Ratings based on 827 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hampshire

Iconic hotel in the centre of Oxford

Posted May 2, 2017
Pros: Location, iconic status, great cocktails.
Cons: In need of a proper refurbishment
Location: Ashmolean and Pitt rivers museums. Oxford city centre.
The location of the Randolf is excellent. It's right in the centre of Oxford and directly opposite the Ashmolean Museum. This really is an iconic hotel. It is however starting to look faded with gaffer tape holding down the carpet by the door into the bar, ceilings and walls in need of a lick of paint, lifts straight out of 1972 and wallpaper and furniture scuffed and scratched in places. Having said all that, I'm glad we stayed there although next time, if we're looking for a top hotel in Oxford, I think we'll try somewhere else. The staff are very friendly and polite and work incredibly hard I couldn't help feeling that they are rather let down a little by their surroundings.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 2, 2017
The MacDonald hotel in Oxford was quite disappointing. We had various issues whilst we stayed there and while overall the stay was pleasant and staff were very helpful, the hotel does not feel like a 5* and is perhaps not worth the money.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Swansea

Very nice city centre hotel

Posted Apr 27, 2017
Full of character, complete with beautiful rooms and creaky floorboards!!Centrally situated with very helpful staff and delicious food at breakfast and room service.Would definitely return.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Yorkshire, UK

Nice old hotel in central Oxford.

Posted Apr 25, 2017
Pros: It's an historic hotel with old world charm.
Cons: It's an historic hotel with seriously creaky floors.
Location: It's Oxford, look at http://www.oxfordcityguide.com. Also you can hop on the S3 bus to Blenheim Palace.
Pleasant, nicely furnished old hotel with efficient staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brisbane Australia

Timeless elegance excellent location

Posted Apr 23, 2017
Pros: Ease of access from bus station, close to shops, close to tourist places of interest, standard of accomodation and level of service
Cons: Wait staff in the restaurant were very good but some were disengaged and empty plates were not removed quickly enough despite some staff doing nothing
Location: Opposite Ashmolean Museum, 7min walk to Bus Station, 20min to train. Martyrs Monument on corner, 10 min walk to Broad St colleges, 10min to shops,
Ideally located hotel close to the central Bus station so an easy walk. Ideally located to centre of town for shopping and sightseeing. Close to places of interest such as the Ashmolean Museum, Monument of the Martyres, and the colleges and universities of Oxford. Close to access local public transport. Very well situated for restaurants and theatres all within a comfortable walking distance. Timeless elegance and excellence in hospitality and service although some of the waitstaff in the breakfast restaurant were a bit slow and disengaged but on the whole polite and friendly. The room was comfortable, the bed very comfy all amenities worked, it was quiet although Saturday night was a bit noisy but not too bad. Overall a wonderful experience and I'm glad I decided to stay here.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent experience and perfect for exploring the

Posted Apr 20, 2017
Extremely well organised, very friendly, pleasant rooms. Ideal for walking and exploring the city centre.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from LDN

Central location

Posted Apr 12, 2017
Excellent hotel, well located and very large rooms
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Best location

Posted Mar 30, 2017
Fab location, great staff, charming . Best English breakfast at the hotel . Enjoyed the bar as well.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 24, 2017
Cons: Wi-Fi
Location: Great location.
The Wi-fi did not work in our room. Also, there were dirty clothes left over from the prior guest. Otherwise, a fine hotel.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cambridge

Not a 5 star hotel

Posted Mar 19, 2017
Pros: Central location - opposite the Ashmolean.
Cons: Everything
Entrance was through the garage and in a filthy side room (the foyer was being painted). Chaotic check-in. I had booked a classic double, which was small and cramped. Room was noisy (it fronts on to a busy junction - ask for a back room as the traffic noise goes on all night). Air con didn't work - it just chilled the room however much I raised the temp gauge. No cable tv and no radio. Very disappointing experience. Oh and the expensive rate did not include breakfast!