Ratings based on 735 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Great hotel with traditional values

Posted Dec 10, 2016
I used this hotel a lot for work in the past and haven't been back for over 3 years however pleasantly surprised by the refurbished rooms which are beautifully fitted and decorated and the attentiveness of the staff who as always made my stay a delight.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A hotel which is a kind of a landmark

Posted Nov 27, 2016
Pros: The service.
Cons: Maybe refreshing the corridors and the reception faacilities
Location: The perfect location. A visit to the Ashmolean museum across the street is highly reccomended
The Randolph is located in the centre of Oxford, the best location. It is old but it has charm and the staff is very good especially the concierge and the bartenders in the "Morse" bar. We did not have a chance to have afternoon tea but we had a drink in the drawing room, and the service there was as in other instances of this hotel was top notch.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington dc

great hotel- central oxford

Posted Nov 14, 2016
Pros: Great location, room is recently renovated, food is good.
Cons: lovely staff needs help with supervision. needs an extra man at the door- the doorman seems to have 5 jobs and was never there to open the door.
Location: ashmolean museum, oxford university
this is a famous hotel in the center of oxford uk, completely convenient, with a lot of character.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

albergo centralissimo

Posted Nov 1, 2016
Pros: tutto molto gradevole
Location: posizione ottima
tutto molto positivo dalla posizione ai servizi offerti
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver

Tired Building

Posted Oct 31, 2016
Location: The Ashmolean Museum is across the road but everything in Oxford is close so location is not essential.
For a five star hotel, this is a very tired building and amenities. They have a note posted that they will be renovating (6.5 million GBP) but hallway floors squeak, the carpet buckles, quiet voices are heard in the next room. The lift is small and slow and overwhelmed by the number of people using it (in October!).The bathrooms are fine and appear to be recently updated and it does not feel dirty at all. In short, comfortable enough but tired. Shockingly, their signature bar closes at 11 pm on a Saturday night. The breakfast lacks enough staff so it feels more like a rushed assembly line than a waited table. The concierge is fine and helpful. The internet set up (they require establishing a full account for every user) is quite a throw back to 2005 and with a chain of hotels in the UK, there is a good chance you have already a login but can't remember it!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Stunning hotel and a great location.

Posted Oct 24, 2016
Pros: Service and location.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: Right in the heart of Oxford city centre.
This hotel is stunning inside and out. It oozes old fashioned charm and service. Rooms are spacious, immaculately clean and freshly decorated.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Character hotel in downtown Oxford

Posted Oct 9, 2016
The Randolph is a lovely hotel in the middle of all that Oxford has to offer. Major sightseeing attractions are all close by. The Ashmolean Museum is across the street. The room was clean and renovated with a good selection of amenities. The only downside is the street noise in the evening and into the small hours of the morning. Perhaps a room on a higher floor would have been less noisy.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Jenison, MI

Best location in Oxford

Posted Oct 5, 2016
Pros: Location, historical charm,attentive staff
Cons: I doubt this can be improved but the hotel, being very posh and expensive, has a snobby atmosphere that makes it feel cold and uptight
Location: Again, the most perfect location on Oxford, probably worth the cost of the room
I chose this hotel because of its location as I wanted to be a few steps from the University to attend meeting and to enjoy the best of Oxford at the same time. It is impossible to find a better location than Randolph, as it is located just across the Ashmolean Museum, next door to the Playhouse, and close absolutely to everything. It is also a interesting place by itself being a historical building.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, BC

Fabulous location, beautiful but awkward hotel

Posted Sep 29, 2016
I booked a classic king room in this beautiful, historic hotel across the street from the lovely Ashmolean Museum. I found earlier reviews regarding the quality of furnishings and grounds to be accurate; classic British, very traditional. Check in was relatively quick as I prepaid. Staff initially incorrectly stated I was booked for a double but acknowledged their error and agreed to put me in a king. On arrival to my room my wife and I realized they did put us in twin beds. A call to the front desk yielded a maid who combined the beds; I was told this was their "king" size. Inconvenient given the rate. The bed was comfy but had a definite indentation in the middle where the two beds joined. The room itself was nicely appointed but the bathroom lacked essentials; the shower caused water to drip onto floor due to the odd design of shower door. Moreover, the upper, second shower head mounted to ceiling could not be operated, nor would the heated towel holder function. Staff were called, and although polite but had no answers. The room was comfortable and quiet, although workmen started construction on the room outside our window at 0900. We checked out by 1000. The front desk wanted to charge me for a local call which I made from the room which never connected. They relented when I pointed out the call never connected. Overall, a nice room but the experience was not worth what I paid. Good wifi. Clean room. Wonderful location. Beautiful furnishings. Mediocre service.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Australia

Our room was too small

Posted Sep 23, 2016
Pros: All the workers were kind and gracious.
Cons: Guests should be made aware of the shortcomings of the room.
Location: All okay
The room was much smaller than we were led to believe that it would be. My partner and I constantly crashed into each other and to the sharp edges of the furniture. This led to some bruising for each of us and great inconvenience.