Ratings based on 1,733 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Portland, United States of America

Downtown close to everything

Posted Dec 1, 2016
Pros: Everything aside from two incidents already highlighted.
Cons: Employ bar staff who smile and housekeeping staff who don't barge into your room unannounced.
Location: Hotel downtown and close to everything.
Stayed in one of the suites Thanksgiving. Lovely hotel in a magnificent old building with very large well appointed suites. The gripe? Staff. Both bartenders were miserable as sin - unsmiling, surly and just plain not happy to be there. Yes, it was Thanksgiving, and maybe they weren't thrilled to work, but at that point maybe it's time to get a job in a bank or post office where Thanksgiving is a holiday and you don't have to work. Last and by no means least, mid morning before check out time, there was a knock at the door immediately followed about a second later with the door opening and the maid waltzing in. How this kind of brazen intrusion/invasion of privacy in a 4* star hotel with paying guests is acceptable is a mystery. My teenage daughter had exited the shower only minutes before. And to cap it all, we had the Do Not Disturb sign on the door. I will be taking this up directly with the hotel as well as submitting this review. I cannot stress enough that everything else about the hotel was excellent, but the above incident was appalling. A shame such rudimentary basics ruin such an otherwise fine hotel.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

nice pause

Posted Dec 1, 2016
Relaxing stay , good restaurants in the area. Would redecorate the breakfast area.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Close to downtown and waterfront

Posted Nov 28, 2016
Pros: It has a great happy hour from 5:30-7:30 (Monday - Friday). And probably the best breakfast we have had included at the hotel.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Great location near Voodoo Donuts, Saturday Market and close to great restaurants.
We Had a fun family time and it was close to many activities
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Wonderful, historic hotel!

Posted Nov 14, 2016
Pros: Beautiful hotel, well-situated, and very comfortable.
Cons: Parking is very expensive.
Location: A block and a half to Voodoo Donuts. Easy access to MAX for travelling around town.
Fabulously fun pool. Excellent breakfast. Really courteous and helpful staff. Clean, well-appointed rooms.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excellent location for us tourists!

Posted Nov 14, 2016
Pros: Location, service/staff, complimentary breakfast
Cons: Sofa beds were not very comfortable. I sort of expected it, but the double kings were not available.
Location: Voodoo donuts, concerts at roseland theater, shopping
We had 2 king suites for 7 of us (4 Adults & 3 kids). Would have preferred double kings but they were sold out. They did give uadjoining rooms which was fun. Complimentary breakfast was great.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

the pool area is not a pleasant experience

Posted Oct 29, 2016
Pros: staff and the free breakfast was great for the 5 kids I had with me
Cons: pool area needs a remodel, the wifi was not working, the rooms are darly decorated...
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from So Cal

Beautiful and Classy Hotel

Posted Oct 24, 2016
Pros: The view from my room on the 8th floor was beautiful.
Cons: I truly had no complaints
Location: It's in the heart of downtown. Lots of good places to eat, and cool sites to check out, all within walking distance.
The hotel and its rooms are clean and spacious, with ornate decor, and modern amenities. I stayed on a busy weekend, yet it never felt crowded in the hotel. The staff were polite and attentative. The breakfast buffet was excellent! A very large dining area, plenty of choices, and the food was delicious. For staying in the heart of downtown, the price was below average, yet the hotel met or exceeded my expectations.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

great location - friendly staff - free drinks

Posted Oct 24, 2016
Pros: They assisted upgrading me from a single king room to a double queen upon my arrival. breakfast every morning was outstanding.
Cons: Was under the impression that parking was included - even validated my card from the garage - upon check out I receive an invoice for $96 for three nights of parking. Was told that since I booked through a third party I would have to pay for parking. Was frustrating & unclear policy
Location: Everything is walkable or easy public transportation
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Only here for a night

Posted Oct 23, 2016
Pros: The breakfast, the beauty of the lobby, the amount of space in my room!
Cons: The hotel was nice for a one night stay.
Location: French restaurant near by was great! Many things within walking distance but be aware not to go behind the hotel-shaky!!!
I found the hotel beautiful, room very comfortable, clean, and breakfast great! The parking was overpriced but I you are able to find a spot on the street for free. The area is a bit shaky so make sure you find out what parts to walk on.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Oregon

Great Amenities!

Posted Oct 23, 2016
Pros: We liked the location, the cleanliness, the room size and configuration, the comfortable bedding and the quite lobby.
Cons: Wi-fi and bottled water should be included in the amenities.
Location: There are dozens of restaurants, bars and Portland points of interest within walking distance. Waterfront park and the Portland Saturday Market too.
We purchased our rooms through Expedia, so we got a discount. We felt that the price was right for the downtown location and amazing amenities. The rooms were huge and very comfortable. The hotel was quiet and within walking distance of either public transportation or many points of interest. We probably could have done without a car. Tons of affordable restaurants near by too. The daily free breakfast and free Happy Hour reception was amazing - good food, lots of variety and endless supply. Our only curiosity was the lack of free wi-fi. In this day and age and, considering the price of the hotel, it made no sense to us that we had to pay quite a bit, on a daily basis for wi-fi. That would be something we would encourage the hotel to provide.