Ratings based on 1,016 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 10, 2017
Pros: The view
Beautiful view and close to town. I would stay here again. The hotel staff was accommodating and we enjoyed the stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from TW

Information discrepancy

Posted May 8, 2017
While we arrived @ hotel, we were told by Mercure staff that only one room reserved. It took about 15mins waiting to overcome such issue. Their staffs were friendly but we felt uncomfortable about such waiting
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great views!

Posted May 2, 2017
The hotel has amazing views of the lake! Clean, good breakfast, nice size rooms.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NZ

Posted Apr 22, 2017
We will definitely be staying here again. The room was clean and comfortable and the staff were friendly and helpful. The view is amazing and the food is pretty good too.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Superior room ????

Posted Apr 21, 2017
Pros: View and comfortable bed
Cons: Clean your carpets or even better replace them with something that doesn't look like it belongs in a backpackers
Location: Good position
After checking into a superior room we asked to be moved as carpet was disgusting and next to laundry.Next room showed was exactly the same.Third room slightly better but could only have it for 1 night not too.All rooms smelt slightly mould.Cancelled second night booking and moved elsewhere. Bed comfortable ,view great , shower mouldy. Facilities average.No parking available in hotel carpark so forced to park in the street.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 12, 2017
Very nice hotel. Great view of lake. Too far to wdlk to the heart of queenstown
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Pretentious, overpriced

Posted Apr 10, 2017
Pros: The view, if you get to see it
They charge you left and right (ex: 2% surcharge on credit cards, Internet is not free). The hotel is up a long and steep hill so its really hard to get to the lovely downtown from the hotel. The pool is small.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

exceptional

Posted Apr 8, 2017
Amazing views from our room. Super comfortable beds. Great food in restaurant. Friendly service . Couldn't have asked for more. thankyou
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Great views, but..

Posted Apr 6, 2017
Pros: Great views, bus to city center
Cons: Miscommunication on rooms types via hotel staff and internet causing frustrations
We chose a better room, because we wanted to have a good view, but we had a feeling that hotel went out of good view rooms and decided, that we would not notice a difference. When we told them about our concerns, a lady that checked us in told us, that this better room actually means, that it was refurbished. Well, this is not what we were looking for, we wanted good views as a picture and description on a web-site showed us! Thanks to management we were placed to better room the next day, and after that things got better. We were lucky that we got 3 nights booking and still enjoyed a really nice view from a room that we initially ordered. Overall rooms were good and stuff was quite friendly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Fantastic views at breakfast

Posted Mar 28, 2017
Pros: Comfortable bed
Cons: quieter lifts
Location: It's Queenstown, there are many many things you can do
The most comfortable bed I stayed in on my whole trip in NZ. The only issues I had with the room was that we were next to the lift, which was quite noisy, and there weren't very many powerpoints in the room (which is something you need when both of you use CPAP machines at night). The view at breakfast was absolutely stunning, the staff were all lovely, and all in all, apart from the noise, I am sad that we didn't organise to stay longer.