Ratings based on 105 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Potsdam

Family room is big, but has traffic noise

Posted Aug 27, 2017
We were very pleased with the very spacious family room with air condition and tiled floor. But disappointed to find out that the building is just next to the main road. People who treasure quiet nights should book one of the chalets on the lagoon- Camille looked like the top option to me from the outside. We were happy to be allowed to cook our own dinners in the restaurant kitchen- that was much appreciated. The staff were all very joyful and fun to be with. I was disappointed, though, when I left my swimming trunks behind after going for a swim just before leaving, and was told on the phone later that day, that it was nowhere to be found.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very beautiful but basic!

Posted Apr 20, 2017 on Hotels
It is in a beautiful location we stayed in a fale and had an incredible view of the lagoon. But the bathroom is shared and it has no light so you need a torch and no hot water. The staff ate very friendly and are willing to help you out. The free breakfast is a bit of a joke very basic and very few options if you want anything of substance you'll have to pay extra. But had a lovely stay and would recommend it to anyone for one or two night much longer is a bit much we had 5 nights booked but left on the 4th as we needed a not shower the the mosquitoes were getting to us so make sure you take lots of mosquito repellent
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Good location near ferry

Posted Mar 1, 2017
The room we booked had been given to someone else! However the staff did bend over backwards to make up for it. The compromise was a larger room in a quiet section of the complex, but no running water so we had to shower in a room several minutes walk away. The breakfast pancakes were made specially for us and were fantastic :)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great food and hospitality at gateway to Savaii

Posted Feb 18, 2017
Pros: Staff, food, cold beer
Cons: Some of the bungalows could use some new thatching, Mosquitos controlled better
Location: I used it as a base for my trekking trip. Kayaking and snorkelling on property. Snorkelling the reef is a 200 m swim.
Extremely kind staff lead by Henry. The dinners are fantastic and fairly priced. Cold beer. Bungalows are rustic but stay cool at night; location in forest and on piers over the water evokes tropical paradise feel. Close to islands main market and also ferry landing. Not a beach destination but Savaii isn't a place to be visited for such. A great value.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Lusia's chalets - rainforest by the sea

Posted Feb 13, 2017 on Wotif
Pros: Location, views, lagoon swimming, peace, simplicity and great staff. Lusia is fabulous.
Cons: More attention to detail on cleaning - and advise guests that rooms are cleaned on request.
Location: Near the Port but miles away in terms of tranquility. 10 minute walk to the village shops or fresh market and supermarket, or take bus or taxi.
I love Lusia’s vision for saving and sharing this beautiful patch of rainforest. Stay here for the sheer pleasure of being able to plunge into the green lagoon from your chalet or the communal decks – great swimming! The chalets are simple but comfortable. We stayed in the ensuite chalet built over the water and it’s worth booking one for the view, the calmness, the sound of lapping waves, feeding the fish and being surrounded by luxuriant rainforest foliage. The staff are attentive and lovely, thanks team, especially Henry and Turio. The menu is good, particularly the sashimi, poke, fresh fish and lobster and tropical drinks. Check out the pictures on the website and note, your rooms will be cleaned on request.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 15, 2017 by Smile, Hotel Management
Talofa and Hello Dael, Ahhhh! Thanks for great feed back. We do strive to take care of what Samoa has so that wonderful Guests like you and Rick can keep coming back to enjoy! And will always remember your gentle encouraging smiles. Fa'afetai lava! from Lusia and Team
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Auckland, New Zealand

Relaxing and friendly staff

Posted Nov 22, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: Service was awesome and prime location being close to Salelologa markets and wharf.
We spent 9 days at Lusia's, very relaxing, water is beautiful and the staff were amazing! If we ever needed anything the staff were always willing to help. Located close to the wharf and also to the Salelologa market.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Western World Travelers give Heed

