Ratings based on 165 Verified Reviews

4.9 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

a very special place

Posted Apr 23, 2017
Beautiful property, incredible staff, exceptional food and LOTS of wildlife! Incredible in every way!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NJ

Serene and inviting with attentive staff

Posted Apr 18, 2017
We stayed here for our honeymoon and found it ideal - the rooms are spread throughout the grounds so you never felt crowded. Food was exceptional breakfast through dinner and the meals on the beach were very special. The rooms were very nice, plenty of space and amazing shower...although ours was over one of the bars and more attention could have been paid to providing privacy for our balcony and jacuzzi. The grounds were peaceful and the private beach area was fantastic. Access to the main large beach in Manuel Antonio was easy. We enjoyed the spa and yoga although there were not many other on site recreational facilities we didn't feel the need for them - this is a place to nestle into and enjoy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

close to beach great food

Posted Apr 8, 2017
great place great food and friendly staff would stay again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A rain forest setting in full comfort beyond words

Posted Apr 1, 2017
Arenas Del Mar A three finger sloth joined by numerous joyously swinging monkeys in their natural element greeted us at reception. My nine year old daughter was delighted. The two lovely people that greeted us at the base of the property were efficient, kind and knowledgeable on all our nature- driven queries. It was a perfect first impression of a four day stay stay that got even better by the moment. The hotel is nestled in forestry and awards all guests five star hospitality. The setting is magical. You can't help but be swept away I. Thought of how magnificent our natural environment is. Our room was perfectly situated; awarding us a tranquil sea view with forestry elements. Breakfast was served on the beach our first morning which was a real treat as the monkeys happily observed us from the surrounding trees. The room was comfortable and of course clean. I would only recommend they provide more toiletry amenities but other than that the room was perfect. The spa had rooms that overlooked the magestic rainforest- pacific sea combination, and coincidently our treatments were at sunset which awarded us the atmosphere of sunset colors. Our therapists were very well trained and gave both my daughter and I excellent massages. The staff was both gracious and thoroughly trained. The only area that the hotel falls short of its five star rating is in food. The restaurant while ambitious in its offering, simply does not execute well. The back kitchen needs
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Location

Posted Mar 30, 2017
Pros: Location.
Location: We didn't do any excursions. Others there commented they saw more monkeys and sloths on the hotel property than their tour in the Manuel Antonio Park
This is the best location for the Manuel Antonio beach. It is a short walk on the hotel property to the two beaches. One public, that has all the amenities you would expect: souvenirs, parasailing, vendors selling coconuts, etc. And one semi-private beach where you can sit on the beach and order drinks and food. The rooms are very nice and clean. We had an ocean view and loved it. Staff was friendly and helpful but their English wasn't as good as other locations in Costa Rica where we stayed. Food was hit or miss. Some items were really good, others just barely ok. (be sure to ask for your hamburger well done...the default is pretty rare).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from S

Best service ever! So accommodating and friendly.

Posted Feb 7, 2017
Best service ever! So accommodating and friendly. Room was peaceful with beach view/access. Will return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Keene NY

Beautiful hotel and grounds, 2 beaches

Posted Feb 3, 2017
Pros: The grounds are especially nice. Golf carts make getting around the hilly property a joy. Get up, have coffee, and go on an early bird walk.
Cons: We had a 'garden room' that was somewhat below ground level, sub-garden if you will. We regretted that. The A/C unit blew directly onto the bed.
Location: A hilly secluded location with two beaches. Great birds and animals. Skip Manuel Antonio Park (too crowded) and arrange to visit other areas nearby.
This is a very nice hotel. One beach has a toes-in-the-sand restaurant. Two pools, fairly small. A spa. Nice friendly staff willing and able to organize all sorts of outings. Try the morning or evening bird walks on the property. The place is a nice size, large enough to have all the services, small enough to be friendly. The beach restaurant is delightful. Always open for lunch, 2x/week for breakfast and sometimes for dinner. The beaches offered nice wave swimming. It was too rough when the tide was coming in but otherwise it was great fun. The water is warm, around 84 degrees. There are still-water beaches nearby too.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful resort with a private beach

Posted Feb 3, 2017
We had the best experience here! We did go into "town" for several meals because the menu of resort dining options got old, but we loved every minute of our stay. The staff was very accommodating and wonderful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Orleans

Was only going to stay 1 night

Posted Jan 29, 2017
Pros: great location, the hotel staff, and the overall appearance.
Cons: I cannot think of one thing
Location: The usual. Restaurants, bars, and a casino all nearby.
We initially only booked 1 night at this hotel. We just wanted to make it from San José to the cost, but we ended up sleeping in and extending our checkout time (twice). So around 3pm, we asked if we could reserve a room for a few more nights. This is where it becomes truly fascinating! Oh, let me back up. Sure, our initial room was great. The room was big, nice fluffy bed, huge shower, near the beach, nice views... Really, a great room. When we booked the additional nights, they not only gave us a discounted price, but also, put us in a suite! The ENTIRE staff went out of their way to really cater to our every want and need. The staff would make offers and anticipate our needs before we could even ask! truly amazing!!! I want to apologize for the delay in writing this review and the fact that I can no longer remember anyones name except for Robin (like Robin hood). Thanks you Robin (and all) for making our stay so extremely enjoyable! and of course, the suite was absolutely amazing, overlooking the pool, beach, and ocean!!!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Unique boutique hotel with top notch service

Posted Sep 11, 2016 on Hotels
We arrived at arenas del Mar late in the evening and the first impression in the dark does not do the hotel justice. The place is amazing! You are on top of a hill at this beautiful resort with access to 2 beaches (not typical for the area). The stay was made even better by the outstanding customer service by all the staff. Wonderful experience! Highly recommend this beautiful, interesting boutique hotel!