Ratings based on 1,213 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Longmont, CO

First time visit

Posted Aug 19, 2015
This was my first time visiting Santa Fe and I wanted to be close to the Plaza and several other attractions. Hotel St. Francis was a great choice. I was able to park in the hotel lot (it's quite small) and was able to walk everywhere I wanted to go over the weekend. Check in and check out where great, they have such a friendly, helpful and knowledgable staff. I was given a corner room on the second floor and was very pleased with its setup. It was simple but cozy. I loved the 10 pillows on the bed! The bathroom was small but functional. And the decor in the room and the hotel was in a classic Spanish design. It was a short but lovely stay and I plan to return for longer next time. I'll also be telling everyone I know to stop in there.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel - great location ... Walk to everything

Posted Aug 17, 2015
This historical hotel was very nice . Great location and staff was very nice . We enjoyed the walking tour - well worth the $14 if you want to see everything and get some history with the well rehearsed docent. Only negatives would be - we had a lop sided bed .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from prato (italy)

Albergo caratteristico in pieno centro

Posted Aug 17, 2015
Pros: Ubicazione e personalità
Cons: Potrebbero essere arricchite le suppellettili nelle camere (.porta valige, panche ..) che sono un po' spartane senza però essere povere
Location: Posizione eccellente in piena old town, con possibilità di parcheggio.
L'albergo ha personalità': si trova in un edificio storico che potrebbe essere stato un convento ed è arredato con mobili caratteristici che rendono l'insieme gradevole e elegante. Il porticato e la hall sono molto belli e accoglienti. Si trova a due passi dalla Plaza e dal Palazzo del Governartore, rendendo agevole la visita della città di Santa Fe
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Awesome Hotel

Posted Aug 5, 2015
Pros: We liked the furnishings.
This was a wonderful hotel. My wife and I stayed for one night and would most definitely come back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from DFW

Nice, historic hotel only one block from Plaza.

Posted Jul 24, 2015
Nice, historic hotel only one block from Santa Fe Plaza. Great restaurant for breakfast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scottsdale, AZ

Close to the action

Posted Jul 21, 2015
While the historic hotel has a great location in the center of the square, our room had lingering cigarette smoke (despite the hotel being a non-smoking hotel - front desk personnel didn't know why). Beds really comfortable. Small bathroom with no shelves for toiletries. We made recommendations to staff and were told management is reviewing similar comments and will make changes in alignment with historic property guidelines. Overall a nice one-night stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Texas

Santa Fe....Hotel St. Francis

Posted Jul 20, 2015
Pros: Excellent location, the restaurant was top notch and the staff was very pleasant.
Cons: Our room was tiny!!!! No sink in the bathroom and the closet was too small to put our suitcase so they took up even more of our room!
Location: Santa Fe is for those who want to shop, eat, and take in the local culture. I don't recommend it if you are traveling with younger kids.
Santa Fe is a very unique as well as beautiful city!! In Mid July the high temperature was in the was in the high 70"s to low 80's. Excellent restaurants, galleries, and sights.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location, overpriced for tiny room.

Posted Jul 13, 2015
Pros: Only the location.
Cons: False advertising..Staff should not say they will upgrade when it is impossible to do so.
Confirming the room by phone, I inquired about chairs and was told we would be upgraded to a room with chairs. The 'upgrade' was to a room with not even one chair that was being aired out, for some reason. I realize that the hotel is historic, but did not realize the tradeoff. The bedroom mattress (#217) was old and saggy and the sheets were threadbare and stained and totally wrinkled..I wondered if they were clean. The room and dimly lit bath were tidy; the maids folded up our wet towels and bath mat as if they were fresh, but they were wet! There are many options in Santa Fe and we will not choose this hotel again. It is living on past laurels. We are sorry we chose this hotel for our 3 night visit. The parking lot did not begin to accommodate the guest cars.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Nice hotel but rooms were disappointing

Posted Jul 8, 2015
Pros: The lobby, especially at night with the candle lights. The porch in front is also a great place to people watch.
Cons: New carpeting in the rooms and brighter lights over the bathroom sink.
Great location and wonderful lobby. Lovely stairway and porch. Restaurant was very good. Get the green chile sausage! The staff was also great. Rooms were disappointing. They didn't match the ambience of the lobby. The carpet in the hallway in front of the room was wet the first day. The room was small with what looked like dirty carpeting and a dirty floor in the tub/shower area - or else the tile in the bathroom is so old it can no longer get truly clean. Kept noticing a faint disagreeable odor but never pinpointed a source. As noted by another in our group, they wished the hotel would spring for more than 40 watt lightbulbs, especially in the bathroom. No full length mirror - if that is important to you. Close quarters in the tub/shower. There was a curtain over the window that kept clinging to you as you tried to shower. Ended up tucking it under a towel rack to get it out of the way (the window is glass block so no one could see in anyway). The stairway is lovely and really needed as there is only one elevator. We waited for a long time on the day we checked out and when the elevator finally arrived there was a very large machine in it. Ended up making a few trips with luggage on the stairs instead. The beds are comfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Great hotel in downtown

Posted Jul 6, 2015
Pros: Location was extremely convenient, facilities are very nice, staff was very friendly & helpful with recommendations.
Cons: The parking situation is not ideal; their lot is small, and several hotel employees were taking spaces. Parking costs extra so be prepared. No pool.
Location: Super convenient for shopping & dining downtown. Also several museums to explore in downtown Santa Fe. All within walking distance.
We spent one night in Santa Fe on a road trip through New Mexico and stayed at the Hotel St. Francis downtown. It is a very charming hotel, with a nice bar & patio area out front and a wonderful lobby. They had water & treats available in the lobby (which the kids loved) and the rooms seem much more unique than your standard chain hotel. It's also in the heart of downtown, so walking to breakfast in the morning was literally a 30-second trip. Very nice atmosphere, great room, and very helpful staff made it a great stay.