Ratings based on 25 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from South Florida

Posted Aug 13, 2017
Loved being in the rainforest! The staff was superb- very knowledgeable and friendly with great advise !
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kingman, Az

Did not meet expectations.

Posted Jul 7, 2017
Pros: The rustic atmosphere.
Cons: Publish your prices.
Our stay started out fine. We knew we were staying in a tent and that is why we chose Pozo Azul. My son and I booked the Class IV Whitewater Rafting Tour for the morning after we arrived. The rafting tour absolutely met all of our expectations. This was our first Class IV and our guide Hansel was phenomenal. We needed to have some laundry done and the hotel provides laundry service. When I took the laundry in I was told it was $1 per item. A pair of anklet socks counted as one item. I selectively chose about 6 t-shirts, 4 pairs of shorts and 10 pairs of socks. Instead of $20, they gave me a deal at $15. When I went to pick them up the next day, the clothes were thrown into a bag unfolded and were still damp. I was told it was extra money to dry them completely. When we first arrived we were told a two hour horseback ride was $37 per person. When we went to book it the next day it was raised to $46. We had considerable rain while we were there and we were constantly using towels to mop up water from the bathroom floor. It is a nice place and with a little more care, consideration and maintenance would be a good place. Maybe we just had a bad experience.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Tent cabins poorly sealed.

Posted Jan 26, 2017
We'd recommend, but with caveats. Ok, it's a tent...and it IS magical to be in the tent cabin seeing monkeys in the trees and hearing the night sounds. This memory will last. It is NOT magical that the tent isn't completely sealed, so we found a big spider (2.5 inches, and a large body) the first night. Killed it, but spent a poor night worrying about its friends. I'm not squeamish, but spiders are a bit scary to me. Found 3/4 inch X 2 foot wide gaps without screens surrounded the bathroom windows. (Not obvious at first glance) A tent SHOULD be completely sealed. Mine at home are. It also seemed like 'cleaning' only applied to the sink, toilet, etc...not much change with the floors (swept, probably...cleaned? No.) I'd think twice before staying again. However, it is pretty special to stay in the rainforest and we did see some wildlife. The cabins aren't on the river, they're up the hill in the forest. Google can confuse you about this. There's a trail to the river. This place seems to specialize in the zip lines and river rafting and the like. They don't feed the birds.
4 out of 5
by Sebastian from Alajuela

The nature...

Posted May 20, 2015 on Hotels
It was amazing!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from seattle, washinton

Rustic, but amazing

Posted Jan 31, 2015
Pros: Peaceful, realaxing, secluded, jungle sounds
Cons: Some amenities: soap, basic bar in restaurant, fix phone (as we were instructed to call front desk to turn on the hot water 10 minutes before shower)
Location: Loved the nature walk at selva verde lodge, plus we did have a fabulous lunch there and the cocktails were amazing. Great lecture on leaf cutter ants.
If you want a true jungle experience, this is it. Do not expect a typical "hotel." Way down a rocky road into the jungle, you will be secluded in your tree-house-type tent room. There is a solid roof and enclosed bathroom and shower, but the tent is open air (with mosquito netting of course) the sounds of the rain and jungle were fabulous and relaxing. Phone didn't work, who cares? the water was not warm as it was solar heated and they had only rain for a few days, again, who cares. Coffee, fruit, meals were lovely and the staff was very sweet. No cocktails, again, don't expect a typical "hotel."
4 out of 5
by Anthony from San Diego

Nice Little Tented Camp

Posted Feb 23, 2014 on Hotels
I booked a room here since I could not get a second night at the nearby Selva Verde Lodge. It was comfortable, clean and the service was good. The adventure center nearby offered lots of things to do but we were basically in transit.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 3, 2013
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Unique accommodations - great staff and activities

Posted Aug 25, 2013 on Hotels
Exactly what I expected. One to two nights here is enough to enjoy the resort and take in the various adventure tours. We did horseback riding and rafting.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 30, 2013 on Hotels
Bumpy road for about 1km before reaching the hotel. Overall an average hotel.
2 out of 5
by Doug from Toronto, Canada

Getting the shaft (= pozo)

Posted May 1, 2013
Pros: The quiet
Cons: Dinner, the swimming hole
Location: You will have to drive over an extremely rocky road to get in. Of course, this keeps most people out so it is quiet. Forest nice.
The hotel is actually tents and they are good - but they're not worth $100 plus. So you're in a forest - but with not a lot to do unless you want to fork over more big bucks. And then you're driven somewhere else. We were told there was swimming. It turned out to be a 10 to 15 minute walk and when we got there, all we found was a small, muddy pool teeming with mosquitos. You want to do some birdwatching - no one could tell us where a good location might be on the property. But if you want to go on one of our birdwatching tours, we can arrange that for a few extra dollars. Breakfast was good. Dinner not so much and for $16 you expect a lot better. They did handle the blackout at dinner fairly well, but still, eating in the dark wasn't a lot of fun. You can get a good casado in town at El Charme (?). And that brings us to the road in to the hotel - pretty bad in a car. If you want to see some birds up close, try the Nature Pavilion. It's a little south of La Virgen and has a reference to National Geographic on its highway sign. A nice setup and friendly owners. You can get some great bird pictures. (These are wild birds with feeders).