Ratings based on 77 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from western colorado

Adequate

Posted Jan 6, 2016
Pros: Quiet, spacious room
Cons: Window facing back yard was very dirty on the outside,
Location: see initial comments
Apple tree inn is located several miles west of Julian. Julian is a zoo on the weekends, avoid it then if you can. This is an older motel, room was spacious and quiet. No WiFi.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great little hotel!

Posted Dec 28, 2015
Sweet getaway with kind owners. Close to cider tasting and great food. We will definitely come back!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Apple Tree Inn Quite Satisfactory

Posted Nov 1, 2015 on Hotels
The Inn, a little dated in décor and amenities, has been well-maintained throughout the years. Internet/WIFI not great. However, given the proximity to San Diego and the lovely little town of Julian, we were basically pleased with the price and the convenience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CA

Near Julian

Posted Oct 28, 2015
Pros: It is surrounded by beautiful countryside.
Cons: Add more channels to the tv and stronger wi-fi.
Location: It's three miles from Julian and the pizza place across the street was very good.
I had a great nights sleep and the man at the front desk was helpful and friendly.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Steven from San Bernardino County

Bates Motel

Posted Oct 28, 2015 on Hotels
I am not snobby when it comes to hotel stays, but this place is awful. It had a creepy vibe to it, reminding my wife of the bates motel. The room was not clean, smelled musty and the carpet had many stains (including a iron mark). The staff was friendly but that is not enough to warrant a second stay. I am baffled that there are some good reviews for this hotel, it must be the owners.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Steve

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 26, 2015 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 20, 2015 on Hotels
Old style motel, very nice for our short overnight stay while passing through the area.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Roberta from Utah

Apple Tree Inn.. the best of the worst.

Posted Oct 15, 2015 on Hotels
This hotel is older.we had a few ants in our room...The carpet really needes to be replaced. Lots of stains bring slippers. Very old furniture they call it quaint its just old.When we started the bath for my grand daughter the water came out very brown..so we tried shower and that was fine .then toilet water turned same color brown.We did not complain we were in town for a wedding and were on the go all day.just showered and slept in room.To be fair we had family and friends staying all over Julian and our hotel seemed to be the best of the worst.very exspensive for the room you get 59.00 a night would have been a fair price. At check in the wife tried to help us out with a bigger room since we had our grand daughter but then the husband stood up and told her to leave us were we where so she didn't mess everything up kind of rude since we did not ask for the change. She offered.we never seen them after check in. Quiet place located 3 1/2 miles from main street Julian. Lots of local places to eat and shop.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 19, 2015 on Hotels
Room could get a little TLC. Very outdated . Bathroom fixtures are old. TV is from the 70's only 3 channels available. The area is beautiful and the hotel is next door to a great restaurant .
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Apple Tree Inn & Jeremy's

Posted Jul 28, 2015 on Hotels
Our first time to the Julian area. The hotel owners were extremely friendly and informative. The hotel is older with 1960s flare, maybe that's when it was remodeled. Jeremy's on the Hill was suggested as the best restaurant. It's next to Apple Tree Inn. Lunch had a great burger but stayed busy swatting flies. Went back for dinner, flies were still there. Steak was mediocre, very thin. My wife ordered a salad with her steak so the steak was on a bed of lettuce. Their Famous Apple Cobbler was almost warm, Top half of Ice cream was good, bottom half was solid ice. They said the restaurant had a Cordon Blue Chief. He must have been off that day or forgot what he learned.