Ratings based on 124 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice enviroment.

Posted Mar 11, 2017
Close to the beach and the price is affordable. But the food for breakfast has limited choice. I wish for something more. Overall, they did a great job in keeping my room clean :)
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 19, 2016 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dorset, Uk

Do not book unless things radically change

Posted Oct 1, 2016
Pros: Position is good right on the front
Cons: See 'your experience'.
Location: Sandakan is not in itself a tourist destination. It is a hub from which to go to other places eg Sepilok, Kinerbatang river, etc.
I booked and paid for a single night and when we arrived a day early paid in cash ( machine not working) for the extra night. We were tired and wanted a clean room with warm water in which to relax and re charge. This was the opposite of what we got. When we got into the floor corridor in smelt badly and there was a dehumidifier there. The smell in the room was nearly as bad. The staff left us and we started looking around. The floor was dirty - not hoovered , mud on the floor in the bathroom, dust and dirt on windows and sills, etc. We decided to walk locally looking for another hotel. When booking I mistakenly thought this was still a Ibis hotel when in fact it had changed hands earlier in the year. We found another hotel around the corner with better facilities at marginally greater cost. We returned stating the issues with the hotel/room and a helpful member of reception after consulting a manager showed us a different room on another floor. It was a larger room and cleaner but only just. We declined this upgrade and asked for the cash back paid for the extra night. We did not have any 'fight' to demand the money for the original booking. A manager did attempt to rescue the situation but it was too little much to late. She attempted to blame the reception staff which was clearly not correct. I was refunded the cash paid for the extra night and left as requested our reasons for not staying.
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Junior suit city view

Posted Aug 29, 2016
Pros: the bed is very comfortable to sleep
Cons: the main air con is not functioning
happy with the stay, a nice hotel indeed have a good experience in Sandakan get another card as we forgot to take out the card when exit
4 out of 5
by john from Ais

Posted Aug 17, 2016 on Hotels
It was great location , Shame it didn't have a pool
5 out of 5
by John from Berwick Australia

Posted Aug 7, 2016 on Hotels
Great place needs a pool on the roof
3 out of 5
by SAY HONG from Kuala Lumpur

A quick stop over trip

Posted Jun 30, 2016 on Hotels
a stop-over before heading to Kinabatangan tour. The room is clean but as i'm getting city view room, it is very noisy as some youngsters and teenagers playing skateboard, some street artistic performing can also be heard although I stayed at the 4th floor of the hotel
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 12, 2016 by Ho, Hotel Management
Dear Say Hong, Thank you for taking time to leave us a message and glad that you satisfied the cleanliness provided. As always, we emphasize on the cleanliness standard and professionalism to achieve customer satisfaction. As the hotel located at town centre, and the celebration of Raya Festival. the area was crowded. Apology that we can't do much on the noise disturbance. However, the Hotel security is on duty all the time to ensure the safety. We hope to welcome you return and stay with us in the next future. Best Regards, The Management of S'kan Styles Hotel
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 6, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by SANJAY from Ipoh


Posted Dec 6, 2015 on Hotels
Good location with decent amenities & breakfast but small room & airconditioning poor.
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Adelaide, South Australia

Great Stay

Posted Oct 9, 2015
Pros: Everything
Location: Close to airport.
Loved this hotel, in an ideal position for any type of shopping, with plenty of eateries around. Room and bathroom were large and had all toiletries that you would have in your own home. Close to all facilities, beach just 100 metre's away. The swimming pool was a welcome relief from the heat, was well supervised clean and pool towel provided, also had drinks of all types on sale next to the pool. We only booked one night wish we had more.