Ratings based on 2,048 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

SD Vacay

Posted Aug 28, 2015
Great family trip. Staff took care of us. . .
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice comfortable hotel.

Posted Aug 27, 2015
Pros: Great location!
Cons: May be check out should be more convenient and simple. We stayed in line for checkout about 20 minutes.
We booked this hotel for one night. Even though we arrived late around 6 (check in was 4) our room was not ready. After another hour finally we got it. The staff was very friendly and they tried to do their best to satisfy customers.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Southern California

Next to the harbor!

Posted Aug 25, 2015
Pros: I liked the staff, our room, plenty of plugs to use, light room with block out curtains, quiet area where we were staying, good in-room food service.
Cons: The elevator could close a bit slower. The price of parking was a lot I thought - same price for valet and self-park.
Location: The only thing we did while we were there was go to Sea World, so I am not much help.
We stayed in a separate wing with suites and it was quiet and had a view of the harbor. The staff were great, hotel with clean and modern. I have a special needs daughter and did have an issue with the elevator closing too quickly, but that is the only thing that we had an issue with. In room dining was great - good portions, good food. Temperature was comfortable in the room, bed was good, plenty of usable plugs. We walked over by the water and watched the boats coming in when the sun was setting, watched a Sea Lion swimming, it was very relaxing. There were two weddings and a dating event all taking place the same evening and there was room for all, all outside on their grounds.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Family vacation

Posted Aug 24, 2015
Our room was right next to the elevator and it kept us up all night. The room shouldn't even be occupied. We were charged a $25 hotel fee...for what? And parking was $35/night. So $60/day right off the top...seems extremely excessive.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Excellent Vacation Trip

Posted Aug 24, 2015
Pros: Great swimming pools and ammenities. Rooms were nice, view was excellent.
Location: Sea World is within walking distance (about 1 mile).
Overall had a great experience. Staff was very friendly and accomodating. We stayed in the tower, so had an excellent view of Mission Bay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to the beach and sea world

Posted Aug 23, 2015
Just a relaxing place for family and kids friendly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quick getaway to San Diego

Posted Aug 22, 2015
Great hotel , clean comfortable with nice views of the marina from the waterfront suites. Patio is a bit small but works. Plenty of self parking but $35 per day is a bit steep. Pool was great with water slides for the kids. Kinda crowded with limited seating but that is to be expected in August.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Gross Carpet.... Really really gross!

Posted Aug 20, 2015
The first thing we noticed when we checked in was the nasty gross carpet. Stains and dirt smashed in all over the carpet. Tub didn't drain. Someone else's hair backed up all over our feet while showering. I could go on, but I think you get the picture. Stay away!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ventura County

Don't stay in the Bay rooms if you want to sleep

Posted Aug 18, 2015
Pros: Proximity to nearby venues.
Cons: Upgrade the Bay rooms to fix the noise issue. Add darkening shades to rooms. Add a gift shop where you can buy snacks. Upgrade plumbing.
Location: Don't need to restate the obvious. Although I will say, each time I stay in Mission Bay, I become more disenchanted with it.
Bought a special deal from Expedia for 4.5 star hotel in the Mission Bay area. Was pleasantly surprised when I saw it was the Hyatt as they are generally excellent quality. But the rating does not apply to all rooms in this hotel. We were put into the Bay rooms section, not the tower. The Bay rooms are 2 story buildings that for the most part are Motel 6 quality with some level of aesthetic upgrades (bedding and furniture). Otherwise, they are crap. I complained and they admitted this was a property that Hyatt purchased at some point. We were in a room with one of those doors that adjoin to another room. Basically it felt like the family with screaming, noisy children and parents who apparently didn't mind the yelling and screaming every morning were inside of our room. It was that loud. It generally started around 7am each day, on days we had looked forward to sleeping a bit later, like 8 or 9am. We told the front desk and all the gal said was, "we never heard that complaint before." The wood shutters in the rooms don't keep the lights out of the rooms. In nice hotels (like the Hilton we stayed at after we decided to bail out of this hotel) there is a shade that keeps the outside lights from infiltrating the room. Not here. The toilet was as loud as an airplane toilet, except it lasted much longer in duration. Also, the water came out of the shower head with the velocity of my garden hose, which was a ridiculous waste of water.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London UK

Very nice hotel close to Mission bay and beach.

Posted Aug 17, 2015
Pros: The area it was in and views.
Cons: Cleaning on some days could have been better, it seemed to depend on which staff you would get.
Location: As above. San Diego is a great city lots to do and see, San Diego Zoo and botanical gardens, Sea World, Downtown San Diego and the Gas Lamp quarter.
A very pleasant stay, lovely hotel with great views of Mission Bay and the Marina. It is within walking distance of Pacific Beach and Belmont Park which has a great old fashioned wooden roller coaster. Very nice swimming pool and water chutes. Staff were very helpful, approachable and amenable they did discount our parking fee as we were staying for twelve nights. Lots of water sport available and very close to Sea World, take the boat from the marina to Sea World very pleasant $10 for adults and $5 for children. Breakfast buffet a little expensive, but there is always the coffee shop and bagels.