Ratings based on 13 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent overnight stay in a wonderful facility

Posted Sep 18, 2016
Pros: The accommodation was very special and the atmosphere and food was a delight.
We loved the atmosphere of the Lodge and the set out of the luxury tent on the water was brilliant. The claw foot bath overlooking the water was a treat and also loved the outdoor shower. We enjoyed everything about our stay including the staff and food.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler from England

Not exactly what I was expecting

Posted Dec 5, 2015
Pros: It had a novelty element, luxurious tented accommodation, all facilities you would find in hotels
Cons: Down side would be security, security from other residents, you can't lock your tent, therefore your property is not totally safe
Location: Nearest town is about 7km away everything is there, but the main reason for visiting is to see animals and relaxing
Booked the lodge because we could have a tent on the water to see the animals come down to drink in the evening, unfortunately this was not exactly the case, to start with I felt it was a glorified duck pond, there were a few impala came along the side, on last day 2 hippos swam in water, there are several watering holes around the park and the animals stayed there not the one where the tents were.... We booked the evening safari VERY expensive, and was VERY VERY disappointed that we were not taken to see the elephants, we saw them from afar but not close, if we had wanted to get closer that was another trip and another expensive pay out. Everything was designed to take more money from you. Breakfast was very good, self service and and excellent choices. Evening meal was okay, perhaps one of my choices wasn't the best but my second choice was very good
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

Very disappointing stay

Posted Nov 30, 2015
Pros: The safaris, the view.
Cons: Maintenance in general, hospitality services, the food.
We were looking forward to our stay at this lodge but were very disappointed by the experience. The reception was cold and expeditive. The tent was old and needed maintenance: Some zippers did not work, a plastic window was cracked, wash basin was cracked, toilet bowl was cracked and leaking, etc. The deck of the main building were meals are served needs serious maintenance. Breakfasts were very ordinary: few fruits and canned lychees. Lunch and service were ok. Quality of food and service for dinner were poor. We barely touched our plates. We had a reservation for two nights but were ready to leave after the first night. The manager informed us that it was not possible because payment had already been made to Expedia. She offered safaris as a compensation. Safaris were good. Stays at this lodge are very overpriced. During our trip we stayed at 8 other hotels or lodges in SA usually less expensive and were very satisfied. This lodge is our most expensive so far and our worst experience! Nicole
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Perth

Most comfortable tent we've slept in!

Posted Nov 4, 2015
This is tent-living with comfort and luxury thrown in. The animal noises in the night came for free but made us appreciate the warmth and cosiness inside the tent. The hippopotamuses were not far away in the dam but did not trouble the human population!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from shropshire u k

Posted Apr 9, 2015
Pros: The idea was good but I felt they hadn't got enough animals
Cons: More animals, smaller dining area to give a more sophisticated atmosphere. More subdued lighting
Location: Near to oudtstoorn , easy to find. Beautiful views over the little karoo
The idea of staying in an upmarket tent was terrific and very comfortable and a real experience. The dining area was a bit large and impersonal and was more like a cafeteria than a dining area/ room. Difficult to see what the menu said or what you were eating if you ate outside at night. Food was good but breakfast buffet was unimaginative but adequate. Not as many animals as I'd hoped to see on the reserve as only elephants were kept near the lodge. No torches available for walk home at night, who knows what might be lurking for someone with a fear of snakes! Pool could have done with being heated. Informative , helpful guide on the safari.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

A place like no other

Posted Sep 18, 2014
An amazing experience, the fact your staying in a "tent" is truly great but it's a tent like no other! The outdoor shower was a great touch. We stayed half board which included choosing 3 courses from their a la carte menu, would definitely recommend you stay half board?
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from NRW

Out-of-Africa-Feeling

Posted Jan 22, 2016
Pros: Spa-Bereich, Luxuriöse Zelte, freundliches Personal
Location: In Oudtshorrn findet man viele Straussenfarme (zB die Highgate Farm), Cango Caves, Die BuffelsDrift G.L. bietet auch Game Drives an!
Die luxuriösen Zelte haben uns sehr gut gefallen. Eine tolle Abwechslung, wenn man auf Rundreise durch Südafrika ist und immer wieder in anderen Hotels eincheckt. Am Tag war es in der Anlage sehr ruhig und erholsam - wir konnten nach einem langen Ausflugstag auch mal ungestört am (Gemeinschafts-)Pool liegen -> aber man sollte wissen, dass die Geräusche der Tiere in der Nacht nicht unerheblich sind! Wer einen leichten Schlaf hat, kommt nicht umhin Ohrenstöpsel zu verwenden ... die Zeltwände sind natürlich recht dünn... Ein Highlight: Von unserem Bett aus konnten wir den Nilpferden beim Baden zusehen. (Wenn man ein Zelt am Wasser bucht.) Das Essen im Hotel-Restsaurant (á la Carte) war sehr gut. Und auch der Spa-Bereich lohnt absolut.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 6, 2016
Super lage in der kleinen karoo, toller Pool und super sundowner tour. Ein paar mehr Büffel hätten wir bei dem Namen erwartet ...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Dosierte "Wildnis"

Posted Dec 31, 2014
Die Unterbringung erfolgt in sehr schönen "Zelten", die nicht nur für ein Zelt sehr geräumig sind. Klimatisierung, Safe, Kingsize-Betten, Fön und Minibar sind vorhanden. Das Bad mit verdeckter Außendusche hatten wir bei Weitem nicht so exklusiv erwartet. Safaris haben wir nicht belegt, da das Game Ressort, in dem sich das Hotel befindet, kein Vergleich zu den Wildparks im Osten des Landes darstellt. Alles in Allem aber eine echte Empfehlung für einen, eher 2 bis 3 Tage.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Sehr schön an einem See gelegen.

Posted Dec 29, 2014
Pros: Die sehr schöne Lage.
Cons: Nichts.
Location: Pirschfahrten. Elefantenreiten.
Die Game Lodge hat eine sehr schöne Lage an einem See. Mit etwas Glück kann man Flußpferde direkt von der Terrasse aus beobachten. Das Essen war sehr gut und die Preise in Ordnung. Nachts ist es allerdings sehr laut in den Zelten, da rundherum sehr viele Tiere unterwegs sind. Für geräuschempfindliche Menschen nicht zu empfehlen. Ohrstöpsel liegen im Bad. Für Hotelgäste wird Elefantenreiten angeboten. Die Tour führt um den See und sah sehr schön aus. Würden wir beim nächsten Mal auf jeden Fall buchen.