Ratings based on 1,834 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rockaway, New Jersey

Beautiful hotel Great service

Posted Sep 20, 2017
It was a great pleasure to stay in this beautiful cozy hotel. Great location, super great staff, amazing food. Evening entertainment mostly local. One of the best vacation I ever had ❤️
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Poor buffet

Posted Sep 18, 2017
I came here with my boyfriend for 5 nights. The hotel is beautiful. Staff is very friendly and on point. Beach is big beautiful and gorgeous. the only complaint I have is the food from the buffet. The quality was so poor. Out of the 5 restaurants there is not one plain chicken dish for me to eat since I do not eat meat or seafood forcing me to eat at the buffet every night. They need more chicken/vegetarian selections in the restaurants. If you are coming with your family or are an older couple this place is good for you. Do not come here if you're looking for a fun romantic getaway with your significant other. It was very relaxing but not the atmosphere a 25 and a 30 year old were looking to vacation at.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Kansas

Wonderful facilities and GREAT beach!!

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Cons: An adult only area, pool, night life?? We saw zero top-less at the beach or pool. Don't know if it's not allowed. So, the twins did not enjoy the sun!
Lived up to their great reviews! Beach was wonderful. Lots of chairs available and shade too! Great beach service. Pool was very nice, lots of chairs and shade was there if/when you wanted it. Pool service was fantastic too. Service through out the resort was great. Chili's Steakhouse was hands down the best steak we have had at any resort so far in our trips to Mexico. All other meals we ate at Don Manolo, the buffet, food was very good and lots of choices. Drinks were awesome and consistent from bar to bar. Sports bar was fun and great staff. Nightly show's weren't our thing though. Night time was a bit quiet at this resort. We will definitely come back to the Riu Palace Riviera Maya again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Orange County, CA

Very Nice Hotel Close to the Beach and Near Town

Posted Sep 11, 2017
Very nice hotel with direct beach access, swimming pools, jacuzzi and much more. Free of extra charges water sport activities (kayaking, windsurfing, catamarans and more) Excellent variety of delicious food and drinks. No time share activities/sales.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from DC

Nice hotel, perfect location but old.

Posted Sep 11, 2017
Pros: Their activities and fun group.
Cons: Rooms, lobby....all need to be upgraded.
Location: Location is great.
We had a great time but wish they would update their rooms. They are very old. The first few days room smelled so bad and we were told because they had used repellant next door! Their activities and staff, specially the fun group were great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Austin TX

Best on the Beach

Posted Sep 7, 2017
Pros: Mexican style, food excellent, cudos to the many staff in the kitchen. Buffet layout is spot on. Best animation team in Esteban and Omar!!!!
Cons: Update keep same style, add a couple of elevators between buildings.
Location: Location is perfect, best beaches, shopping, bikes, water sports local town all close by and walkable.
Very nice old style hotel. Has a great feel hope that they keep the style when the remodel happens. Everyone very attentive to what you need at all times. Weather change and it was handled perfectly. Did not cause any loss in our vacation. Will be back again and again, we are huge RIU fans for 15years!!!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from el paso, tx

nice all inclusive hotel

Posted Aug 30, 2017
Pros: food decoration service clean
Cons: mattresses and pillows very old and hard need to be updated Shower is very dangerous to get in/out and needs light inside
Location: lots of tours for every interest shopping, restaurants and bars at 5ta avenida
lots of eating, drinking and entertainment options
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beach was full of seed weed

Posted Aug 29, 2017
Horrible experience! The staff at this hotel are not helpful at all. We have lost our luggage nobody seems to care or to help us. Also Anyone traveling the Cancun airport be very careful DO NOT book any excursion thru a company name MY CANCUN EXPERIENCE. They are not reliable. They make it seem you are getting a super deal by booking thru them, you just have to go to a presentation and that's all you need. That's a lie you basically spent the whole day listening to a group of people forcing you to buy a Time Share..
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas

Great Place to Stay. Awesome Staff. Great Price!

Posted Aug 29, 2017
This is my third time to stay here. It's just wonderful. Great food, Great staff, Great Price, Great Beach.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 28, 2017
Trip of a lifetime!! Amazing beach, amazing pools, amazing food, amazing shows, amazing people!