Ratings based on 72 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

I enjoyed my stay. The staff were friendly and wer

Posted Nov 7, 2016
Location: The location is easy to find and is about 3 miles from the Battle of Culoden site.
The rooms are to a high standard as is the food. The staff are friendly. The Hotel is well situated,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Grampian

Wedding venue

Posted Oct 18, 2016
Pros: The sheer comfort
Cons: Bathroom lighting (mirror) and a sign with the drink prices at the bar of the wedding
Location: Located a 5 min drive from Inverness with all its attractions. Clay shooting nearby and easy access to the A9
My wife and I found the Drumossie a comfortable and relaxing venue if a little pricey. We attended my sons wedding and resided for 2 nights which included 2 breakfasts and a wedding feast. The breakfasts were included in our room rate and we thought ample and well cooked although some of our fellow guests did not partake as they thought the prices a bit too heavy. The breakfast room is very comfortable and the service good if a little stretched at busy times. One little gripe which didn't bother me as I don't like baked beans, was that you had the choice of black pudding or baked beans , this didn't bother my wife either as she doesn't like black pudding, so not really a gripe just an observation. Our room overlooked the main entrance and was well sound proofed and well appointed and a nearby lift is a welcome aid to access. The coffee/tea tray is well stocked including drinking chocolate and shortbread and Glenlivet water is also made available. The bed was a kingsize and wonderfully comfortable, one of the best I have slept on. The rooms had a nice temperature and the TV had a large scope of channels. The bathroom was large and included a separate shower cube next to a full size bath. Water had a good flow and there were plenty shower gells etc. There was a separate shaving mirror but this was not much cope as the room was a little under lit, but all in all an excellent room. The wedding venue for the service and the meal was excellent and the dance room has a large floor.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Elegant hotel at excellent price.

Posted Oct 12, 2016
Pros: Helpful staff. Feeling of staying in a really nice hotel. Felt at home. Great breakfasts.
Cons: Evening meal in dining room- food was delicious but portions a bit small.
Location: Countryside setting. Opportunity to walk on country roads for exercise and scenery. Need some sort of transport to get to town nearby.
Clean spacious room . Comfy bed. Nice bathroom. Pretty view of surrounding greenery from the Windows.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Mc

Overbooked, Moved to Kingsmills Club and Spa

Posted Sep 12, 2016
The Drummossie overbooked (not exactly sure how they managed that & heard I wasn't the only one either). Not impressed; they only had my US phone number and didn't think to email me (other places I stayed di, so they had my email address). I showed up after a long drive and had to drive somewhere else. However, they moved me to the Kingsmills Club and Spa (another 4 star hotel), which was in a more central location and was absolutely lovely. I had a garden room with a patio and a view of the golf course. The onsite restaurant was wonderful, a hot stone massage relaxing and reasonably priced, and the had an onsite gym and indoor pool.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington

Felt like an old folk's home.

Posted Sep 10, 2016
Out-of-date, smelled musty and the furniture looked like it belonged in my Grandmother's living room. They did, however, have a nice bathroom.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from toronto

Exceptional service

Posted Aug 31, 2016
Close to the A9. My husband and I felt a little young when strolling the lobby, and it has a traditional decor. But the cleanliness was great with all of the amenities.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Rockford, IL USA

Just average

Posted Aug 18, 2016
Not really a hotel to spend your vacation. Probably OK for a conference center but nothing special and not worth what I paid. Was told upon check-in that breakfast was not included. Found later in my reservation details it should have been. They did make it right and served us even though the window for breakfast was closed. On the the next hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close but just not quite right.

Posted Aug 18, 2016
Pros: Lovely waitress who spent time talking with our daughter.
Cons: Staff training needs to be cascaded to non-Scottish staff.
Location: Do the Jacobite Cruise - full day (Passion) very good day out.
Check-in staff convinced I had not pre-paid through Expedia. I was told they "don't do this kind of thing!" Only upon checkout was it explained that though I had paid, Expedia don't pay them until after checkout. No apology received. Waitress lovely but chef did not know his own menu and kept missing items off which made the food quite bland - Posh Fish & Chips with no lemon mayonnaise became simply Fish & Chips. 3 scoop Ice Cream promised as Vanilla, Strawberry and cherry with fruit compote arrived as 2 scoops of vanilla and one of mint without fruit compote, which would never have gone with mint anyway. Room was lovely, although we had upgraded. Complementary e-mail did not work second night of two - was it a coincidence that a senior Scottish politician was also staying at the hotel? Could it be that his e-mail security was deemed more important than everyone else in the hotel put together?!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from dallas

Outskirts of town

Posted Aug 3, 2016
Pros: Dinner food,location,service
Cons: Drapes that block out morning light. Sun rises before 5 am in summer
Location: Close to Culloden battlefield and museum. Require a car to get into central portion of town
Old world hotel on outskirts of town. Nice venue for weddings. Rooms are pleasant and large. Well decorated. Pillows comfortable, but beds are only average comfort. Restaurant is formal and quality of dinner menu items excellent. Reasonable value for meal. Breakfast buffet nice but limited to continental without meat,eggs or cheese.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

One night stay

Posted Aug 1, 2016
The hotel was fantastic, the room was a great size for me, my partner and our infant baby. We had a great sleep on a brilliant, massive and comfy bed. All round a great stay. We will be back.