Ratings based on 66 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hemet, CA

Cute but very out of the way

Posted Jul 6, 2015
Pros: staff linens towels
Cons: air conditioning beds decent television with some channels to watch
Location: nothing to do nearby without driving 3 or four curvy miles
No air conditioning, old beds - but nice linens, waaaaaay out of town, maybe four TV channels with poor reception, no wifi which sucked with terrible TV. Staff is very nice. Shower was dusty with broken tile, but great water pressure, sink only had hot water, but towels were nice and fluffy. Ancient TV. Decorated really cute. I wouldn't stay here again - but if you just want to be away from it all and don't require many creature comforts then this is the place to go.
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hants UK

Real America

Posted Jul 3, 2015
Pros: Peace and quite.
Cons: a fridge in room would be good for your beers!
Location: Historic Julian up the road.two food places nearby.
A really neat old style motel,park by your room,sit out under the veranda,with a beer and watch the sun go down.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 24, 2015
VERY old - carpet, furniture, fixtures, bathrooms. Not old quaint, old run down. Peeling paint, mismatched fixtures. I would not walk in the room without shoes. I was trying to get a last minute place in/near Julian and I booked without thoroughly reviewing the pictures. Definitely not worth the rate that was charged ($135 +tax)
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Orange, CA

A quaint place not too far from downtown

Posted May 26, 2015
Pros: Friendly staff, clean rooms, close to restaurants and some shops.
Cons: The TV only showed 4-5 channels, but as we spent a lot of time in town that was not a big deal.
Location: Three miles outside downtown Julian, near a couple restaurants (adjacent and across the street), and some shops just a short walking distance.
We spent a single night here over Memorial Day weekend and enjoyed our stay very much. The owners were very kind and welcoming, allowing us to check in as soon as our room was cleaned. It felt almost as if we were staying in the guest wing of someone's home as they treated us with smiles and friendliness. The location is three miles from downtown (which closes early) so for dinner we ate at the wonderful restaurant directly across the street from the hotel. My girlfriend had the vegan pizza while I had the special, 1/2 BBQ chicken with broccoli and garlic mashed potatoes. If you're looking for a safe, clean, and friendly stay, give this place a look.
3 out of 5
for Families
by Shawna

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 26, 2015 on Hotels
3 out of 5
for Couples
by Lisa from Los Angeles

Good place to stay if you're eating at Jeremy's

Posted May 12, 2015 on Hotels
Pleasant little motel -- clean, friendly staff, old-fashioned charm. Best thing about it is the location, right next to an excellent restaurant, Jeremy's, which we learned about from our wine tasting hostess in Julian.
3 out of 5
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

Apple Tree Inn needs some"workin and lovin"

Posted Apr 2, 2015 on Hotels
The owner was very nice and accommodating however for the price she put some of what charged back into MOTEL. In all fairness she let us have our dogs
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Charming Place- great experience!

Posted Mar 28, 2015
Pros: Loved appearance, staff, quiet location. Easy to see "Apple Tree Inn" sign by Hwy 78.
Cons: Bath could use a little repair of tiles & flooring, but everything worked well.
Location: 6 Mile drive to Julian, which is nice for a day visit. 30 miles to Anza-Borrego Desert State Park along scenic, mostly winding roads.
Experience was good from first minute to last- Hotel staff was always friendly and helpful in every request. This hotel is a bit remote, not in any particular town, but near Wynola, a 6 mile drive from Julian. There are a couple of restaurants in walking distance with good food. The room was nicely decorated, and had a small refrigerator as I requested. TV only got 5 channels, but that's ok. Had a comfortable, relaxing stay. However, I don't ask for much in a hotel. There is a pool, but not a lot of fancy amenities. This is a place to be a bit self sufficient & get away from electronic urban life. If you need a lot of services and amenities in a hotel, this is not the place.
1 out of 5
for Couples
by A verified traveler

I wont recommend to my worst enemy

Posted Mar 25, 2015 on Hotels
The room was to expensive for what we encounter. A $ 150.00!!! a night!!! The bathtub was so ugly that I didn't took a shower! I have pictures... no air conditioning.. the outlet was cover by a piece of wood written "air conditioner" ......The TV was from the dinosaur era with only 5 channels! I have pictures of the bath floor, dirty all around the bathtub...the light switch, the interior of the bath door... Needs a mayor overhaul I can believe that you have this motel in your site! I never spectated this from Hotels.com
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Very dated and highly overpriced

Posted Mar 2, 2015
Location: Across the street from a nice Restaurant
This Motel looks like it has not been updated since the sixties. For the price we were charged it should have been a luxury accommodation.