Ratings based on 100 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great food and hospitality at gateway to Savaii

Posted Feb 18, 2017
Pros: Staff, food, cold beer
Cons: Some of the bungalows could use some new thatching, Mosquitos controlled better
Location: I used it as a base for my trekking trip. Kayaking and snorkelling on property. Snorkelling the reef is a 200 m swim.
Extremely kind staff lead by Henry. The dinners are fantastic and fairly priced. Cold beer. Bungalows are rustic but stay cool at night; location in forest and on piers over the water evokes tropical paradise feel. Close to islands main market and also ferry landing. Not a beach destination but Savaii isn't a place to be visited for such. A great value.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Auckland, New Zealand

Relaxing and friendly staff

Posted Nov 22, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: Service was awesome and prime location being close to Salelologa markets and wharf.
We spent 9 days at Lusia's, very relaxing, water is beautiful and the staff were amazing! If we ever needed anything the staff were always willing to help. Located close to the wharf and also to the Salelologa market.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Western World Travelers give Heed

Posted Oct 16, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: They have rental cars & scooters! Breakfast eggs are good (and French Toast). Family friendly. AC works. Room was very spacious; decent bathroom.
Cons: Lagoon needs a "soft" entrance - clear a 20m stretch and dump a few loads of sand, or a concrete foot path entrance. Improve Rock Pool bottom for feet
Location: Being close to Wharf is a real bonus. Close to main town and open markets. Not too far from Afu Aau Waterfalls & some beaches. Much lava rock around.
My rating for Lusia's is based on a 6 night stay Oct. 2016, so we are pretty familiar with conditions, and this is current. Our stay was part of an air/hotel package, so I don't know exactly what we paid, but I think it was pretty modest, compared. First, a vacation to Savaii can't be about "luxury resorting" by Western standards. No resort on the island is going to be "perfect" for those seeking 5 star living. Savaii is about getting to know more about real Samoa, and a lot of natural beauty. First let me state that my "not perfect" rating is made up for by a very friendly and accommodating staff. From the lower staff up to Lucia, all are genuinely likable and friendly, and will go to lengths to help you. Some speak English well, and some partly, but you can get things sorted. Restaurant: We ate at a few different resorts on Savaii, and this one is pretty good, but plan to spend 20-30 minutes waiting for the "mains", which is typical even at the best resorts on most pacific islands (been to a few). A 'fresh coconut' (cooled) was very popular with our family, and was just $4 tala. Their "fish and chips" is grilled (fish), and fabulous! Chips are some of the best I've had. Breakfast was included, and had several choices, plus hot drink & fruit plate. The lagoon is idyllic, and meets expectations of warm, calm, great for snorkelling - but bring "reef shoes" if your feet are soft! Water colors are amazing. Savaii air temp/humidity is tropical, so be prepared for it!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Waiheke Is

We had a really great stay here

Posted Aug 24, 2016 on Lastminute
Pros: This is a very laid back resort, we had a chalet over the water, not the flashest hotel by any stretch, but we did not want that.
Cons: Some seaworthy kayaks and proper sports type lifejackets would have been good.
Location: Great location, was concerned it would be far up a mosquito infested lagoon.... but it isn't. We didn't really come here for other activities.
We had a seriously relaxing time, the occupancy rate was not high which further suited us. I would highly recommend this place. Before booking I recommend that you print of what you are going to book as well as the receipt for the booking to avoid hassles at check in time.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Quant

Posted Aug 20, 2016 on Hotels
Cute place, very close to the pier, free kayaks, but no beach, not much to do. Our room was clean, nice bathroom, and over the water which was cool but the water was loud and made it hard to sleep. I had tuna poke, which clearly had been frozen and was not completely thawed. Our favorite thing about the place was the baby bananas that you could pick whenever you wanted. They seemed annoyed that we didn't eat all our meals at the hotel and when we left and came back they asked us where we were going and where we had been, in a weird parental way
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NZ

Disappointed

Posted Aug 14, 2016
Pros: I like the location
Cons: Customer service
Location: we only stayed one night, location was excellent for what we were in Savaii for.
we arrived at the resort probably about 2:20 pm. Try to look to see where the reception is and not one staff greeted us. I walked in and saw a staff member behind the desk and said we are here to check in and I can hear them whispering something about they booked with expedia. One of the staff took the others to show them our room and I stayed on to do the paperwork. when finished they said you are at the end room. I walked out and I didn't see the end room she was talking about, so I came back and ask if she can show me. The girl too me to the room half way up the stairs and said to the guy that was up the top of the stairs to show me to the room because shes too tired to walk up the stairs. got to the room and there was four beds, double mattress on the floor and 3 single beds. so I said to the staff member that was there that I actually requested 5 single beds on my booking, so they got another single bed from the room next door. Staff member Nati took us on a little tour around the resort. He was the best, showing us around and he was the waiter at the restaurant. I wish all the staff were like Nati he was the real deal, very professional, helpful, happy, his customer service was excellent. He made our stay worth well and made us forget about the disappointment we had before. Thank you Nati keep up the awesome service.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 26, 2016 on Hotels
A little run down. Nice friendly staff but unfortunately poor house keeping service
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NZ

Unique hotel

Posted Apr 25, 2016
Pros: Staff, location
Basic accommodation except for Honeymoon suite which we had - amazing room in bush spacious with loads windows.. Staff helpful. Raining when we were there so restaurant area a bit dark and we didn't swim o kayak.
4 out of 5
by Lukas Martin from Hong Kong

Friendly Staff and good Price/Value

Posted Feb 18, 2016 on Hotels
Pleasant stay in the middle of a jungle forest. Rooms a bit dark since they are in the middle of the forest. No free wifi. Great place for swimming in the sea. No sand beach - just a fun ladder to go into the water... very pleasant. Friendly and helpful staff and delicious food for reasonable prices.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 27, 2016 on Wotif
Had a great experience here with my girlfriend. Very reasonably priced. Beautiful surroundings. Staff were awesome and couldn't be better. Room was nice and clean