Ratings based on 142 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London, UK

Don't waste your money

Posted Aug 24, 2016
We booked to stay here for 8 nights. We booked ourselves on day 6 and spent our last 2 days in Palermo city centre in a 5 star beautiful luxurious hotel (cheaper than Cala marina, by the way). The room was filthy and the sofa bed was awful. Not worth the price we were paying so we asked for an upgrade, only for the reception staff (which seemed to never be the same) to say we were already in their highest standard room. Very hard to believe. There were ants everywhere and a horrible noise which kept awake all through the night. We complained several times and (another) reception member said it was the boiler so to turn it off at night. That didn't work! So by day 5, we were all tired, miserable and annoyed! The upside to this place is the pool hygiene and the lifeguard is super strict. You need to wear hair caps, which you can purchase at reception for €2 or remember your own. We came to San vito lo capo following a weeks stay in Taormina- beautiful and clean in comparison. I'd say, if you are looking for a good, albeit very crowded, beach with calm seas and you don't mind overpaying on poor accommodation, this place is for you. Staff at reception gave us a discount, which helped to ease our annoyance. We couldn't have stayed here longer than we did. Maybe 4-5 days tops for the beach but the overly loud music in the evenings made us feel like we were at a rave. The music by the pool in the day wasn't too bad, until they whooped up the volume and we couldn't hear each other
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not a good service

Posted May 19, 2016
Person in charge was rude. No telephone neither WiFi. We have to go outside to get some reception . We have to carry our suitcase up the hill.
5 out of 5
by Scott from St Andrews

Great holiday

Posted Oct 22, 2015 on Hotels
We enjoyed our stay, this hotel has offered us all we were looking for during our stay. The weather was great so we enjoyed the pool as much as the beach. San Vito lo Capo is a small town but has enough things to do. We wanted a relaxing holiday and that's what we had. The apartment was cleaned every day and the towels, even the clean ones, replaced which is a bit of a shame. We loved the pool attendant who kept the pool and the sun loungers so organized. Reception staff was very helpful and accomodating.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not Thrilled

Posted Oct 14, 2015
Pros: The grounds were nice, and the location great. I had Ocean view which was very nice.
Cons: The furniture is old, the comforter is old and ratting looking. The shower is for anyone under 100 lbs, The staff is not helpful.
Location: We walked to the beach and the marina. We could walk to the restaurants, it was close to il Zingaro and Erice, and Trapani.
The room was an apartment, great for families with kids. Had a kitchen, plus dishes, pots and pans etc. No dish soap to wash the dishes, nor did the maids do the dishes. They just made the bed and gave clean towels. Only two towel, which you needed to take with you to the beach or pool as well. The shower was so tiny to fit into. I am a thin women and could barley turn in it. My father in law is a large man and could not fit his entire body in the shower. The bathroom is a nice size, not sure why they have such a tiny shower stall and no tub. The blowdryer, is a vacum cleaner with the air blowing out. The staff was not very helpful. We asked if there are any fishing trips as the Marina was so close, we were told we can rent a boat for 100 euros and we would need to drive it, we asked if it has fishing poles and where to buy bait. They could not answer, they suggested we go buy fishing poles. I asked if we could book excursions to different areas and he did not know, he made a call but was very unsure of what was required One day the pool was roped off, I asked why and if we could go in and he replied yes if you want to, but the ropes remained. He seemed annoyed when I asked questions it appeared to upset him. We had a few rainy days and I asked where did he suggest we go, he said I don't know Palermo. Since we did not want to go to the city I asked for any other suggestions, his reply was very short " Look signora it's not my fault its rainin
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

So so hotel

Posted Jul 6, 2015 on Hotels
Not for solo travelers though amazing location and minutes by walk from the beautiful beach. Very noisy in the room because of the evening entertainment. This hotel is overpriced and should be considered a 3 star.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 18, 2015 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

overpriced and misleading, 3 stars max!

Posted Sep 16, 2014
Pros: Location, room view.
Cons: breakfast, wi-fi reception, customer service, information on the booking should match the actual service provided otherwise it's simply not true.
Location: beach, sea-food restaurants, bars and ice-cream shops.
The hotel is disproportionately overpriced, I would be keen to find out how they got the 4 * rating in the first place. They couldn't get the basic thing right - breakfast! There is practically NONE, although our booking clearly said "buffet breakfast". What we got for breakfast was: a pastry (no options to choose from!) that was literally handed out to us in a napkin with NO PLATE?!, a bottled juice and a coffee - espresso was not even an option as we were just offered a "cappuccino" that tasted like it was made out of a packet. While we were still there we saw another group of baffled hotel guests who were enquiring about the breakfast and whether that was all on offer. They were given a slightly better treatment: the lady at the bar offered them an option of a croissant and jam and also laid out a table cloth for them, which of course didn't make it any better, but showed just how inconsistent their service is! We then complained to the lady at reception while we were checking out who couldn't answer a basic question - how on earth this hotel deserved to have the 4* and if we could have a discount, saying the manager was away etc etc. Wifi wasn't working either in our apartment. I feel very upset and frustrated, especially provided we had stayed at Palermo for the first 3 nights at a 3* B&B for half the price of Cala Mancina with excellent service, central location and delicious breakfast!
1 out of 5
by D&V from Wadhurst

Organised incessant, very loud music from pool

Posted Jul 4, 2014 on Hotels
Hotel experience was completely spoilt by the organised, incessant (from 10.00 to past midnight) and very loud (could hear in our room 100m away and with both inner / outer door locked) pop music. This was not a hotel but a holiday camp. Considering the price we paid for our room, the room was poor value with no balcony or private seating area (the only outside seats available were in a public corridor). Poor breakfast choice. Best thing about the holiday camp was the rather beautiful receptionist !
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from New York

Amazing sea-side resort for families

Posted Jun 30, 2014
Pros: It is very well located, clean, professional -- and the staff is amazing and very kind and patient with children.
Cons: At the poolside -- perhaps there could be a system, like one lounge / one chair per family. So there would be a chair /lounge for everyone.
Location: There is a great big natural reserve nearby and of course the most amazing thing is the beach -- its a sandy beach with clean transparent water.
We have been to Calamancina many times and we plan to return. It is in close walking distance to the beach and the little town of San Vito. It is perfect for families with children. There is also entertainment for children.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

great expectations not realised

Posted Jun 28, 2014
Pros: location 5 minutes from beach
Cons: better eating facilities and quite hours after 8pm.
Location: the town is charming with lots of choice on food.
The hotel has poor customer service due to lack of staff, the place was very noisy till midnight and the cafe was limited in provision and not of a high standard. A moderate 3 star accommodation that was adequate but certainly not 4-star. The location is difficult to reach (130 km from airport) and not evident in the local signs.