Ratings based on 1,948 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not near downtown

Posted Jul 14, 2016
The hotel needs an upgrade! For example, the duvet/bedspread had spots on it. There was a berry/wine stain on the carpet, and marks on the floor in the bathroom. The upside was the hotel staff was awesome. It was very quiet in our area of the hotel. The hotel offers a workout area and spa. The property is near the Willamette River and there is a walking path along its banks. This hotel is within a five block radius of a street car to get around town, but the street car drops you off 4-5 blocks away from central downtown. We bought a $5 pass/ticket which covered all day travel on buses, light rail, and street cars.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

grear location and friendly staff

Posted Jul 12, 2016
Great room, staff was very friendly and helpful. Just a great place to stay
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Modern hotel on river's edge.

Posted Jul 12, 2016
I have stayed at The River's Edge before it is a very nice modern Creamery great staff, great amenities
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very relaxing hotel.

Posted Jul 9, 2016
Excellent comfortable hotel. Great staff. Very clean and quiet.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Diego, CA

Nice location near river.

Posted Jul 3, 2016
Pros: Location near river and easy access to river walk.
The rooms were comfortable and nice, but too expensive for the amenities included in the room rate. The only parking option is valet parking. Staff was courteous and very helpful. We stayed three nights but the linen was never changed or room cleaned up during our stay.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice view of river

Posted Jul 2, 2016
Great stay. Had a fun time. Nice view of river. Spa was very nice. Definitely helped with hang overs.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ny

Hotel/spa in need of a refresh itself

Posted Jul 1, 2016
Like people hotels need a vacation --and it is probably time for one for this place. While the facility is modern it needs a major renovation. The carpets are clearly worn and dirty, walls show a lot of dings and damages and it just does not feel fresh or clean. Staff needs better training as it seemed I knew more about Portland than the locals. The hotel is remote so you will definitely need a car if you want to go anywhere. The rooms face a hill or the willamette river. Facing the river is a must. The hill is full of industrial buildings and is ugly to look at it. There is a restaurant on site which is ok but not for every meal . The facility has hope--like all of us, it just needs a little r and r to get back on track.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Stay in downtown Portland, Oregon

Posted Jun 27, 2016
Pros: Quiet location with easy access to I5 and I84. The close proximity of a walking trail on the hotel property afforded us the chance to take a walk.
Cons: Access to some kind of early morning breakfast or pastries or some form of nutrition so that the guest does not have to start the day with only coffee
Location: Downtown Portland, Oregon is easily reachable by foot on the improved walking trail that runs along the lake.
Stayed overnight on our way to Yellowstone National Park. Be prepared to pay $25.00 for parking. You cannot park yourself and you must use valet parking. The attached Aquariva restaurant was acceptable. I ordered the grilled octopus appetizer and it was weird. I do not know what "flavor" the chef was aiming for, but at least the octopus was grilled properly. The slices of bread were good. The draft beer was disappointing. My first selection was not available, something about the tap was out of order?? The hotel and restaurant is really hung up on words and names quickly rattled off in way of requested descriptions of foods and services. In all a nice overnight stay.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Concord, CA

Quite relaxing location.

Posted Jun 23, 2016
Pros: It is quiet. Right on the river no street noise at all. Meals at the restaurant were great especially enjoyed dinning outside. Staff was wonderful.
Cons: Making and confirming reservations was a challenge. Once we got the right person on the phone everything was worked out quickly.
Location: We picked this location because it was inclusive-no reason to leave the property once you arrive.
Highly recommended if you are staying in Portland. Relaxing quiet, close to down town but restraunt was great.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 22, 2016
Cons: Noise
This hotel has unfortunate noise problems. s;oefibheo;arigheoarigeorgyoiaergerio