Ratings based on 32 Verified Reviews

3.0 out of 5
69% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
2.6 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NYC

Bad Hotel with small rooms

Posted Sep 21, 2016
Pros: None
Cons: Close it.
The rooms in the non-street side do not have windows, shared bathrooms are not clean. The hotel does not provide towels. The price is very expensive for the provided services.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 15, 2016 by jose luis, Hotel Management
nuestras habitaciones son justas, solo lo necesario para dormir, camas comodas , ropa limpia, baños limpios, estamos muy bien situados en la ciudad y tratamos dar un trato simpatico y agradable a nuestros clientes
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

A good hostal.

Posted Jul 15, 2015
Pros: Colorful room decorations and big windows. We had a room with a good room plan.
Cons: Not enough electrical outlets. A bit noisy (outside noise audible inside the room) but that's ok... we were in Spain. :D
Location: Good location to us. Fairly close to the Santa Justa train station. Many good places to eat and shop around.
We enjoyed the hostal and could consider to stay again in Hostal Catedral.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Not much good to say here.

Posted Jun 25, 2015
Pros: It could be great - the interior is quite classic and it's clear it's an older hotel and the cleaning lady was very nice
Cons: That one receptionist needs to be told how to talk to paying customers. If we're causing problems, politely ask - don't demand. Do that and it's ok.
Location: Main road Menedez Palayo is close by that allows for a reasonably quick walk into the centre.
Good location (bit hard to find though) and the cleaning lady was very nice. About the two good things to say about this hotel. I stayed here with my girlfriend and we were very lucky it wasn't too hot in Seville because the air conditioning remote is another 30EU. The bed was broken so you had to be very very careful about it, one of the toilets had a broken lock and both of the shared bathrooms had a room in between the two (pity the poor girls staying there). There was free wifi but it didn't really reach into the rooms, you had to stand outside. One night my girlfriend and I came back, went to bed and were quietly whispering to each other for a bit, just chatting. Suddenly there was loud rapping at the door, I opened it and the receptionist downstairs angrily complained that we were being too loud. We really weren't. In any case, any concerns she had about customers being woken up went out the door during her sudden outburst. I don't know how she heard us talking but in any case, if you're not allowed to talk quietly with your girlfriend in your room then that's not an appropriate hotel in my opinion. I once stayed in a mosquito-infested converted shed in North Germany and I swear I would give a better review to that place. Even if it wasn't for the incident with the angry woman at the door, it's really not an impressive place. It would be acceptable (sans crazy employee) at maybe half the price.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hostel, bad wifi at third floor cold rooms

Posted Feb 25, 2015
The wifi signal is almost nothing at third floor At winter the rooms are very cold.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mode from Lithuania

Basic hostel in a really good location!

Posted Jun 19, 2014
Hostel is nice, clean and with a kind staff. Some rooms are without any windows to outside. Very good location, for two and a half days we didn't need any transport. Air conditioner can be used for an extra 3 euros per day, worth it for sure. A little bit noisy at night.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very noisy but pretty building

Posted Sep 30, 2013
If you can sleep through loud noises then you might enjoy this spot- typical Andalusian guesthouse style, with a center reception area that opens to the top floor and balconies overlooking. Unfortunately, that means all the sounds of people coming and going (plus VERY old squeaky, banging doors) reverberate throughout the hotel at all hours of the night and morning. Also lots of street noise, back of hotel might be better. The room was very clean though too much furniture- couldn't open the door all the way because of a bureau in the way. The shared bath was fine but a poorly-placed window- perhaps a screen of some sort? Also- 3 euro extra for AC per night. The staff was great!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

bad hotel

Posted Jan 13, 2013
Dont ever use this hotel. They will charge your credit card without permission
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Matthew from London

A nice stay in Seville

Posted Mar 2, 2012
Pros: Friendly staff
Location: Very central
Arriving at the hotel I was greeted by a friendly man. He spoke quite well in English and was very friendly. Offered me towels to use in the room and advised me there were refreshments I could buy and the prices were good. The room was basic - a double bed, table and wardrobe but was comfortable. The shared washing facilities were basic but clean. Pretty much in the centre. I enjoyed my stay but it wouldn't suit all.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from New York City, NY

Depends what type of experience you're looking for!

Posted Jun 15, 2010
First of all, not even my taxi driver knew where the street of this hotel is! Turns out it's not on a driving street, but on a super small street where you can only go by foot. Once I finally found the place, I thought it was cute. Plus, once you get to know the area, you find that you are right in the center of a lot of the cultural destinations (within walking distance), and the little street area is super rich in Sevillan shops and tapas restaurants. I felt like I was getting more of a cultural experience where this hotel is situated, rather than a typical tourist trip, which is the reason why I'd say Seville was my favorite city I saw as part of my Spain trip. My room was nice, the receptionist was friendly and talked to me about options I had around the city. Definitely take them up on their flamenco ticket discount!!! However, while I can't say that they DON'T speak English, it certainly benefited me the fact that I speak Spanish... Also, I don't know why this hotel says it takes credit card and offers free wifi. I had no wifi, there's a computer in the lobby but you're not allowed to use it. And I'd just been robbed the day before in Barcelona and had very little cash (which I expressed to them), but they still wouldn't allow me to pay by credit card. All in all, you'll feel very safe in this hotel, and it is clean and very cost-effective. Just be prepared to speak some Spanish and have cash on hand!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from la garde ,france

Hôtel bien situé au coeur de la ville.

Posted Nov 11, 2016
Sympathique et accueillant. En retrait de la route principale. Simple chambre mais très propre. Problème avec les portes qui grince et claque facilement.Isolation sommaire entre les chambres.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 19, 2016 by jose luis, Hotel Management
gracias por sus comentarios, somo un alojamiento economico muy bien situados y tratamos de hacer el mejor servicio para que los clientes se sientan comodos, dentro de las limitaciones de categoria y los precios, cierto.