Ratings based on 175 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
5.0 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.9 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from PA

Beautiful home base to explore this fabulous town

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Pros: Beautiful rooms, great location to walk to town, wonderful hosts, delicious breakfast, nice outside seating areas, local craft beers in the fridge!
Cons: Really can't think of anything that needs improving here
Location: SMA is a fabulous town, art and culturally interesting activities are everywhere. Any walk into town can have you discover some thing new.
Antigua Capilla is my ideal kind of place, full of character, beautiful rooms, great hosts, yummy food and all in an ideal location. Its a beautiful old house, fully restored with an old chapel in the courtyard. The rooms are beautifully decorated, each in a different theme, and super comfortable and well appointed. Staying here really added to our San Miguel de Allende experience. Our daily routine started with a tasty breakfast (difference Mexican egg based dish each day), then followed by a walk into town via the artesan market. After returning home in the evenings (a $4 cab ride if you don't feel like walking back up from town) we enjoyed taking advantage of the various outdoor seating areas (incredible view from the roof terrace) while trying out local craft beers from the fridge (very reasonably priced self service). The beds are huge and very comfortable and the rooms were quiet. If you love quality boutique hotels/B&Bs with great character, decoration and service, this is the place for you.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Too far from the town and up a large hill

Posted Sep 12, 2017
Pros: large room, nice view
Cons: Less of an emphasis on charging for extras, and little more of an openness to provide a receipt for these extra expesnes
Location: San Miguel de Allende is a beautiful spot; it is better to enjoy the "ambiente" by being closer to the town.
I think they charge too much for what they provide. Charging for their garage was an annoyance when they are so far from the town and so far up a large and steep hill. I actually got a mild case of food poisoning the morning I left; I think it was the "filtered" water in the room that they said was safe - or it could have been the fresh fruit for breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas, NV

Pampering in paradise

Posted Aug 11, 2017
Pros: It was really private and pristine.
Cons: N/A
Location: Everything is pretty close. Even a taxi from the center of town was only $1-2 dependent on the time of day.
This is one of the friendliest and most luxurious vacations ever! I travel a lot! Every detail was tended to, from freshly made breakfasts, to snacks and assistance with travels. I highly recommend them!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from mexico city

Nice

Posted Jun 28, 2017
Nice and quiet hotel with extraordinary facilities
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hayden Lake, ID

beautiful new facility built in traditional style

Posted Apr 21, 2017
Pros: Comfortable, clean, beautifully appointed and wonderful breakfasts.
Cons: An elevator would be nice, especially for older patrons. There is a lot of climbing in San Miguel Allende and the same is true of the hotel.
Location: The hotel is on the edge of the historic district and one can walk the cobblestone streets in almost any direction and discover beauty.
B&B on the edge of the historic district of San Miguel Allende. One can walk down the cobble stone streets into the center of the city. Be prepared for the "verticality" of the city. We had wanted to visit this UNESCO Historic site for some time and were not disappointed! My wife and I have had the good fortune to travel a great deal and this is one of the most beautiful cities we have visited. The hotel is clean, well appointed and the breakfasts re excellent. Wonderful view from the roof.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cerritos, CA

Wonderful San Miguel Getaway!

Posted Apr 15, 2017
Pros: everything
Cons: Nothing needs improvement.
Location: The location is just up the hill from the center of San Miguel de Allende with a wonderful view of the city.
The Antigua Capilla B&B was a real treasure! The rooms and grounds were lovely, and the breakfasts were delicious. Each day we enjoyed fresh fruit salad with homemade yogurt and granola followed by a wonderful breakfast entree such as chiliquiles, French toast, or breakfast quiche. My husband and I enjoyed relaxing both in the courtyard patio listening to the water fountain and on the rooftop terrace overlooking the many church steeples of San Miguel. The friendly owners, Francisco and Antonieta, anticipated our every need, including the arrangement for our airport transfers. We are already planning our next visit.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 2, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 31, 2017 on Hotels
th location requires some walking (climbing) but taxis are cheap and the place is lovely
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pittsburgh

Absolutely beautiful hotel overlooking San Miguel.

Posted Mar 29, 2017
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing
Location: Wonderful restaurants, shops, walking tours, tours to neighboring towns etc
A most beautiful hotel, with outstanding management by the owners. We stayed a full week without even a minor complaint. View of the city, day or night, is magnificent from the terrace. Breakfasts were delicious and served in a beautiful room. The other guests were all wonderful people. Although walking to town was difficult due to the hill, narrow sidewalks, and cobblestone streets, very cheap and reliable taxi service was always available within ten minutes for trips downtown. The hotel has WiFi and a direct, free telephone line to the US. Hotel offers airport pick-up and return, as well as guided tours to other cities( Guanajuato strongly recommended). The driver is somewhat expensive but well worth the price. We would frankly not recommend having a car in San Miguel. Taxis available everywhere. We would return to the Antigua Capilla in a heartbeat!
5 out of 5
by sam

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 9, 2017 on Hotels