Posted Oct 16, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: They have rental cars & scooters! Breakfast eggs are good (and French Toast). Family friendly. AC works. Room was very spacious; decent bathroom.
Cons: Lagoon needs a "soft" entrance - clear a 20m stretch and dump a few loads of sand, or a concrete foot path entrance. Improve Rock Pool bottom for feet
Location: Being close to Wharf is a real bonus. Close to main town and open markets. Not too far from Afu Aau Waterfalls & some beaches. Much lava rock around.
My rating for Lusia's is based on a 6 night stay Oct. 2016, so we are pretty familiar with conditions, and this is current. Our stay was part of an air/hotel package, so I don't know exactly what we paid, but I think it was pretty modest, compared. First, a vacation to Savaii can't be about "luxury resorting" by Western standards. No resort on the island is going to be "perfect" for those seeking 5 star living. Savaii is about getting to know more about real Samoa, and a lot of natural beauty. First let me state that my "not perfect" rating is made up for by a very friendly and accommodating staff. From the lower staff up to Lucia, all are genuinely likable and friendly, and will go to lengths to help you. Some speak English well, and some partly, but you can get things sorted. Restaurant: We ate at a few different resorts on Savaii, and this one is pretty good, but plan to spend 20-30 minutes waiting for the "mains", which is typical even at the best resorts on most pacific islands (been to a few). A 'fresh coconut' (cooled) was very popular with our family, and was just $4 tala. Their "fish and chips" is grilled (fish), and fabulous! Chips are some of the best I've had. Breakfast was included, and had several choices, plus hot drink & fruit plate. The lagoon is idyllic, and meets expectations of warm, calm, great for snorkelling - but bring "reef shoes" if your feet are soft! Water colors are amazing. Savaii air temp/humidity is tropical, so be prepared for it!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Waiheke Is

We had a really great stay here

Posted Aug 24, 2016 on Lastminute
Pros: This is a very laid back resort, we had a chalet over the water, not the flashest hotel by any stretch, but we did not want that.
Cons: Some seaworthy kayaks and proper sports type lifejackets would have been good.
Location: Great location, was concerned it would be far up a mosquito infested lagoon.... but it isn't. We didn't really come here for other activities.
We had a seriously relaxing time, the occupancy rate was not high which further suited us. I would highly recommend this place. Before booking I recommend that you print of what you are going to book as well as the receipt for the booking to avoid hassles at check in time.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Quant

Posted Aug 20, 2016 on Hotels
Cute place, very close to the pier, free kayaks, but no beach, not much to do. Our room was clean, nice bathroom, and over the water which was cool but the water was loud and made it hard to sleep. I had tuna poke, which clearly had been frozen and was not completely thawed. Our favorite thing about the place was the baby bananas that you could pick whenever you wanted. They seemed annoyed that we didn't eat all our meals at the hotel and when we left and came back they asked us where we were going and where we had been, in a weird parental way
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NZ

Disappointed

Posted Aug 14, 2016
Pros: I like the location
Cons: Customer service
Location: we only stayed one night, location was excellent for what we were in Savaii for.
we arrived at the resort probably about 2:20 pm. Try to look to see where the reception is and not one staff greeted us. I walked in and saw a staff member behind the desk and said we are here to check in and I can hear them whispering something about they booked with expedia. One of the staff took the others to show them our room and I stayed on to do the paperwork. when finished they said you are at the end room. I walked out and I didn't see the end room she was talking about, so I came back and ask if she can show me. The girl too me to the room half way up the stairs and said to the guy that was up the top of the stairs to show me to the room because shes too tired to walk up the stairs. got to the room and there was four beds, double mattress on the floor and 3 single beds. so I said to the staff member that was there that I actually requested 5 single beds on my booking, so they got another single bed from the room next door. Staff member Nati took us on a little tour around the resort. He was the best, showing us around and he was the waiter at the restaurant. I wish all the staff were like Nati he was the real deal, very professional, helpful, happy, his customer service was excellent. He made our stay worth well and made us forget about the disappointment we had before. Thank you Nati keep up the awesome service.