Ratings based on 2,220 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel!

Posted Jun 28, 2017
Pros: close to river.
Cons: The only improvement I recommend is a metal safe in every room. I had to carry my laptop and valuables with me the whole stay.
Staff was friendly and hotel was clean. I enjoyed the free room upgrade and complimentary valet parking because of Expedia VIP. I definitely recommend this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Room by the river

Posted Jun 27, 2017
The place was great- very reasonable for the price. People were nice. Krystal in the restaurant was wonderful.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington state

Not clean & mini bar bill from housekeeper.

Posted Jun 11, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: As above
Location: Business centers, training center
We stayed in this hotel from 06/01/17 and checked out in am on 06/05/17. After a week I checked on my credit card statement and I was charged 120$ for 4 nights of valet parking which I agree and understand for this payment. I also got the receipt from the hotel when I checked out and I was aware that I will be charged 120$ for valet parking besides the payment for the room which I have already paid on booking. However, there is another charge 4.60$ which is very small amount but I do not know what is this charge for so I called back to the hotel on 06/10/17 and spoke with the supervisor at the front desk. He informed me that it was from the housekeeper who checked that we took some juice from the bar. However we have not taken anything from the bar at all because we ate outside the hotel and bought water and drinks from outside.....We do not care about the money but this situation hurt our feelings. We do not expect this experience from the expensive hotel. The room is also not clean. We found a lot of small hairs as male hairs on the pillow cases, bed sheets, blankets and on carpet. It seemed like there was no vacuum, and the pillow cases, bed sheets and the blankets were not changed after the previous guests had checked out. We have to notify the front desk to inform the housekeeper to come to clean. We expect better quality with the price we paid. We hope the hotel will fix the department that causes the problem and it will bring more satisfaction.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC.

Nice Hotel & Spa GREAT Service.

Posted Jun 6, 2017
Pros: The staff, the hotel, the room and the Spa were all great!
Cons: The restaurant was needlessly overpriced and the food was lacking. All the things you detest in a Hotel Restaurant they should rethink the restaurant!
Location: Right on the river and a short walk to the streetcar system which gives you great access to the city at large! In the city and not, at one time!
We can't say enough good things about the Hotel or the Spa. We really enjoyed our stay and will be back. The only misstep if you want to call it that was the car service they offered to drop you downtown and it's as much our mistake as theirs. We decided we wanted to be run into town at about 4:30 on Thursday and were told the car had finished service for the evening. Which seemed odd seeing how it was the dinner hour, it was a let down because we're not told, but it was also partially our fault because we decided at the last minute. I rate this as a 50/50 issue and it does not reflect badly on the property as far as I am concerned because there were plenty of other options. I would not recommend the resturant. In a City with plenty of Great Food this place was very expensive and not impressive. You can and should easily find better dining options.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

So close, still so quiet

Posted May 30, 2017
location, cleanliness, personnel, all superb. Top notch!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seatlle

Will come back

Posted May 30, 2017
Pros: View, room comfort, relaxed environment
Cons: $4 for the tiny water bottle at the mini bar or the candy? Does anyone actually go for that? Also, the staff need to be more thorough!
Location: Not exactly in the heart of city but it's close to everything if you're driving. There seems to be a trail that may have river views, worth checking.
The hotel has a minimalist feel to it but in a good way. Comfortable and relaxing. The riverside view we had was beautiful. We did arrive to a room that hadn't been turned down, but were happy that the apology included a free upgrade (thus we got the view!) and a waived parking fee. The reason I'm not giving it a 5 is that our shower dispenser was out of body wash, which was unpleasant. I mentioned it upon checkout but got what I would equate to a shrug. I expected an apology but I guess I would have had to complain instead of saying it in passing? I'm willing to overlook that, however, because the rest of the stay was pleasant and we liked the hotel. So plan to be back — but next time we'll take advantage of the spa!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Whidbey Islamd, WA

Convenient and Comfortable

Posted May 28, 2017
Pros: Location. Staff. comfortable quiet environment.
Cons: Attention to reservation details
Location: Close to city center, rose & Japanese gardens biking and walking paths. Close to City Center activities.
Great hotel with access to medical facilities & city center. Quiet, lovely paths along the river, Excellent on site restaurant.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great weekend getaway

Posted May 24, 2017
I really enjoy my staying here. The staffs are courteous and professional. The spa was awesome and I really appreciated the 15% discount that I received before checking in. The whole experience was very pleasant. I saw many couples and families during my stay there, so I think this could be a perfect solution for a family weekend getaway.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Veneta, OR

Good Value

Posted May 23, 2017
Pros: Location
Location: Nice restaurant close by, and on the river with a nice riverwalk too.
Wonderful staff, great gym, and nice size bathroom. If you have a chance, stay on the river side...so nice!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Nice boutique hotel in Portland

Posted May 22, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Bed
Location: Walking trail
We stayed at River's Edge for one night at the request of my husband. He stayed there almost a week in the past for business and really enjoyed it. this stay was just ok. Get a room with a view of the river other wise it's not worth it. Ours was right over the entrance so we could hear all the cars pulling in. Also the king bed clearly had a huge lump down the middle which made you feel like you were sinking when off to the side. the room was beautiful and large with a nice living room area. The valet was super helpful when we asked for places to go around Portland.