Ratings based on 265 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Near death experience

Posted Nov 28, 2016
Pros: very private rooms; great service; good restaurant; nice pool; just few dozens steps to the beach.
Cons: Lifesaving equipment should be placed on beach; Lifeguard should be present while beach is open; Staff should explain customers danger of fast tide
The place is great, I would not mind to rate this place with 4 stars, however I withholding them as we had a terrible incident. Our family is big - 5 kids ranging from 6 to 21 years. Clandestino has its own beach and we have enjoyed it, jumped in waves and even swam several times. Incident had happened on Thanksgiving, around 8.30 am our family went for a jog on the beach. After the run, 6 of us went into the ocean to jump in waves (our youngest stayed out of the water). We were jumping on the level ~ 1.2 meter deep when tide moved in. It was very fast and in a matter of seconds we were in deep water, unable to touch ground anymore. Moreover, when we started swimming back to the beach, waves and tide dragged us further back in the ocean. My wife and 9- year old got under the waves and started to drown. Our oldest boy took our 9-year old and worked out his way to the ground. I stayed behind with my other son as we tried to keep my wife afloat. Waves covered us every few seconds, I was unable to fully protect both my wife and myself and started to drown myself. Meanwhile my oldest son with 9 y.o. boy reached ground and was looking how to help us, BUT: 1. There were no lifesaving equipment on or nearby the beach 2. No one was around. No guards. Nobody Fortunately we all made it out. I do not know how, but it was rather miracle than anything else. Should I add that our vacation was completely ruined? --- I will gladly upgrade my rating when I hear that safety issues addressed
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 24, 2016
Hotel Clandestino is a hidden gem that is close enough to Manuel Antonio, but far enough from all the tourism in the area. Friendly and happy staff make your stay unforgettable
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

No recomendar

Posted Nov 16, 2016
Las habitaciones son muy lindas y el Hotel en general, yo no puse atención en las críticas en contra de la propietaria, y me hospedé ahí, lo peor que pude hacer en mis vacaciones. Es una persona nefasta, grosera, prepotente odiada por el pueblo de parrita y la gente que vive a los alrededores, en verdad arruino mis días en parrita. No recomiendo el hotel al rededor hay mejores y más económicos
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Perfect place to relax and and take in the beauty

Posted Oct 31, 2016
Location: Clandestino is perfectly situated between Manuel Antonio and Jaco. It is only a few hours from SJO. Quite and directly on the beach!
This was the perfect place for my husband and I to just sit and relax... Everything was perfect from the room, the pool, the beach just steps away, the food at the restaurant, to the warm and friendly staff. The rooms are situated so that you really feel your room and the resort is all yours. It is 'out of the way' so no distractions. The beach steps away is so peaceful and the best place to watch a sunset every night!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Torrance CA

Very close to the beach!

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Beautiful beach property. Very secluded and intimate location. We pretty much had the beach to ourselves. Food was great, piña colada is a must! Beautiful view and room was excellent
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Jose, CR

Very nice AND peaceful hotel!

Posted Sep 21, 2016
I visited the hotel with my wife and 3 years old boy. Really nice gardens and hotel location perfect for enjoy the sunset at the beach! The staff is extremely friendly!! I definitely will return to this hotel!! The only advise is bring insect repellent (it is normal because the area is full of water at this season)!!!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Jose, Costa Rica

Pretty little secluded hotel at beach front

Posted Sep 16, 2016
Pros: That not a lot of people goes there, so its very private. Its a perfect getaway, if you want to relax and have time for yourself and your spouse.
Cons: Shower floor, restocking the minibar, keep an eye for the items expiration dates.
Location: Lots of popular beaches at driving distances: Jaco, Manuel Antonio, Dominical, Ballena. Whales watching tours near those beaches.
Stayed for 3 nights in the king bed room just in front of the pool and next to the restaurant, but even so it was very quiet. The room was very spacious and clean, nice bed and forniture made with bamboo. Little mini bar but it wasn't restocked every night, some items where over its due date or very close to it, that was a low point. Also the shower, it has stones as walls and floor which is a very nice touch for the view but no so much for the feet, it wasn't all that bad but a smoother shower floor will be better. Single pool in the shape of a turtle, that was nice, it has different deeps so you can enjoy a swim but also sit in the shallow with a drink. The beach is very long, and very little people goes there so you can almost have all for yourself, stayed the entire second day on the beach and hardly see any other people near by. The food at the restaurant was great, the menu has plenty of options for a small hotel, even vegetarian ones. We saw the birth of sea turtles in a nest just in front of the hotel, that it was protected by the hotel staff, that was a very nice experience and congrats to the hotel owner and staff for taking care of the wild life. Once you left the highway, the road to the beach its a 2 to 3 km dirt road, nothing that you cant handle with a sedan, but its better if you go in a taller car.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Va Beach, VA

Posted Sep 6, 2016
Very nice place to stay off the beaten path. Portions of the resort seem to be getting dated. Beds hard and squeaky. Overall experience was positive. Would recommend to a friend.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from USA

Clandestino Beach Resort

Posted Aug 25, 2016
Pros: What did I like from this place. Hotel Staff / Facilities are very clean and the room is very comfortable. Other than that...no much to say
Cons: Other that meeting some cool staff and locals since I speak the language ...
The Clandestino Beach Resort is an excellent experience if the only thing you want to do is to relax and do nothing all day (bring lots of books). Definitely not a place for kids (boring). It is isolate from everything and cab service is very very expensive if you want to move anywhere outside the resort. So unless you rent a car and know you way around going outside the resort including the Tours it is going to cost you a small fortune ($50 each way). One thing for sure ..The Tours are over hype and very expensive. The Hotel include their commission in booking all tours ...We discovered that little secret from a friendly staff member. And BTW I was not impressed at all. The beach is rocky and high tides not good unless you are a surfer. Oh I forgot...Expedia does not include the transfer from / to the airport...Be ready to spend $400 round trip...yeap that is right ...that is the resort fee to provide transportation from and back to the airport.. Oh last but not least go to the Parrita which is the closest town and get your own wine. At the supermarket you will pay less for a bottle than what you will pay for a glass at the resort.. Food is also expensive..remember (not inclusive) only offer breakfast. Other than that meeting some cool staff and locals since I speak the language was nice ...WOULD I COME BACK..NOPE...Next year we are heading to CUBA..La Di Da
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Georgia

Not worth the price.

Posted Aug 20, 2016
Pros: Beach and the calm/relaxed atmosphere of the resort.
Cons: the prices should be reduced all around and improved insulation in the walls to provide better sound proofing and comfort for guests.
Location: Only come here for the beach. There is pretty much nothing else to do in the area because the resort in a good distance down a bumpy dirt road.
The beach was most definitely the high point of our stay at this resort. It was beautiful, private, and relaxing. But the hotel service was "OK", the food was average (a bit expensive for the quality in our opinion), and the hotel rooms have paper thin walls - making sleeping difficult when your neighbor is watching TV at night. Overall, it was a pleasant stay, but after the fantastic experiences we had at other hotels in the area (at much more reasonable prices) this one was disappointing.