Ratings based on 152 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.9 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Denver, CO

Wonderful beach side hotel with exceptional servic

Posted Sep 5, 2016
Pros: The service was outstanding. We enjoyed talking with all the employees as they were so kind and helpful.
Cons: We think they did a fabulous job. We did encounter a few ants in our bathroom, but they were gone the next day.
Location: Manual Antonio National Park is a must see. We encountered a group of playful monkeys in the trees near the water fall on a separate trail. Awesome!
We spent 3 wonderful nights of our honeymoon at this fabulous hotel. We loved everything about this hotel. The location is right on the beach and the buildings are separated by lovely rain forest areas teaming with wildlife. We saw moneys playing in the trees each day, iguanas wondering around, sloths and other critters living in and around the property. It was amazing to experience. The beaches were uncrowded and beautiful. All the staff at this hotel went out of their way to make sure our stay was without a worry and relaxing. One of the owners was even kind enough to introduce himself and inform us of the amenities of the property and ask if these was anything he could do to enhance our stay. The food at both restaurants was excellant and our room was even better than we expected. We stayed a day longer than we had originally planned and were sad when we finally had to leave. We can't wait to go back, even if it won't be soon we will go back to this hotel. Two of the employees were kind enough to take us to see a slough as my wife really wanted to see one. Jose and Leonardo found one that we could view from about 8 feet away. It really mad my wife's stay complete.
2 out of 5
by joseph from Staten Island ny

Posted Sep 2, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel was not what the website advertised. Don't be fooled by the pictures they have posted.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Heredia, Costa Rica.

Tranquilo; acceso fácil a la playa, calidad comida

Posted Jul 26, 2016
El personal es atento, cordial y siempre ayuda. Servicios rápidos y eficientes. Paisaje, vistas y mezcla naturaleza -mar -fauna. Increíble. Descansamos y disfrutamos mi esposa y Yo.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Honeymoon Dream

Posted Apr 27, 2016
Pros: Everything!
Location: The resort is secluded but you can taxi to a downtown area with some shopping. There's also a restaurant (we didn't try) that has a plane in it!
My husband and I stayed at Arenas del Mar for our honeymoon and couldn't have been happier with our stay. The room was beautiful and spacious, the location directly in the rainforest AND on the beach was unreal, & the staff was incredibly accommodating! The staff helped us book all of our excursions, we did a guided tour of the national park through them, and we did the tortilla making class on site; it was all so much fun! One thing I really loved about the resort was how knowledgeable and respectful they were of the animals and rainforest. We learned a lot about the animals we saw outside of our room and in the lobby area. The food was out of this world delicious. All of the fruit and drinks were so fresh and just exactly as you would imagine for Costa Rica. Our favorite drink was the Monkey Business. We even tried to recreate it and some of our favorite dishes when we got home. A few memorable parts of our trip worth mentioning: In the middle of our first night there I woke up to a loud noise. There was clearly an animal in our room and I started freaking out. My husband didn't believe me and didn't see anything until he heard it himself. It sounded like a monkey to me but turned out to be a tiny gecko! You'll see them all over. One night it poured down rain (in July), which kind of sucked, but it made the most beautiful lightning storm. We watched from the lobby as it lit up the whole sky.’ The private dinner is incredibly romantic. Do it!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Rochester, New York

Amazing Romantic Getaway

Posted Mar 27, 2016
Pros: The beaches, the views, the pools, the hotel staff, the restaurants, the location, the room accommodations, the monkeys, yes, monkeys!
Cons: This play is idyllic. Nothing needs to be improved.
Location: The location is next to a National park and the grounds are tropical. You can fish, snorkel, scuba dive, parasail, zip line, horseback riding.
This resort is one of the best kept secrets for that very special romantic getaway. Arena's deal Mar is located in a rainforest with two fabulous beaches on the property. The grounds are beautiful and picture post card views are visible as soon as you enter the lobby. The ocean views are stunning! The property is somewhat steep to walk but the staff picks you up in golf carts wherever you are on the grounds. There is wildlife everywhere (monkeys, iguanas, sloths) but the property is very safe. Excellent security, water is double filtered, and the property is eco friendly. No chlorine in the pools, they use ionization. Also use solar panels on property. The property is next to the National Park ranked among the 12 best in the world by Forbes magazine. The entire experience is amazing. Staff is super friendly and the food at the restaurants was top shelf. This is a getaway unlike any place we have traveled to. Highly Recommend for a special romantic getaway. https://www.tripadvisor.com/ShowUserReviews-g309274-d673363-r357950545-Arenas_del_Mar_Beachfront_and_Rainforest_Resort_Manuel_Antonio_Costa_Rica-Manuel_.html#
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Nantwich, Cheshire

Nice hotel with rainforest and beach

Posted Jan 24, 2016
Can't really say a bad word about the place. The hotel and grounds are amazing, the staff are so friendly there's wildlife on your doorstep and the view is awesome. It's a great place if you are into doing all the activities that Costa Rica offers and great if you just want to chill out by the pool or a dip in the sea.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Outstanding!

Posted Nov 1, 2015
Pros: Everything-- see above.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: Manuel Antonio Park, Mangrove Tour, small towns/shopping and restaurants.
We loved our 4-day stay at Arenas del Mar. The staff could not have been more friendly, helpful and accomodating. The facilities are top notch and luxurious, including a spacious balcony (superior room) and a 7-foot round shower. The setting is magnificent, with a commanding view of the beach, ocean and jungle. Access to the two beaches (small private one with restaurant; plus huge public beach which stretches for miles and is always uncrowded) was 24/7 because of golf carts and drivers always available and security kiosk manned around the clock. The breakfasts were exceptional and complete, and the other meals equally wonderful. The experience was beautiful, relaxing, and so friendly. Highly recommend.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great experience!

Posted Oct 5, 2015
Excellent hotel...the staff was super accommodating. We would definitely go back. Great experience!
5 out of 5
by daniel

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 2, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 25, 2015
Amazing honeymoon resort! I highly recommend! The staff were incredibly friendly, the views were spectacular, the concierge helped organize all the excursions, breakfast was included and it was delicious.