Ratings based on 1,052 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient to highway, shops, restaurants.

Posted May 2, 2017
We had to stop unexpectedly overnight on a road trip. This hotel was impeccable, family friendly, and offered a very good full breakfast the next morning.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 12, 2017 by Dawn, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from McMinnville, Oregon

Very comfortable and clean. Pleasant place to stay

Posted May 2, 2017
Pros: Everything!!!
Cons: All was very satisfactory.
Very comfortable and clean. Friendly staff, good breakfast. Pleasant environment. Good chocolate chip cookies!! Very comfortable bed!!!! I would stay there again in the future.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 25, 2017 by Dawn, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for taking the time to review. We our so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again soon.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Budget Hotel - still not worth the money

Posted May 1, 2017
If you decide to take a chance here, be sure to request a room that's not on the lower level. Because the bottom floor is half basement, and it's pretty musty down there. Also, people walking by have a direct view into your room. Our room was never cleaned during our stay, so I called the front desk and I was promised fresh towels and more coffee for the room would be delivered. That never happened. No one seemed to care if we were happy or comfortable.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 25, 2017 by Dawn, Hotel Management
I want to thank you for taking the time to review. I want to apologize for the lack of follow through on our part. I would like to talk to you about this matter and make this situation right. Please feel free to contact me at the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oregon

Clean comfortable rooms close to restaurants etc.

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Pros: Consistently good standards.
Cons: Would like check-in to be little earlier than 4PM.
Location: Trader Joe's is right next Door! Also good restaurants nearby (Mexican rest., Half-Penny Grill, Nancy's, etc.)
We come to Salem 2,3 times per year - Phoenix Inn is in such a good location - easy access to freeway. Good shopping nearby and good restaurants. Rooms are always clean, esp. the bathroom. Beds are comfy w/nice linens. Full free breakfast in AM w/good coffee. Nice home away from home.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 25, 2017 by Dawn, Hotel Management
We our glad that the location of the hotel works for your traveling needs. It's good to hear that you think of us as a home away from home. We can't wait to welcome you back to the hotel again soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 22, 2017
This is a very nice hotel with s good looking cation. Large rooms with great accommodations.the breakfast was great and the rooms were quiet.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 25, 2017 by Dawn, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review. We our glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel in south end of town.

Posted Apr 20, 2017
Pros: The small "suite" was very comfortable and had all of the amenities needed for an extended stay away from home.
Cons: The only problem was the overbooking of the room type we reserved.
Hotel is well maintained with friendly staff members. Our room was clean and comfortable, and the breakfast room was clean and well run.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, BC

Old hotel

Posted Apr 17, 2017
Pros: Complementary breakfast, good location
Cons: A renovation is great.
The staffs are very nice and helpful. However, the condition of the facilities were old and need an update.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

It's just ok

Posted Apr 13, 2017
If you find yourself in Salem for a short business trip, 1 to 3 nights, and you don't want to spend a lot, then I guess you find this hotel to be just fine. It's on Commercial street, which lives up to its name. Lots of stores, dealerships and markets. All of which is great if you live in one of the pleasant neighborhoods in the area. But as a hotel on Commercial itself, no views, plenty of traffic noise. The pillows were probably the most uncomfortable and worn out I have experienced in a long time. We were there because we're buying a house nearby. If you plan on visiting Salem, I'd spend a bit more and stay somewhere close to downtown.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oregon

Clean and friendly

Posted Apr 9, 2017
Pros: nothing special
Cons: some blankets in the room...I had to go to the front desk for a blanket.
Location: ok part of town again , nothing special. We ate at a local restaurant (the Roadhouse?) and it was not very good. We only stayed one night as planned
quick trip to Oregon on business, this hotel is pretty basic which is just what we were looking for. Nothing outstanding and the location isn't anything special, but the rooms are clean and well maintained.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Great place to stay

Posted Mar 23, 2017
First off the hotel smelt great! Staff was all extremely friendly, great location close to just about everything.