Ratings based on 867 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient to the business area of salem

Posted Jul 18, 2016
From experience I knew to ask for and get a upper floor , spoke to another hotel guest who was not as fortunate to get a upper floor , a basketball team of teenagers spent most of the night running up and down the hallways on the floors above them . If your hoping for peace and quiet and staying here , better get the top floor or go else where
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bend, OR

Loved it.

Posted Jul 3, 2016
Location: We went to Decision America and toured the capitol.
Everything was perfect except once in awhile we could hear doors closing.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Manteca, ca

Nice, comfortable

Posted Jul 3, 2016
Pros: There was actually enough parking. That's not always the case.
Cons: More help at the front desk! That poor girl had to answer phones, make reservations, and check people in. She had a line to the door, but handling it.
We only stayed one night. The location seemed like a nice area. There were several restaurants, stores if you forgot something. Hotel was well kept. It's a moderate hotel, so don't expect marble floors, etc. Well priced and clean.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Salem, OR

Ok hotel if you have kids and dogs

Posted Jul 1, 2016
Pros: Location, pet-friendly, pool
Cons: New pillows and bedding, cleaner bathrooms, fix the mechanical problems (windows, door gaps, reversed plumbing, etc.)
Location: Located in South Salem on a major street about 5 minutes from downtown and 10 minutes from I-5.
About 12 years ago, we stayed at this hotel 3 times while we were looking at houses prior to moving here from another state and we liked it so, when our kitchen was being remodeled recently, we booked 2 nights with our kids and dog. Sadly, I remember liking the hotel quite a bit more 12 years ago but it was newer then and so perhaps it's just time for a remodel and some deep-cleaning. Our bathroom had mildew near the ceiling, a smelly shower curtain, and the pillows were very flat. There was also a musty smell in the room. It wasn't terrible but the window couldn't be opened so we just had to deal with it. The water for one of the sinks was also hooked up backwards so you had to push the handle the opposite way to get hot water vs. cold. Not a big deal but for a few minutes, I thought there was no hot water. On the positive side, my kids loved the pool and the little grassy area in back was great for my dog to get a little exercise. The location is great and there are several good restaurants nearby. I also really appreciated the friendliness of the staff in the breakfast room. They were very attentive, clearing plates, re-stocking items, and asked multiple times if we needed anything. The front office staff were very friendly too and check-in and out was fast.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 28, 2016
The hotel and staff were fine. I was in and out in one day. the room was clean and comfortable and the breakfast wass fine.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Medford, OR

South Salem

Posted Jun 28, 2016
Pros: The suite size rooms with fridge and couch are comfortable.
Cons: The too-soft beds should be discarded.
I was in the Willamette Valley for my daughter's graduation. The South Salem Phoenix Inn has suite accommodations. The continental breakfast is the normal fair. The pillow-top bed is akin to quick-sand. I would recommend this facility with the caveat that the pillows and the beds are only tolerable.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 30, 2016
Pros: EVERYTHING STAFF/ COMFORT/ BREAKFAST
WE GO TO SALEM TO THE DOCTOR AND STAY HERE ALL THE TIME. GREAT PLACE TO STAY!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 1, 2016 by Dawn, Hotel Management
Thank you for writing a review. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel soon.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Clean, safe, very good service.

Posted May 25, 2016
Pleasant stay and no hesitation in recommending the Phoenix to any traveler.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 1, 2016 by Dawn, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Individual Rooms

Posted May 16, 2016
Pros: Close to where I had to be.
Cons: Redo all rooms for us non-smokers.
Have stayed before, but this time got an older room that still had smoke residue. This is now a nonsmoking facility and needs to update all rooms.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 1, 2016 by Dawn, Hotel Management
Hello, we apologize about the smell of smoke in your room. We have done a renovation and are still currently updating a few of our rooms. We hope that the smell does not keep you from staying with us again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Oregon

Close to everything we wanted and then some.

Posted May 14, 2016
Pros: The staff and service.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Close to everything we wanted to do.
Wonderful! Will stay there again as we have before. Nice and quiet! Continental breakfast great :-)
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 1, 2016 by Dawn, Hotel Management
Hello, So glad you enjoyed the breakfast as the the best way to start the day. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.