Ratings based on 178 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
5.0 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.9 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Charming B&B in World Heritage Mexican Town

Posted Nov 9, 2017
Great location, wonderful B&B Hope to get back there soon
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denver

Beautifully done

Posted Oct 23, 2017
Pros: The beauty, the view, the team
Cons: Fireplace (the ability to use) Additional blanket available in the room, if needed
Location: Many great dining options and loved the churches. Outing to Guanajuato was fabulous
Before we even arrived in San Miguel, my husband was requesting information via email with Antonieta (the owner) was communicating with my husband via email. She always responded in a very timely manner and always had an answer for him. Once we arrived, we were welcomed by Shannie (spelling?) because Antonieta and Francisco had to leave town unexpectedly. She was fabulous. Even loaned us money for a taxi without being asked. She recommended things to do and didn’t steer us wrong at any time. Miguel, our driver was a wealth of knowledge on the tour we took. He works closely with the B&B and does a fantastic job. Even though the B&B is a little tricky to find (if you had to do on your own) it is well worth the effort. Beautifully done and comfortable. The sheets were luscious. San Miguel was a little on the cool side during our stay so we decided we wanted to try the fireplace. Unfortunately, it’s not vented so it wasn’t an option. Would have liked to have found a blanket stored somewhere in the room but wasn’t a major issue. Lastly, wished tv service had more American options but this is consistent throughout Mexico. Overall, great stay and would do it again. Thank you for your superb hospitality. It’s no wonder your San Francisco establishment was a success.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Lewes, DE

Beautiful B&B in beautiful town

Posted Oct 16, 2017
Pros: Large, comfortable rooms decorated with the regional art of Mexico.
Location: The hotel is 3 blocks up the hill, but it is steep. The botanical gardens are uphill; the tourist attractions, restaraunts. and shopping are downhill
My wife and I spent 4 days and 4 nights in a beautiful house on the hill in San Miguel de Allende. The views over town were expansive from the roof-top terrace and from the intimate seating area outside our 2nd floor room. The house is arranged so that guests can interact in comfortable social settings or sit privately and enjoy the colorful accommodations. Our host and hostess helped us arrange travel to and from Mexico City when our pre-arranged plans were altered by a change in the airlines schedule at the last minute. The house is set up for the comfort of the guests from the provision of telephone service to the USA to the choice of snacks on beverages supplied on the honor system.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from PA

Beautiful home base to explore this fabulous town

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Pros: Beautiful rooms, great location to walk to town, wonderful hosts, delicious breakfast, nice outside seating areas, local craft beers in the fridge!
Cons: Really can't think of anything that needs improving here
Location: SMA is a fabulous town, art and culturally interesting activities are everywhere. Any walk into town can have you discover some thing new.
Antigua Capilla is my ideal kind of place, full of character, beautiful rooms, great hosts, yummy food and all in an ideal location. Its a beautiful old house, fully restored with an old chapel in the courtyard. The rooms are beautifully decorated, each in a different theme, and super comfortable and well appointed. Staying here really added to our San Miguel de Allende experience. Our daily routine started with a tasty breakfast (difference Mexican egg based dish each day), then followed by a walk into town via the artesan market. After returning home in the evenings (a $4 cab ride if you don't feel like walking back up from town) we enjoyed taking advantage of the various outdoor seating areas (incredible view from the roof terrace) while trying out local craft beers from the fridge (very reasonably priced self service). The beds are huge and very comfortable and the rooms were quiet. If you love quality boutique hotels/B&Bs with great character, decoration and service, this is the place for you.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Too far from the town and up a large hill

Posted Sep 12, 2017
Pros: large room, nice view
Cons: Less of an emphasis on charging for extras, and little more of an openness to provide a receipt for these extra expesnes
Location: San Miguel de Allende is a beautiful spot; it is better to enjoy the "ambiente" by being closer to the town.
I think they charge too much for what they provide. Charging for their garage was an annoyance when they are so far from the town and so far up a large and steep hill. I actually got a mild case of food poisoning the morning I left; I think it was the "filtered" water in the room that they said was safe - or it could have been the fresh fruit for breakfast.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 4, 2017 by Antonieta and Francisco - Owners, Hotel Management
It is a shame that guests can leave these type of comments anonymously after their departure. We encourage all of our guests to talk directly to us while still here in the event that they are not satisfied with anything. We promise to address any issues directly so that your stay is the best it can be. Addressing the point of "charging for extras", we try to keep room costs down, and giving snacks away would mean raising the room rates for everyone. We have limited space in our garage, and $150 pesos a night is very reasonable compare with parking lots in town that charge more than twice. You can also take your chances by parking in the street. Regarding our location, we are in the historical center just a 10-12 minute walk to the town square. There are certainly other accommodations closer to the square, but staying there means dealing with the noise that comes with the hubbub of what this guest calls "ambiente" Our location is much more peaceful and yet close enough to walk to everything and everywhere in town. Regarding the comment that we charge too much for what we provide, we challenge this guest to find another place in town at comparable price with a better value. We are confident it doesn't exist. The comment about food poisoning is nothing short of slanderous. We have a filtration system that we maintain with fresh carbon and other filters including UV lights that kill all microorganisms. However guests do not need to drink water from the tap, as we provide free unlimited bottled water. All of our fruit is disinfected, and our kitchen is impeccable. We are 100 confident that this person did NOT get sick from eating anything served on our property.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas, NV

Pampering in paradise

Posted Aug 11, 2017
Pros: It was really private and pristine.
Cons: N/A
Location: Everything is pretty close. Even a taxi from the center of town was only $1-2 dependent on the time of day.
This is one of the friendliest and most luxurious vacations ever! I travel a lot! Every detail was tended to, from freshly made breakfasts, to snacks and assistance with travels. I highly recommend them!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from mexico city

Nice

Posted Jun 28, 2017
Nice and quiet hotel with extraordinary facilities
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hayden Lake, ID

beautiful new facility built in traditional style

Posted Apr 21, 2017
Pros: Comfortable, clean, beautifully appointed and wonderful breakfasts.
Cons: An elevator would be nice, especially for older patrons. There is a lot of climbing in San Miguel Allende and the same is true of the hotel.
Location: The hotel is on the edge of the historic district and one can walk the cobblestone streets in almost any direction and discover beauty.
B&B on the edge of the historic district of San Miguel Allende. One can walk down the cobble stone streets into the center of the city. Be prepared for the "verticality" of the city. We had wanted to visit this UNESCO Historic site for some time and were not disappointed! My wife and I have had the good fortune to travel a great deal and this is one of the most beautiful cities we have visited. The hotel is clean, well appointed and the breakfasts re excellent. Wonderful view from the roof.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cerritos, CA

Wonderful San Miguel Getaway!

Posted Apr 15, 2017
Pros: everything
Cons: Nothing needs improvement.
Location: The location is just up the hill from the center of San Miguel de Allende with a wonderful view of the city.
The Antigua Capilla B&B was a real treasure! The rooms and grounds were lovely, and the breakfasts were delicious. Each day we enjoyed fresh fruit salad with homemade yogurt and granola followed by a wonderful breakfast entree such as chiliquiles, French toast, or breakfast quiche. My husband and I enjoyed relaxing both in the courtyard patio listening to the water fountain and on the rooftop terrace overlooking the many church steeples of San Miguel. The friendly owners, Francisco and Antonieta, anticipated our every need, including the arrangement for our airport transfers. We are already planning our next visit.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 2, 2017 on Hotels