Ratings based on 101 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
64% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice rustic retreat

Posted Jan 16, 2017
Pros: I liked the character of the the place. The decor is full of nostalgia and warmth, and the bed was very comfortable with a super-soft blanket.
Cons: The heater had trouble through the night, and the mold in bathroom could have used some clearing up.
Location: It's really close to all the places that serve Julian's famous pies, and it's a quick drive from there to Anza-Borrego Desert State Park.
I stayed here for a night in January. The room was brimming with character with a spacious bed, lace tablecloth, and a vanity. It was a charming place with quick access to Julian and Anza-Borrego Desert State Park.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lake Forest, United States of America

Rundown motel

Posted Nov 7, 2016
Location: Location is ok, few places to eat and walking distance.
The motel is old, the toilet got plugged, the TV didn't work
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Rustic Inn just outside of town

Posted Oct 25, 2016 on Hotels
Just a few short miles from historic downtown, the Apple Tree Inn is a quiet and restful country inn. The rooms are large, and extremely clean. This is an older property, but well maintained with the owners onsite. The first thing I noticed when I walked in the room was a sense of peace and calm, with a deceptively large room compared to what I expected. (I don't know what detergent they use, but it smells fresh and clean and higher end... none of that overly flowery fake scent but also not an overwhelming bleach smell. it's just clean) Instant hot water? yes please! I love that the owners took the care to ensure that their guests don't need to wait more than one second for hot water, especially on a chilly morning. Speaking of the owners, they want you to be happy and comfortable. It felt like I was visiting with long lost cousins. After checking in, they provided me with a brochure of things to do in Julian, recommendations, and make sure I had everything I needed. This is pet friendly, but even so, they went above and beyond to make sure my super service pup and I were comfy. While not in downtown, you won't be left to starve. Feel like a rack of lamb by a Cordon Bleu chef? Walk next door (literally). Want a salad or pizza or pasta? Across the street, as is a lovely bakery. Want some fresh pressed apple cider? 30 feet away. This is a perfect place if you want to be close to town (it took me five minutes to get there) but sleep in peace.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 12, 2016
The room was clean and comfortable. The location was quiet and the staff were friendly.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Moderately priced hotel near Julian

Posted Oct 7, 2016 on Orbitz
We were attending my nieces wedding in Julian and this was a convenient place to stay.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This place was very quiet mid-week. We like that.

Posted Sep 28, 2016 on Hotels
This is a no frills motel. It is a few miles from town (Julian). We picked this motel because we needed a pet friendly stay. There were no special provisions for pets, but we all enjoyed the stay. Our little dogs dozed in their pet beds much of the time. We enjoyed one long walk up the road toward Volcan Mountain.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very nice area, clean and convenient.

Posted Sep 20, 2016 on Hotels
The Apple Tree Inn was a wonderful experience. The Owner was very kind, helpful and professional. People were kind and friendly. Thank you very much!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

very nice guest hotel/house hospitality

Posted Aug 5, 2016 on Hotels
great solo getaway from city and one with nature
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Relaxing stay

Posted Jul 18, 2016
I love the relaxing atmosphere of this hotel. The bedding was very comfortable, had a great nights sleep!! Thank you
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Santa Monica

Gem of a place in Julian

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Pros: The owners were very friendly and helpful giving us directions for sight-seeing, dining and just making our visit so comfortable.
Location: Location was ideal for Escondido and with things to do in Julian (Wolf Center, Gold Mine Tour, shopping) it was perfect.
My sister and I found the Apple Tree Inn an ideal place to stay for our short visit to Julian and surrounding areas. If we return to Julian in the near future, we will stay here again.