Ratings based on 150 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Brentwood, UK

Very relaxing place to stay

Posted Nov 2, 2016
Pros: Comfortable room (#24) in a great location. Very relaxing place to stay. Cathy was always on hand if you needed anything.
Cons: Forced to comment by expedia so all I can say is would have preferred not to have plastic plates and cutlery with the free breakfast, which I enjoyed all the same.
Location: Close to the shore with shops and restaurants not too far away. Excellent "Whispers" restaurant in house.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Hidden Gem

Posted Oct 22, 2016
Location: All about beautiful Spring Lake!
Hotel staff very friendly and helpful, room suite was very comfortable and roomy, and the entire property was enjoyable - from sitting on wrap around lemonade porch in the morning with coffee and paper, to reading a great book in the huge apartment, to being close to downtown and beach, it was the perfect choice!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Beautiful setting across from the lake

Posted Oct 20, 2016
Pros: Located across from a beautiful lake and only a block from the beach, you could also walk into the center of the quaint town. It was just lovely.
From the moment we were greeted we could tell we were going to have a wonderful experience.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from PA

Last minute quick getaway

Posted Aug 16, 2016
Pros: Location, staff
Cons: Variety of selection at breakfast
Location: beach, restaurants but have to drive to those
Looking for a comfortable, conveniently located place, close to the beach and the Wellington was perfect. Last minute booking so only one room left. Great price, included beach badges and continental breakfast. Easy walk to the beach, very accommodating staff: definitely would return.
4 out of 5
by Jeryl-Ann from North Jersey

A Lovely, Clean Inn, Centrally Located!

Posted Aug 13, 2016 on Hotels
We would stay again. The room was small, but with a big bathroom. The lovely Inn is kept up well, but an older Victoria-style home -- like an oversized B&B. Very clean. Breakfast was sufficient, but it is touted as a European style continental breakfast. I have dined at many European B&Bs, and the continental breakfasts there include cheeses & meats. This breakfast included yogurt, fresh fruit, bread choices & pastries. Not as expected but sufficient and held in a nice room. We did not receive any maid service while we were there, but maybe that is their policy for a two night stay. If we had asked for something, we would have received it. Beach badges and towels were included. There is a great private pool for only Inn guests! Loved it. The Inn is centrally located, about 2 blocks from the beach and a 2/3 mile walk to town on a gorgeous block. There is plenty to do in the area as it is near Manasquan, outlet shopping, Point Pleasant, etc. Many excellent restaurants in the area. Front desk service was fine, but there was a negative discussion at the front desk, in front of my husband and a couple of other guests, about "bennies" (those visiting the shore for the weekend, but not raised at the shore) and day-trippers which was not very complementary. I am from the shore area, and my husband is a "bennie," so we get it, but it is not nice to hear as the Inn's income is coming from us! Certainly was not something that would prevent us from returning.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Upstate NY

Quaint hotel, right by the beach.

Posted Aug 6, 2016 on Orbitz
This hotel only has about 19 rooms. All of them are different. To spite being buit in the late 1800s it's in very nice condition and less than 1/4 mile from the beach.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

We loved the porch and the very clean pool.

Posted Jul 30, 2016
Pros: The room and pool.
Location: Location was close to beach, shops, and a beautiful Ice cream parlor.
We really enjoyed the peace and quite. The Beach was close by and the hotel provided Badges. The staff were very friendly.
5 out of 5
by Diane from Poughkeepsie, NY

Wonderful mini vacation

Posted Jul 23, 2016 on Hotels
We had a delightful stay at the Hewitt Wellington for three nights. The manager and staff could not have been kinder or more accommodating. In fact, they were able to check us in early on the date of our arrival, including the use of beach passes. I liked that the cost included beach passes and continental breakfast, which was standard fare. The location was wonderful with a view of Spring Lake. It was a convenient location, very close to the ocean and to town. Everyone, including other guests were friendly. We would stay here again.
5 out of 5
by Theodore from Milwaukee, WI

Posted Jun 3, 2016 on Hotels
Perfect place for a quiet, relaxing getaway. It is tucked inside a residential neighborhood that makes you feel like you are not staying in a hotel. Whether you are traveling for work, in my case, or with your significant other, it is a great place to stay. I stayed here for two weeks on a business trip and it was so much better than a chain hotel. The Wellington is just blocks from the boardwalk and the ocean to help relax after work, and it's just a few miles from amazing restaurants and Whole Foods. The staff is amazing and are always at your service.
4 out of 5
by Torsten from Denmark

Almost perfect - almost.

Posted May 21, 2016 on Hotels
everything was good - except the fact, that we booked it because of the lovely balconies - which our room did not have. The manager did not seem to be interested to fill our expectations. Breakfast was mediocre, as you'd expect from an american hotel.