Ratings based on 154 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Better than expected

Posted Jan 16, 2017
Two Victorian homes connected by a large corridor. Suite we were given was bright and much larger than expected - separate sitting room, bath and bedroom. Clean, nicely furnished; for the price, this hotel is a real treat. Staff friendly and helpful. Short walk to beach. If hot breakfast were offered with the room, I'd call it a B&B and at these rates, give it 5 stars as a terrific value for a beach B&B. 4 stars for the same is still a "highly recommended".
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 28, 2016 on Hotels
Staff was very helpful and friendly. Spring Lake is great this time of year, very little traffic and great places to eat.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Sorta half hotel, half Bed and Breakfast

Posted Nov 11, 2016 on Hotels
People were very nice, facilities very nice, attached restaurant was amazing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brentwood, UK

Very relaxing place to stay

Posted Nov 2, 2016
Pros: Comfortable room (#24) in a great location. Very relaxing place to stay. Cathy was always on hand if you needed anything.
Cons: Forced to comment by expedia so all I can say is would have preferred not to have plastic plates and cutlery with the free breakfast, which I enjoyed all the same.
Location: Close to the shore with shops and restaurants not too far away. Excellent "Whispers" restaurant in house.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Hidden Gem

Posted Oct 22, 2016
Location: All about beautiful Spring Lake!
Hotel staff very friendly and helpful, room suite was very comfortable and roomy, and the entire property was enjoyable - from sitting on wrap around lemonade porch in the morning with coffee and paper, to reading a great book in the huge apartment, to being close to downtown and beach, it was the perfect choice!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Beautiful setting across from the lake

Posted Oct 20, 2016
Pros: Located across from a beautiful lake and only a block from the beach, you could also walk into the center of the quaint town. It was just lovely.
From the moment we were greeted we could tell we were going to have a wonderful experience.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 13, 2016 on Hotels
This is a wonderful, authentic example of a classic inn with helpful staff and lovely rooms
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from PA

Last minute quick getaway

Posted Aug 16, 2016
Pros: Location, staff
Cons: Variety of selection at breakfast
Location: beach, restaurants but have to drive to those
Looking for a comfortable, conveniently located place, close to the beach and the Wellington was perfect. Last minute booking so only one room left. Great price, included beach badges and continental breakfast. Easy walk to the beach, very accommodating staff: definitely would return.
4 out of 5
by Jeryl-Ann from North Jersey

A Lovely, Clean Inn, Centrally Located!

Posted Aug 13, 2016 on Hotels
We would stay again. The room was small, but with a big bathroom. The lovely Inn is kept up well, but an older Victoria-style home -- like an oversized B&B. Very clean. Breakfast was sufficient, but it is touted as a European style continental breakfast. I have dined at many European B&Bs, and the continental breakfasts there include cheeses & meats. This breakfast included yogurt, fresh fruit, bread choices & pastries. Not as expected but sufficient and held in a nice room. We did not receive any maid service while we were there, but maybe that is their policy for a two night stay. If we had asked for something, we would have received it. Beach badges and towels were included. There is a great private pool for only Inn guests! Loved it. The Inn is centrally located, about 2 blocks from the beach and a 2/3 mile walk to town on a gorgeous block. There is plenty to do in the area as it is near Manasquan, outlet shopping, Point Pleasant, etc. Many excellent restaurants in the area. Front desk service was fine, but there was a negative discussion at the front desk, in front of my husband and a couple of other guests, about "bennies" (those visiting the shore for the weekend, but not raised at the shore) and day-trippers which was not very complementary. I am from the shore area, and my husband is a "bennie," so we get it, but it is not nice to hear as the Inn's income is coming from us! Certainly was not something that would prevent us from returning.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Upstate NY

Quaint hotel, right by the beach.

Posted Aug 6, 2016 on Orbitz
This hotel only has about 19 rooms. All of them are different. To spite being buit in the late 1800s it's in very nice condition and less than 1/4 mile from the beach.