Ratings based on 31 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Edward from Malta

Excellent

Posted Aug 5, 2016 on Hotels
We would definitely go there again.
3 out of 5
by Andrew from Iow

Hard place to find

Posted May 26, 2016 on Hotels
Took ages to get there as sat nav gave wrong direction ended up being shown the way by helpful local,.location was okay but the road leading down to the hotel is in poor condition.we found the room to be very dark and airless no window and could not get ac to work .shower is small .we did enjoy the meal we had in the restaurant
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from ISRAEL

The Hotel is unique .

Posted Apr 16, 2016
Pros: I Ilike the atmosphere and that the hotel is AGRITURISTICA type.
Cons: yes becouse it is a isolat farm. . need to add a map direction to the hotel
Location: to hike ' ride a horse .
The building are old but comfortable ,the hote is situated in a green and isulated area .the site is very nice and the view is beautiful. the breakfast and the super very good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sussex, UK

Second week of holiday

Posted Jul 7, 2015
Pros: We would like to say a big thank you to Eka and Mimo for a great holiday. We are still trying to loose weight after Mimo's cooking.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Located in the centre of Sicily most places are accesible, there are many activities on site or close by.
Having traveled in Sicily extensively the first week we needed a quite hotel for the second. What a gem Monaco di Mezzo was, Ok you have to take care when driving on the road to Monaco di Mezzo (as you do in all of Sicily) and the driveway to the hotel can be exciting but it is well worth it. Location, pool, activities, food, staff are all excellent. We didnt want to leave.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by lori from washington DC

wow!

Posted Sep 17, 2013
The nicest place we stayed! food was unbelieveable - cost was phenonemal - was tricky to locate so definately get your bearing before you try to find the place - well worth the tricky trip over the hills and down the dirt roads!!! will stay there again next year - did i mention how awesome the food was...
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CT

Just Fabulous

Posted Oct 13, 2011 on Hotels
Even though this is very difficult to get to - a really frightening road with high drop offs - it is still a 5. This is the place to go to in the middle of your trip and just rest for a couple of days before continuing on your journey. It is truly an agriturismo hotel with all foor coming right from the farm. I highly recommend this - it was the best meal of our three week vacation and also one of the best rooms.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ireland

A Most Happy Surprise

Posted Sep 17, 2009 on Hotels
Monaco di Mezzo falls under the category "agriturismo." It is worth a side trip: our most memorable meal in two weeks of Sicilian travel was served here. All info on their website is accurate. The food served could not be purer, fresher, nor more impeccably prepared. Bring your appetite, because at dinner the table d'hote menu just keeps rolling out. You needn't ask for another litre of wine, it will be replaced before you even finish the first. We were entirely blissed out; I would have liked to stay longer. It is a lovely and congenial place for both families and couples, and would be relaxing for singles as well. Very low key, but a haute kind of rural experience.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Oxford

How on earth did this hotel get four stars?

Posted May 6, 2009
Whilst we expected simplicity from an agriturismo resort we didn't expect spartan! As this was listed as a hotel (not self catering) and had 4 stars we anticipated a reasonable level of comfort and service. The room had no windows! the only way to get natural daylight was to leave the door open - not ideal if you happen to like privacy, other than that lighting was by rather low wattage bulbs. There were no toilettries in the bathroom other than a bottle of liquid soap on the basin, we had to go out and buy shampoo, shower gel etc. The shower was not a seperate cubical but at one end of the room which you had to drag an ill fitting screen across when taking a shower. This in no way prevented all the water leaking out and the whole bathroom would become flooded whenever one of us took a shower involving much mopping up with towels afterwards. Perhaps most surprising of all the rooms were not made up once during our stay! We couldn't believe it when we returned from a day out on the first day to find the bed unmade, bins not emptied, bathroom uncleaned (and full of wet towels!) There was no chambermaid service at all during our stay. This should at best be a 2 star resort and priced accordingly
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cheltenham

A small piece of Sicily

Posted Sep 29, 2008 on Hotels
If you want to see Sicily as it is then this is the right place, we loved it. the food was great. It is a long way out but with a car perfect for exploring as it is central. The staff were eager to please, nice warm people.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Hope you are hungry!!

Posted Sep 16, 2008 on Hotels
We decided to stay here for just two nights after staying in Palmero - looked just the ideal type of place to unwind after the madness of the city. We were right! The place is literally in the middle of nowhere! We had only booked B & B and so decided to upgrade to full board on our arrival. We were met by 4 courses of some of the most amazing home cooked food both lunch and dinner, one litre of wine and liquers! (Bang went the diet!) The staff didn't speak much English however this wasn't a problem. There was an amazing pool which we had (almost) exclusively to ourselves. Lovely big farmhouse bedroom with high ceilings and very comfortable bed. As it is physically based in the centre of the island recommended for sight seeing (1.5 hrs to Palermo and about the same to Taormina). Or if you just want to chill in the beautiful surroundings...... Highly recommended.