Ratings based on 160 Verified Reviews

4.9 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from S

Best service ever! So accommodating and friendly.

Posted Feb 7, 2017
Best service ever! So accommodating and friendly. Room was peaceful with beach view/access. Will return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Keene NY

Beautiful hotel and grounds, 2 beaches

Posted Feb 3, 2017
Pros: The grounds are especially nice. Golf carts make getting around the hilly property a joy. Get up, have coffee, and go on an early bird walk.
Cons: We had a 'garden room' that was somewhat below ground level, sub-garden if you will. We regretted that. The A/C unit blew directly onto the bed.
Location: A hilly secluded location with two beaches. Great birds and animals. Skip Manuel Antonio Park (too crowded) and arrange to visit other areas nearby.
This is a very nice hotel. One beach has a toes-in-the-sand restaurant. Two pools, fairly small. A spa. Nice friendly staff willing and able to organize all sorts of outings. Try the morning or evening bird walks on the property. The place is a nice size, large enough to have all the services, small enough to be friendly. The beach restaurant is delightful. Always open for lunch, 2x/week for breakfast and sometimes for dinner. The beaches offered nice wave swimming. It was too rough when the tide was coming in but otherwise it was great fun. The water is warm, around 84 degrees. There are still-water beaches nearby too.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful resort with a private beach

Posted Feb 3, 2017
We had the best experience here! We did go into "town" for several meals because the menu of resort dining options got old, but we loved every minute of our stay. The staff was very accommodating and wonderful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Orleans

Was only going to stay 1 night

Posted Jan 29, 2017
Pros: great location, the hotel staff, and the overall appearance.
Cons: I cannot think of one thing
Location: The usual. Restaurants, bars, and a casino all nearby.
We initially only booked 1 night at this hotel. We just wanted to make it from San José to the cost, but we ended up sleeping in and extending our checkout time (twice). So around 3pm, we asked if we could reserve a room for a few more nights. This is where it becomes truly fascinating! Oh, let me back up. Sure, our initial room was great. The room was big, nice fluffy bed, huge shower, near the beach, nice views... Really, a great room. When we booked the additional nights, they not only gave us a discounted price, but also, put us in a suite! The ENTIRE staff went out of their way to really cater to our every want and need. The staff would make offers and anticipate our needs before we could even ask! truly amazing!!! I want to apologize for the delay in writing this review and the fact that I can no longer remember anyones name except for Robin (like Robin hood). Thanks you Robin (and all) for making our stay so extremely enjoyable! and of course, the suite was absolutely amazing, overlooking the pool, beach, and ocean!!!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Unique boutique hotel with top notch service

Posted Sep 11, 2016 on Hotels
We arrived at arenas del Mar late in the evening and the first impression in the dark does not do the hotel justice. The place is amazing! You are on top of a hill at this beautiful resort with access to 2 beaches (not typical for the area). The stay was made even better by the outstanding customer service by all the staff. Wonderful experience! Highly recommend this beautiful, interesting boutique hotel!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Newport, RI

Amazing stay

Posted Sep 9, 2016 on Hotels
The staff are amazing and went the extra mile in all that they did! Exceptional training and warm, gracious people! We loved everything about this hotel and will go back!!! Best resorts ever category!!!!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Denver, CO

Wonderful beach side hotel with exceptional servic

Posted Sep 5, 2016
Pros: The service was outstanding. We enjoyed talking with all the employees as they were so kind and helpful.
Cons: We think they did a fabulous job. We did encounter a few ants in our bathroom, but they were gone the next day.
Location: Manual Antonio National Park is a must see. We encountered a group of playful monkeys in the trees near the water fall on a separate trail. Awesome!
We spent 3 wonderful nights of our honeymoon at this fabulous hotel. We loved everything about this hotel. The location is right on the beach and the buildings are separated by lovely rain forest areas teaming with wildlife. We saw moneys playing in the trees each day, iguanas wondering around, sloths and other critters living in and around the property. It was amazing to experience. The beaches were uncrowded and beautiful. All the staff at this hotel went out of their way to make sure our stay was without a worry and relaxing. One of the owners was even kind enough to introduce himself and inform us of the amenities of the property and ask if these was anything he could do to enhance our stay. The food at both restaurants was excellant and our room was even better than we expected. We stayed a day longer than we had originally planned and were sad when we finally had to leave. We can't wait to go back, even if it won't be soon we will go back to this hotel. Two of the employees were kind enough to take us to see a slough as my wife really wanted to see one. Jose and Leonardo found one that we could view from about 8 feet away. It really mad my wife's stay complete.
2 out of 5
by joseph from Staten Island ny

Posted Sep 2, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel was not what the website advertised. Don't be fooled by the pictures they have posted.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from California

Honeymoon Dream

Posted Apr 27, 2016
Pros: Everything!
Location: The resort is secluded but you can taxi to a downtown area with some shopping. There's also a restaurant (we didn't try) that has a plane in it!
My husband and I stayed at Arenas del Mar for our honeymoon and couldn't have been happier with our stay. The room was beautiful and spacious, the location directly in the rainforest AND on the beach was unreal, & the staff was incredibly accommodating! The staff helped us book all of our excursions, we did a guided tour of the national park through them, and we did the tortilla making class on site; it was all so much fun! One thing I really loved about the resort was how knowledgeable and respectful they were of the animals and rainforest. We learned a lot about the animals we saw outside of our room and in the lobby area. The food was out of this world delicious. All of the fruit and drinks were so fresh and just exactly as you would imagine for Costa Rica. Our favorite drink was the Monkey Business. We even tried to recreate it and some of our favorite dishes when we got home. A few memorable parts of our trip worth mentioning: In the middle of our first night there I woke up to a loud noise. There was clearly an animal in our room and I started freaking out. My husband didn't believe me and didn't see anything until he heard it himself. It sounded like a monkey to me but turned out to be a tiny gecko! You'll see them all over. One night it poured down rain (in July), which kind of sucked, but it made the most beautiful lightning storm. We watched from the lobby as it lit up the whole sky.’ The private dinner is incredibly romantic. Do it!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rochester, New York

Amazing Romantic Getaway

Posted Mar 27, 2016
Pros: The beaches, the views, the pools, the hotel staff, the restaurants, the location, the room accommodations, the monkeys, yes, monkeys!
Cons: This play is idyllic. Nothing needs to be improved.
Location: The location is next to a National park and the grounds are tropical. You can fish, snorkel, scuba dive, parasail, zip line, horseback riding.
This resort is one of the best kept secrets for that very special romantic getaway. Arena's deal Mar is located in a rainforest with two fabulous beaches on the property. The grounds are beautiful and picture post card views are visible as soon as you enter the lobby. The ocean views are stunning! The property is somewhat steep to walk but the staff picks you up in golf carts wherever you are on the grounds. There is wildlife everywhere (monkeys, iguanas, sloths) but the property is very safe. Excellent security, water is double filtered, and the property is eco friendly. No chlorine in the pools, they use ionization. Also use solar panels on property. The property is next to the National Park ranked among the 12 best in the world by Forbes magazine. The entire experience is amazing. Staff is super friendly and the food at the restaurants was top shelf. This is a getaway unlike any place we have traveled to. Highly Recommend for a special romantic getaway. https://www.tripadvisor.com/ShowUserReviews-g309274-d673363-r357950545-Arenas_del_Mar_Beachfront_and_Rainforest_Resort_Manuel_Antonio_Costa_Rica-Manuel_.html#