Ratings based on 184 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from East Sussex

Ideal situation for our needs

Posted Dec 4, 2017
Pros: Situation. Adequate breakfast included
Location: Near station Near shops Handy for buses to university
Extractor fan from kitchen very noisy but it did go off at 11pm. View from window poor but curtains drawn as it was night time when we were there
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel above an Indian restaurant

Posted Nov 2, 2017
Pros: Lovely staff, nicely decorated rooms
Cons: Odour permeating the hotel is awful. Despite double glazing, Reading is very noisy. Pillows like bricks.
Location: It's in Reading central, so good if you have business there
Didn't slept well due to the noise in Reading and hard pillows. Smell in the hotel gets on your clothes. I am a smoker so the smell must be bad if I notice it.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Reading

Posted Sep 29, 2017
Cons: tv to high on wall give you bad neck shower head needs cleaning or new one
Location: near to shops
not so good tv to high on wall shower head needs cleaning went for a walk came back main door lock
5 out of 5
by duke street from redding

duke street ibis

Posted Sep 18, 2017 on Hotels
Nice hotel second stay a.c. room was much better then the oven like room with no ac but the £8 charge for parking is not good when there is a bestweston £10 cheaper for room and free parking not so far awsy
3 out of 5
by S

Studenty HMO rather than a hotel. Lots of stairs

Posted Sep 9, 2017 on Hotels
Hotel looked really nice in lobby and reception areas. There was no lift and too many giggled piggledy stairs to navigate with a large heavy bag. The room was small and resembled a student HMO; no luxury touches or anything which made you feel like you were in a hotel. Buffet breakfasts were good. Chap on reception kept smiling and giggling, which was sort of nice.
3 out of 5
by Michael

What a shame - this used to be a good hotel

Posted Sep 4, 2017 on Hotels
I have been staying at this hotel a few times a year for several years. No Ibis have taken over there are changes that mean I'll be looking for a different hotel in the future. Parking is now £8 a night when it used to be free. Cooked breakfast is now £6.95 each where it used to be free. In other words, the price for us to stay here and get the same as we used to has gone up by nearly £22! I don't find that to be acceptable. The room we were in had a number of issues: it was warm, so we needed to have the window open. Problem was there was a noisy motor/fan of some sort running all night so had to have the window closed; The toilet cistern had a leaky valve - there was the sound of running water from the bathroom all nigh; the thermostatic valve on the shower did not work. The show was almost too hot to use and could not be reduced.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Hotel near the middle of town centre

Posted Aug 27, 2017 on Ebookers
The hotel itself was ok, however, in our room the towel rail heater was on full blast and the dial was broken so couldn't turn it down leading to very uncomfortable nights sleep since he windows could only be opened a little bit. Also, as part of the booking it stated that "breakfast was included" however, you had to pay an extra £7 for a cooked breakfast which was stated in the conditions of booking.
2 out of 5
by Christopher

Basic, functional but not great

Posted Jul 30, 2017 on Hotels
Not a great hotel, restaurant is an Indian restaurant which means the whole hotel smells as such. Also eating breakfast in said restaurant is quite unpleasant. Rooms are quite shabby and dated, basic and comfortable but not great
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 17, 2017 on Hotels
very nice staff lovely hotel but not and couldn't sleep due to excessive heat in the room and water pressure was so low toilet was only just flushable
2 out of 5
by David

Dont bother

Posted Jul 7, 2017 on Hotels
On arrival staff were friendly but to busy on their phones or ipads. The room was so basic, i would have expected far better for the money. They tell you Breakfast is included when it is if you want cereal or toast so thinking i was going to get a nice full English, could have but you then would have hsd to pay extra. Would not stay again