Ratings based on 144 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
63% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oxon

Great location for Stonehenge

Posted Dec 16, 2017
Stayed one night (15th December 2017) as attending wedding at Stonehenge just 10mins away. Room was very pleasant, lots of fresh towels provided and bed was very comfortable. However we were unaware that a Christmas party was to be held in the function room just below our window, had we of known we would have asked for a room on the quieter side of the hotel.
4 out of 5
by John

Functional friendly hotel

Posted Aug 8, 2017 on Hotels
Hotel a bit tired but functional. Breakfast ok, but we have had better. A bit noisy early morning, mainly road noise. Good value.
4 out of 5
by Cristina

Old yet new with lots of conveniences nearby.

Posted Jul 15, 2017 on Hotels
700-year old hotel is full of character but with fantastic staff. Rooms recently redecorated but it can't compensate for the tilted floors (which adds charm). Room 1 is lovely, spacious and level. Room 5 offers about 2" of floor tilt (so we sleep with our heads at the opposite end of the bed) and a slight sway as you stumble to the smaller bathroom at night but has a dormer window with seat. (Heard room 4 was even more tilted.) Great tea/coffee/cookie in-room offerings daily and hearty English breakfasts served. Easy parking. Super cheap pub (connected to a nationwide chain yet individual identities) about 2 min walk around the corner with good food, great drinks and near a co-op grocery and bakery. Gas at end of block was 2nd cheapest we saw in a 1400 mi journey. Two bank ATM machines within 200 ft of hotel. If you want a hotel with a bit of historic character and don't mind un-even floors then this is a great place to stay. Very easy 5-10 min to Stonehenge but the three A-roads leading north to Avebury (other stone circles) require attentiveness as they are barely wide enough for two cars and plenty of curves.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Adventurous lodging

Posted Jul 12, 2017
Pros: Novelty. Helpful manager.
Cons: Couldn't change anything because would lose the charm.
Location: It's about 15 minutes from Stonehenge.
If you like this kind of thing, it's wonderful. The building is 700 yrs old. Our room was the very last in the back, somehow he knew we would want quiet. Manager tells us, it's up 2 flights of stairs, then through a door, then down a few steps, then through another door, the hall gets narrower and the ceiling gets lower. It was awesome. On top of that, when we arrived with rental car, it had been alarming "tire pressure" for a long time, we had looked at tires, but continued to get where we needed to be. He offered to help, drove me to the petrol station and helped fill the tires for me!!! Never been treated so well, anywhere. If you like an experience, and not just another room, this is great!
4 out of 5
by NatKH

A little gem close to Stonehenge

Posted Jul 12, 2017 on Hotels
A very positive experience. Friendly welcome with happy staff. The family room was clean and comfortable, tastefully decorated and roomy enough for 4 adults. The wi-fi, which is free for guests, wasn't hugely reliable but as we're on holiday I wasn't anxious about that. The room had complimentary tea, coffee and hot chocolate with biscuits, a good size TV, shampoo and body wash provided in the bathroom.and enough hand and bath towels too. 2 minor things were a very dusty extractor fan in the bathroom which looks like it's not been done in a while and the meal we ordered in the bar in the evening took 3/4 hour to arrive. The buffet breakfast offers full English and in addition are cereals, pastries, juices and tea and freshly brewed coffee. I'd recommend the hotel to anyone and plan to return next time we're in the area.
5 out of 5
by Kevin from salt lake City

Stonehenge

Posted Jul 5, 2017 on Hotels
fine hotel, bed was a little tired
5 out of 5
by David

Most Enjoyable stay

Posted Jun 21, 2017 on Hotels
Very friendly staff, at check-in everything was explained very well, friendly and accommodating breakfast staff and the cleaners were also friendly and accommodating. A very old hotel with a sloping floor, and quirky arrangement, but not unexpected for its age and added to the character. Lots of nice old photos and tourist info on the passage walls and other places. Lots of tourist brochures available too, Everything worked fine and we had a very pleasant and enjoyable stay. Lots of local shops nearby and Aldi also.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location, reasonable value

Posted Apr 17, 2017
Pros: Location. Parking
Cons: Staff
Location: Amazing location for Stonehenge
Great location near Stonehenge with parking. Staff weren't rude, but did the minimum possible. Amazing old building, not well updated.
4 out of 5
by Colleen

Good location at a good price

Posted Apr 3, 2017 on Hotels
Great place to stay to drive and explore the surrounding area. The breakfast was very good and the staff friendly.
3 out of 5
by Antony

OK. You pay for what you get.

Posted Feb 3, 2017 on Hotels
This hotel has recently received new owners, let's hope that they spend some money on improving this hotel, as it is "tired" & in need of a complete spruce-up. Carpets, wallpaper, the lot.