Ratings based on 19 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by EIDENSCHENCK from UFFHOLTZ FRANCE

Posted Apr 29, 2016 on Hotels
Nous avons passé une nuit sous une tente dans la jungle avec des bruits des animaux, expérience très enrichissante.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bellas montañas y Rios

Posted Apr 29, 2016 on Hotels
Excelente lugar para relajarse en la montaña y aventuras tropicales de montañas y ríos
4 out of 5
by Sebastian from Alajuela

The nature...

Posted May 20, 2015 on Hotels
It was amazing!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from seattle, washinton

Rustic, but amazing

Posted Jan 31, 2015
Pros: Peaceful, realaxing, secluded, jungle sounds
Cons: Some amenities: soap, basic bar in restaurant, fix phone (as we were instructed to call front desk to turn on the hot water 10 minutes before shower)
Location: Loved the nature walk at selva verde lodge, plus we did have a fabulous lunch there and the cocktails were amazing. Great lecture on leaf cutter ants.
If you want a true jungle experience, this is it. Do not expect a typical "hotel." Way down a rocky road into the jungle, you will be secluded in your tree-house-type tent room. There is a solid roof and enclosed bathroom and shower, but the tent is open air (with mosquito netting of course) the sounds of the rain and jungle were fabulous and relaxing. Phone didn't work, who cares? the water was not warm as it was solar heated and they had only rain for a few days, again, who cares. Coffee, fruit, meals were lovely and the staff was very sweet. No cocktails, again, don't expect a typical "hotel."
4 out of 5
by Anthony from San Diego

Nice Little Tented Camp

Posted Feb 23, 2014 on Hotels
I booked a room here since I could not get a second night at the nearby Selva Verde Lodge. It was comfortable, clean and the service was good. The adventure center nearby offered lots of things to do but we were basically in transit.
2 out of 5
by EWA from Nederland

Slecht contact, slecht reataurant, accommodatie ok

Posted Jan 14, 2014 on Hotels
We waren niet tevreden, vanwege het feit dat het hotel niet reageerde op mails (vele verzonden voorafgaand aan de reis), het eten de 1e avond was koud en dus onverantwoord. De 2e avond was er geen restaurant, moesten we via een abominabele weg naar een lokaal restaurant. 's Ochtends om 07.30 uur waren onderdelen van het ontbijt op en konden niet aangevuld. Verzoek om zout werd afgewezen. Accommodatie ok, al hadden we beide dagen een koude douche, wastafel zat los, als ook de closetpot. Verder werden jungle geluiden overstemd door de grote weg waar de hele nacht vrachtwagens overheen denderden. Kortom, dit verblijf was het minste van 4 weken Costa Rica. Op klacht werd gereageerd met $2,00 korting, een belediging voor een serieuze klacht. Ter plekke is ons verzocht een klacht in te dienen. Dat hebben we ter plekke gedaan en ook nog per mail. Nu, bijna 2 maanden verder zwijgt de organisatie nog net zoveel als voorafgaand aan de reis. Triest. Ik ben reisagent en zal deze accommodatie niet aanraden. Jammer, had uniek kunnen zijn,
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 3, 2013
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Unique accommodations - great staff and activities

Posted Aug 25, 2013 on Hotels
Exactly what I expected. One to two nights here is enough to enjoy the resort and take in the various adventure tours. We did horseback riding and rafting.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 30, 2013 on Hotels
Bumpy road for about 1km before reaching the hotel. Overall an average hotel.
2 out of 5
by Doug from Toronto, Canada

Getting the shaft (= pozo)

Posted May 1, 2013
Pros: The quiet
Cons: Dinner, the swimming hole
Location: You will have to drive over an extremely rocky road to get in. Of course, this keeps most people out so it is quiet. Forest nice.
The hotel is actually tents and they are good - but they're not worth $100 plus. So you're in a forest - but with not a lot to do unless you want to fork over more big bucks. And then you're driven somewhere else. We were told there was swimming. It turned out to be a 10 to 15 minute walk and when we got there, all we found was a small, muddy pool teeming with mosquitos. You want to do some birdwatching - no one could tell us where a good location might be on the property. But if you want to go on one of our birdwatching tours, we can arrange that for a few extra dollars. Breakfast was good. Dinner not so much and for $16 you expect a lot better. They did handle the blackout at dinner fairly well, but still, eating in the dark wasn't a lot of fun. You can get a good casado in town at El Charme (?). And that brings us to the road in to the hotel - pretty bad in a car. If you want to see some birds up close, try the Nature Pavilion. It's a little south of La Virgen and has a reference to National Geographic on its highway sign. A nice setup and friendly owners. You can get some great bird pictures. (These are wild birds with feeders).