Ratings based on 201 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from whitley bay

Nice hotel in the main part of jesmond

Posted Feb 23, 2018
Lovely room very modern and clean, lovely staff that were very helpful
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Stockport

Very good option for staying in Newcastle

Posted Feb 22, 2018
Pros: Lively and comfortable bar, not overpriced. Free parking and inclusive breakfast made this very good value for money.
Cons: The hotel more than met our needs for the purpose of our stay.
Location: The hotel is in Jesmond, a pleasant area with lots of bars and places to eat and 10 minutes walk from the Metro station
We were after a hotel for a night in Newcastle and chose the Cairn based on previous reviews and price. We were very pleased overall and would certainly consider staying here again. The staff were pleasant and helpful and the room, although advertised as small, had everything you could need without feeling cluttered. The complementary water in the fridge was a nice touch and the continental breakfast fine with a variety of options. We stayed on a Sunday night which had a quiz in the bar which was a nice bonus, other nights have other features and happy hours. It's a couple of miles from the town centre but close to a Metro station and bus stops, so a good alternative to the city centre hotels which are often much more expensive and with limited parking.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Shoddy bathroom pipework/unhelpful Manager

Posted Feb 11, 2018
Pros: The location convenient to visit my grandson.
Cons: The fitting of the bathroom pipework and in particular the cisterns not leaking into the toilet bowl. The manager's understanding of this problem.
Location: Walking distance to Jesmond Dene and into the city centre. Good cafes and restaurants.
Booked for 4 nights: Room reeked of sewage on our arrival so changed room towels were stained and grubby.. Next day moved again told we were getting upgraded to 219 but then told no and into another smaller room - in this one cistern leaking and water running through the night, Moved again this time cistern leaking again, but manager came in tapped on the flush and told us that there was no fault! She could not understand that getting into bed and then hearing the flush leaking into the toilet bowl and having to get up to tap/bang on the flush to get it to stop was not condusive to a peaceful night's sleep! The entire tap was not properly secured either and the shower/hose option did not work properly - so after using hose and turning to off position the shower head took over wetting hair. There was a refund given for the first two nights, but by the third night the Manager had obviously decided that if we were not prepared to get up in the night and fix our own cistern constantly releasing water into the bowl then this was not worth any refund. She told us that the maintenance man/manager had checked the bathroom over and there were no problems to be found. Neither my husband nor I would stay at this hotel again.
4 out of 5
by alex

Home from home

Posted Dec 15, 2017 on Hotels
Comfortable/clean room Very friendly and helpful staff Ate in the restaurant and Thai food was superb (little expensive for what you got) Won’t hesitate to stay next time in the area
4 out of 5
by Michelle

Comfortable stay

Posted Dec 14, 2017 on Hotels
Pleasant stay for quick two days shopping / overnight stay
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Yorkshire

Posted Dec 7, 2017
Excellent, very quiet even though on busy road. Great service. Would definitely stay again
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from LANCASHIRE


Posted Dec 6, 2017
Pros: Its location,it's pricing structure for what we got and a great welcome.
Cons: This hotel was perfect in every way.
Location: The hotel was perfectly placed near to where we were visiting.
This hotel was reasonably priced with free parking and a continental breakfast included. The room was clean,the bed very comfortable, the staff very efficient and the breakfast very good.Our stay perfect and we would visit again if in the area and requiring an overnight stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ok but not great

Posted Dec 6, 2017
We paid for a superior room, the room it self was nice. However there where dead bugs and dust on the windows. The shower leaked onto the floor through the shower screen. The toilet is next to impossible to use due to it being situated 5mm off the nearest wall and around the same again from the shower screen. Parking was dreadful and guest often found themselfs blocked in by other guests. Bar and restaurant where amazing and the food was fantastic.
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Yorkshiire

Fabulous Hotel

Posted Dec 3, 2017
We stayed at the hotel recently and from the arrival where we were greeted by a really friendly lady, to the minute we checked out, this was a great stay. Comfortable, clean hotel in a great location. A mere five minute walk to the Metro link into Newcastle for a bit of Xmas shopping and because it was freezing outside, we didn't need to worry as the hotel has a lovely Thai restaurant attached to it. The bar on the other side of the hotel was really good as well with some fantastic cocktails. We will definitely be returning.
4 out of 5
by David

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 1, 2017 on Hotels