Ratings based on 37 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excellent overnight stay in a wonderful facility

Posted Sep 18, 2016
Pros: The accommodation was very special and the atmosphere and food was a delight.
We loved the atmosphere of the Lodge and the set out of the luxury tent on the water was brilliant. The claw foot bath overlooking the water was a treat and also loved the outdoor shower. We enjoyed everything about our stay including the staff and food.
3 out of 5
by John from Bury St Edmunds

Disappointing at Buffalos Drift

Posted May 18, 2016 on Hotels
Had to wait 30 mins to be checked in by a student(not her fault) and then a further 15 for our luggage to be transported to our tent which was ripped. Food also disappointing. The location however was amazing. Lagoon side tent with hippos and birds. The game drive we felt was rather contrived, tracking rhinos which we found in a clearing and had been fed hay there.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Schöne Anlage

Posted Apr 27, 2016 on Hotels
Tolle Anlage, schöne orginele Unterkunft
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 25, 2016 on Orbitz
A wonderful little secret. If you want to experience what it is like living on an African farm in the oudtshoorn area this is it. Now a lovely low key safari camp. My luxury safari tent was on the water so you can lie in bed and watch the wild life. Amazing. The full moon coming up over the dam made dinner one of the most romantic ever can't wait to go back
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NRW


Posted Jan 22, 2016
Pros: Spa-Bereich, Luxuriöse Zelte, freundliches Personal
Location: In Oudtshorrn findet man viele Straussenfarme (zB die Highgate Farm), Cango Caves, Die BuffelsDrift G.L. bietet auch Game Drives an!
Die luxuriösen Zelte haben uns sehr gut gefallen. Eine tolle Abwechslung, wenn man auf Rundreise durch Südafrika ist und immer wieder in anderen Hotels eincheckt. Am Tag war es in der Anlage sehr ruhig und erholsam - wir konnten nach einem langen Ausflugstag auch mal ungestört am (Gemeinschafts-)Pool liegen -> aber man sollte wissen, dass die Geräusche der Tiere in der Nacht nicht unerheblich sind! Wer einen leichten Schlaf hat, kommt nicht umhin Ohrenstöpsel zu verwenden ... die Zeltwände sind natürlich recht dünn... Ein Highlight: Von unserem Bett aus konnten wir den Nilpferden beim Baden zusehen. (Wenn man ein Zelt am Wasser bucht.) Das Essen im Hotel-Restsaurant (á la Carte) war sehr gut. Und auch der Spa-Bereich lohnt absolut.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 6, 2016
Super lage in der kleinen karoo, toller Pool und super sundowner tour. Ein paar mehr Büffel hätten wir bei dem Namen erwartet ...
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from England

Not exactly what I was expecting

Posted Dec 5, 2015
Pros: It had a novelty element, luxurious tented accommodation, all facilities you would find in hotels
Cons: Down side would be security, security from other residents, you can't lock your tent, therefore your property is not totally safe
Location: Nearest town is about 7km away everything is there, but the main reason for visiting is to see animals and relaxing
Booked the lodge because we could have a tent on the water to see the animals come down to drink in the evening, unfortunately this was not exactly the case, to start with I felt it was a glorified duck pond, there were a few impala came along the side, on last day 2 hippos swam in water, there are several watering holes around the park and the animals stayed there not the one where the tents were.... We booked the evening safari VERY expensive, and was VERY VERY disappointed that we were not taken to see the elephants, we saw them from afar but not close, if we had wanted to get closer that was another trip and another expensive pay out. Everything was designed to take more money from you. Breakfast was very good, self service and and excellent choices. Evening meal was okay, perhaps one of my choices wasn't the best but my second choice was very good
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

Very disappointing stay

Posted Nov 30, 2015
Pros: The safaris, the view.
Cons: Maintenance in general, hospitality services, the food.
We were looking forward to our stay at this lodge but were very disappointed by the experience. The reception was cold and expeditive. The tent was old and needed maintenance: Some zippers did not work, a plastic window was cracked, wash basin was cracked, toilet bowl was cracked and leaking, etc. The deck of the main building were meals are served needs serious maintenance. Breakfasts were very ordinary: few fruits and canned lychees. Lunch and service were ok. Quality of food and service for dinner were poor. We barely touched our plates. We had a reservation for two nights but were ready to leave after the first night. The manager informed us that it was not possible because payment had already been made to Expedia. She offered safaris as a compensation. Safaris were good. Stays at this lodge are very overpriced. During our trip we stayed at 8 other hotels or lodges in SA usually less expensive and were very satisfied. This lodge is our most expensive so far and our worst experience! Nicole
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 23, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Perth

Most comfortable tent we've slept in!

Posted Nov 4, 2015
This is tent-living with comfort and luxury thrown in. The animal noises in the night came for free but made us appreciate the warmth and cosiness inside the tent. The hippopotamuses were not far away in the dam but did not trouble the human population!