Ratings based on 15 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from lancashire

A quiet hotel

Posted Jun 29, 2017
Pros: The enclosed garden is attractive and 'private' well hidden from the nearby park on the edges of town. Food the restaurant was very good!
Cons: The small double room has limited 'desk space' and the room would benefit from a 'comfortable chair to sit and read
Location: The local church a worth exploring.
The hotel is 'close to the centre' of Ottery Saint Mary, but access to the car park is 'difficult' - along a narrow lane between brick walls - which may be hard to find without instructions sent by e-mail,
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 4, 2017 by TWH, Hotel Management
Dear Phil Thank you for your comments but we're sad to learn that not everything was to your satisfaction. We take pride in providing good quality food, in pleasant surroundings, at a reasonable price, so we are pleased that you enjoyed dining in our restaurant. Unfortunately, the bedroom in which you stayed cannot accommodate a lounge chair but we encourage all our guests to make the most of our cosy resident’s lounge or, when the weather allows, the ample seating areas in the garden. We appreciate that this doesn't suit everyone and can only apologise that it made your stay feel less than perfect. Best regards Lynn and Paul Thurgate
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Sandra & Geof

Posted Nov 30, 2012 on Hotels
Excellent. Nothing negative to say about the Tumbling Weir. I would certainly recommend this hotel to friends & family.
4 out of 5
by Darren

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 19, 2012 on Hotels
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mature couple from Staines-upon-Thames, Surrey, UK

Very enjoyable

Posted Sep 1, 2012
. All rooms on1st floor,as stated. Clean and tidy. Great breakfast. Only one complaint. Internet connection very fickle. Only perseverance gets results. If you rely on it for your business beware.Set in beautiful village. Bit daunting looking for the hotel as it sits behind derelict cotton mill,but don't be put off----- lovely setting.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Gordon from Rugby, Warwickshire, UK

Good Hotel for a short break

Posted Aug 20, 2012
Pros: Welcome and comfort. Good food
Location: Completely in the Country, but only 15 mins from the coast.
Friendly welcome, clean and comfortable room. Tea coffee etc in room. Restaurant quality excellent. Breakfast excellent
5 out of 5
by P. Massey

Posted Jul 24, 2012 on Hotels
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The Breakfasts were plentiful and beautifully cooked, The room was very clean with both a shower and a bath, which suited both my wife and myself. We were looked after very well. There was only one small critism, we found that the mattress on the bed was much too hard. However this was very good value for the money, and we would definitely stay there agaion
4 out of 5
by Eddy

Short business stay

Posted May 18, 2012 on Hotels
Lovely setting. Great value evening meal and delicious too. Room was a bit cold but I didn't ask for a heater so I can't really complain.
5 out of 5
by anne

Great hosts, lovely rooms and garden

Posted May 6, 2012 on Hotels
We wanted to see something of Somerset, Devon and Dorset, and chose this quite spot with good access to these counties. The hosts went out of their way to provide meals whenever we needed them. Excellent menu, lovely food. And they were relaxed about us taking tea in the garden. The room was warm, and the beds were very comfortable. The only low point was the strange access between two warehouses.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 4, 2011 on Hotels
The staff were friendly and helpful, breakfast was very nice. However the room my friend and stayed in was unbearably warm during the night and the beds were uncomfortably soft.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from camborne UK

quiet and peaceful

Posted Jun 20, 2011
Lovely stay in pleasant surroundings, very good value.