, when we could or on the church grounds a short drive away. Lastly, Osbourne Rd is a very busy street with both pedestrian and vehicular traffic, as well as bustling night life, so don't expect quiet evenings.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely

Posted Jun 18, 2017 on Hotels
Lovely hotel to stay at in Jesmond. Staff at reception really welcoming and friendly. This was our second stay at the Cairn and won't be our last. In fact we're there next month for two nights for our son's graduation. Rooms are alittle on the small side but very well appointed. Breakfast is good. The bar97 is fantastic. Really enjoyed our stay.
1 out of 5
by Steve

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 8, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Brian

OK for the price....

Posted Jun 2, 2017 on Hotels
Good basic hotel - with large room, good location with some parking at rear. Only a continental breakfast but it was adequate. I tried to order a drink at 11.30pm from reception but was told all bars closed and no night porter facility which I found very strange for a hotel of this size??? Wi-fi wasn't great - trying to do my work and it kept dropping signal....
3 out of 5
by Shaun

Good but.....

Posted May 25, 2017 on Hotels
Room was excellent except for the bed which was so uncomfortable it was not funny.
4 out of 5
by john

Jesmond hotel

Posted May 25, 2017 on Hotels
well placed hotel in Jesmond evening food and drinks attached with nice continental breakfast good WIfi
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tayside, Scotland

Excellent, small "boutique" hotel.

Posted May 22, 2017
Pros: Small "boutique" appearance; friendly staff and good service.
Location: There are several good restaurants and pubs in walking distance.
Very enjoyable stay. I was in Newcastle for business, and took the opportunity to visit family living in the Jesmond area. The hotel was nicely done-up and the staff were helpful and friendly.