Ratings based on 169 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Montreal

Nice hotel closed to metro line 7

Posted Sep 25, 2017
Pros: Closed to the metro station in line 7
Cons: Supply of toiletteries could be improved
Location: Inside the 13 ARR . and easy access to Asian and Latin quarter with all the Chinese and Vietnamese restaurant and stores and place d'Italie .
Hotel facility and staff are OK except the supply of toiletteries need to improve .
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Far from expected

Posted Jul 13, 2017
When we arrived on Friday (3 people), the hotel receptionist provided us a room with air conditioning broken. After 5 hours we got a fan (temperatures above 35 C- 95 F inside the room) as a temporally solution. Wi-Fi didn't work either. By the end of the day they told us that maintenance don't provide any service/reparations during the weekend "including Friday". Around 3 am after many phone calls, the hotel provided an extra room (smaller) with AC to spend the rest of the nigh until they will finally solve the problems during the morning. The deal was to keep both rooms for the night because the second room was equipped for 2 persons only. However on Saturday new staff came and locked the access to my original room. After hours of back and forward we were definitely moved to the smaller room mentioned without any kind of compensation. Kitchen wasn't fully equipped either and general conditions weren't as shown in the website pictures. At the end I pay for a 3 persons room while I receive a 2 person room, and definitely we lost a lot of time dealing with the staff because they weren't able to provide a quick or good solution. I didn't move to another hotel because is July and everything was booked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from AZ

Disappointed

Posted Jun 30, 2017
I was quite disappointed with this hotel, even though the Expedia travelers recommend it. It was described with rooms with balcony, but instead I got room without balcony facing very, very noisy street. Matrass was uncomfortable. Facilities leaking and clogged. Internet was not working 90% of the time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Liverpool

Great hotel, but with a few hiccups

Posted Jan 26, 2016
Pros: Very good location, close to a metro station. Very friendly and helpful staff.
Cons: Air conditioning (i.e. heating in winter) does not work in room 4.05 - this is the first thing to sort out. Wi-fi and internet should be available.
Location: The hotel is off the beaten track and there is not much to do around, except for a area with good restaurants in immediate vicinity.
We stayed for three nights, the three of us, in a room on the 4th floor. This was like a small apartment, very nice, with a kitchenette and a large balcony (it is a shame that we were there in January). Overall a very good value for money, but .... Some problems were annoying. For example, the heating did not work - and, obviously, this is known to the staff, since immediately after complaining we were provided with an electric radiator. Wi-fi did not work in the room for most of the time, although it was fine down at the reception. And, as the case often is, there was not a single TV programme available in a language other than French, although numerous other TV channels appear to exist - but there was no reception (somebody forgot to pay the subscription fee, maybe?).
4 out of 5
by Alex from Houston

Posted Nov 26, 2015 on Hotels
The bedding and blankets were excellent - heavy quality. The heat seemed to go off after a few hours. So in the morning getting out of that bed was the most difficult thing in the world. The shower was also very nice and the facilities were nice kept and cleaned.
3 out of 5
by Viktoria

Nice hotel, but issues with customer care

Posted Sep 3, 2015 on Hotels
This was a nice little hotel with small rooms. We arrived before noon and were able to check in. The rooms are quite small but have everything needed including a kitchen with stove top and fridge, microwave, pots, utensils, plates, glasses, etc. We ended up moving into a bigger corner room with a large balcony. The bed was comfortable. Bedding, etc. felt clean. Overall the room could be cleaned more thouroughly, but it was OK. The only problem with this specific room was that the whole bathroom served as the shower... there was no door or curtain around the shower corner. This resulted in having to walk in water after we showered and wanted to use the sink or toilet. The smaller room we saw had a bathtub. Customer service was a mixed experience. We could check in early which was great and we were switched into the bigger room quickly. However, we were not informed about a problem with the antenna which could only be fixed by accessing it from our balcony. We were resting on the balcony when two men walked into our room as we had not heard them knocking. This uncomfortable situation could have been easily avoided by talking to us beforehand and informing us about what was going to happen. The repair men did not speak English and we did not know why they were there, yet they proceeded getting up on the roof. The neighborhood was ok. The metro station about 5 mins walk. There is also a food store right across from the hotel.
3 out of 5
by Deborah from London

Hotel Stay at Hotel Ambre

Posted Aug 17, 2015 on Hotels
A pleasant hotel but the service needs improvement. Some reception staff are rude and the rooms are not adequately cleaned. The staff at all levels need training.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Orange County, California

Nice hotel close to metro, Asian resto, banks etc

Posted Jun 1, 2015
Special thanks to Bekecan, Ali and Sofiel. Staff are helpful and friendly.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good for small groups of adults/family

Posted Apr 26, 2015 on Hotels
We booked a room for 3 adults for a few days and extended. The hotel itself is clean, just a little worn from use from prior stays. The staff speak English and were very accommodating. The free wifi was plentiful when we stayed. The kitchenette was wonderful, being able to cook your own meals cut costs. I suggest you book ahead of time, rooms fill up quickly during the start of peak seasons. We had a favorable fluke as the time we stayed here, it was sunny all day in late April. The room we occupied had access to an outdoor balcony space, it was very cozy. Very affordable compared to other options in the area. It's close to metro station Tolbiac on the 7 line. All the tourist attractions are within reach with a Navigo Decourte pass, which we got. Giving access to all 1-5 metro zones.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Fine for a couple of nights whilst at a conference

Posted Apr 9, 2015 on Hotels
Very helpful staff. Room was tiny and sheets were a little marked, but otherwise it was fine.