Ratings based on 38 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great value hotel in a beautiful setting

Posted Sep 15, 2016 on Hotels
Rooms are basic and traditionally furnished, but clean and perfectly adequate. Could do with a small safe in the rooms. Incredible views over to Ravello from the balcony and public areas. Staff are all very friendly and helpful. Food was all very good, although perhaps a bit procure than you might expect. Good value for money stay.
4 out of 5
by MIKE from Glenview il

Great place in Scala

Posted Aug 11, 2016 on Hotels
Wonderful team at LaMagherita - made us feel very welcome and accomodating in all requests. Especially loved the breakfasts on the 3rd floor overlooking the valley
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 18, 2016 on Orbitz
Great clean hotel on the Amalfi Coast. Very quiet and relaxed atmosphere.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from London

Beautiful location, but lacking some comforts

Posted Jul 9, 2016
Location: Trattoria da Lorenzo is a local restaurant that you simply must visit. The food and service are almost too good. Ask the bar staff to reserve a table
If you want to get away from the hustle and bustle of Amalfi for a quiet, peaceful night's sleep in fresh mountain air then Villa Giuseppina is the perfect spot for a relaxing getaway. The views from their many terraces - bar, restaurant, breakfast and bedroom terraces, pool - are stunning, truly awe-inspiring. We hired a car for the week, and the drive to Amalfi was not too inconvenient, taking only 10-15mins max (in early July). There are regular shuttle buses from the town square if you don't want to drive. Ravello is only 5mins away across the valley (walking distance if you're fit!) and is another beautiful spot to visit, wander around and eat in. It also hosts world-renowned music festivals each summer. Our only complaints concern certain hotel amenities; mid-meal snacks are not formally on offer, so if you can't get to breakfast by 9.30am, or if you miss lunch and can't wait for the restaurant to open in the evening you might go hungry. The bar staff were very accommodating though and did what they could when asked. Wi-Fi is strictly limited to the reception area of the hotel, which means you're stuck with italian-language TV if you want an evening in vegging, and you'll have to Skype rather publicly. These are relatively minor gripes given the cleanliness of the rooms and the swimming pool and the friendliness of the staff, but equally they are, these days basic comforts and easily remedied.
3 out of 5
by _oleg

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 29, 2014 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Elaine from Ottawa

Lovely old town, great location

Posted Sep 27, 2014 on Hotels
We have just returned from 5 nights at this hotel. The staff, Carla, Francesca and Cecilia were all very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was on a lovely balcony with views of Ravello..coffee, juice and buns, croissants...anything else was extra. Great outdoor pool and pool side chairs. Nice bar for lunch. We only had lunch there once but was very good. A beautiful view of Ravello from our balcony. Only down side was hard mattress which is common we think in Italy hotels. It was the perfect location to visit the local towns and we enjoyed 2 wonderful music concerts in Ravello. Free parking .
5 out of 5
by AT from NY, NY

Great!

Posted Aug 19, 2014 on Hotels
The hotel manager was absolutely great, if it wasn't for her we would have missed many great things as the turist info centers are useless ans self contradictory. I wish we were able to pre-pay online, hotels.com said it had to be cash while the management was expecting CC. I ended paying in cash losing many bonus points and miles. :(
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice view, hotel however showing signs of age

Posted Jul 20, 2014
Pros: View is it's main asset, could be nice but owners seem reluctant to run it as a cosmopolitan high quality hotel as oppose to a provincial hang-out
Cons: Prioritise your guests and be concerned for their well being Vs your non-guests friends who do not care how noisy or badly behaved their kids are.
Location: Be prepared to walk to any decent restaurants which are in Ravello or Amalfi.
Nice'ish hotel, they mean well but not impressed by the pool being open to everyone in the local town including extremely noisy and unruley children, rather dampened the whole experience. Most of the staff are really well meaning and try to make for a nice stay, Maria at breakfast is fantastic and goes out of her way to make things nice but can't but help feel the owners not putting back into the hotel e.g. some room furniture pretty dilapidated and the circus around the pool which guests are paying for and expecting a relaxing break smacks of local town first, guests second. This our second stay at the hotel (the first about 4 years ago) and it's definately not the same.
4 out of 5
by Larry M.

Villa Giuseppina

Posted Oct 28, 2012 on Hotels
Beautiful view of Ravello from our room's veranda! The hotel is in a small town across the ravine from Ravello, a quick 5' ride away, with a wonderful restaurant just down the road at the Villa Margherita. Although we only stayed one night, British visitors whom we met at breakfast had stayed for 2 weeks and were overwhelmed by the friendliness of the staff, quality of the restaurant and quiet surroundings away from the crowds of Ravello. Rooms are good sized, plain, and bathrooms adequate.
1 out of 5
by De Gian

Posted Sep 28, 2012 on Hotels
The bathroom was very dirty, mold in shower and moldy shower curtain, dirty towels behind door when we arrived, I got them to change shower curtain to one that was also moldy, never cleaned shower. Breakfast was a joke...it was included with room bread and coffee and tea, juice, anything else extra. The hours were ridiculour 7:00 am to 8:15 am what a way to sleep in on a vacation. The tv did not work and it was about a 10 inch tv. If you wanted to put your water in refrigerator it was 3 euros a day The restaurant connected to the hotel was not friendly at all. You ordered an appetizer and they brought it befor your drink and brought your dinner also of course we sent the dinner back and they brought it later and it was the same food and cold. We have never been in an Italian restaurant where they rushed you from the time you entered and then rushed you out. And it was not reasonable like other places. The location was very difficult to find. Was not happy at all............and would certainly not recommend to anyone!