Ratings based on 23 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
47% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by Jorunn

No consistency in quality

Posted Dec 9, 2017 on Hotels
Sometimes no cutlery to be found for breakfast anywhere, dirty tables & mats. Sometimes no toilet paper, tissues & liquid soap in room. All inclusive warm beer & local spirits served in tiny plastic cups (not environmental friendly) not acceptable for a "5*hotel". No outside proper bar for regular guests, and ice cubes hard to get. 1st room for a 14 days stay, was huge - but with 2* quality. (Not been refurbished in the last 25 years, incl. the TV!), so we complained, and the 2nd room was very good. On the plus side: The hotel has high potential, with beautiful architecture & layout. Got bathrobes & slippers, tea/coffee facilities.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 27, 2017 by Dina, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback, we apologize about the missing cutlery and the amenities we will pass on all your comments to the management so they can do the necessary. Happy New Year
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Old and run down

Posted Nov 24, 2017
The hotel is in bad need of maintenance and renovation. Cleanliness is an issue everywhere; lobby, restaurants, room, general areas, etc. I had the all inclusive package but had to go eat outside as the quality of the food was below standard.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 27, 2017 by Dina, Hotel Management
We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay and specially the food, we will pass on your feedback to the management so they can work on fixing all of the above
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

Do not stay here!

Posted Sep 4, 2017
Let's start by saying the Sonesta hospitality staff are nice and helpful they are trying to be accommodating in the midst of disrepair. The managers are either exhausted by the complaints or don't care. Room: mattresses need to be replaced they are so old a tough it caused my backache ; air conditioning is not the greatest in one room it just wasn't working in the other it was not "central" to the sleeping area which meant lowering to provide relief at night. All inclusive: I've been to many (> 10) this has always meant just that ALL aspects of the resort are a part of the payment. At Sonesta you have to be aware of times and which restaurants this is applicable. On vacation this is the last think I want to be thinking about. Facilities: there is no gym or fitness room! Although a part of their 32 amenities once there they say "it's not working right now" same Again I want to emphasize that employees are doing a decent job but the owner of Sonesta Beach Resort and Casino needs to do some extreme upgrades.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from new york

Horrible terrible experience

Posted Aug 31, 2017
This hotel has a policy that no visitors or guests are allowed to visit the patrons even in the lobby including my wife and baby child. The hotel mgmt claims these are instructions of the touristic police. What a dumb policy just like the idiot and Moran who came up with it! Wonder what kind of fool would like to spend a vacation in sharm elsheikh with a policy and people who think like that? Not worth anyone's business!! And the entire city is wondering why their business is slow and little tourists are showing up?? Dddddddahhhh!!!!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

acceptable

Posted Aug 23, 2017
The hotel needs renovation, and little away from the main attraction, however the staff is nice and helpful.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very good trip

Posted Jul 29, 2017 on Hotels
100%
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Moscow

Empty Sharm

Posted Apr 28, 2017
Pros: Relax.
Cons: Mosguitos
Location: Huge Naama bay, if going to the beach of Ghazala Hotel you can see rare fishes in the left corner of the beach.
Rest in Egypt in 2017. Fly conveniently through Istanbul. I recommend to spend a couple of days in Istanbul, from Sabena airport to the center of Tassim there is one express, from Tassim to Attatürk another, four dollars each. So the flight to Sharm is three hours, ten minutes by taxi and Sonesta. Good weather, not hot, warm sea, very good food. Not quite a comfortable place for swimming, because at low tide the stones are too shallow, but you can always go into the water on any beach in Naama Bay. It is very important right behind the buoys at Sonesta there are corals, the only hotel Naama where corals can be viewed every day. A large area, lots of greenery, and a lot of mosquitoes. Be sure to get a basket of fruit, and more than once. Very polite staff, and in the restaurant, and on arrival, and on the beach, and room service. A few days later I wanted to relax at the Baron Hotel, because it is located on the open sea and accordingly the other marine fauna. In Sonesta, I booked through Expedia. Several days half-board to lose weight, then all inclusive and also booked Baron. But this is another story.
4 out of 5
by Patrick

Affordable Sharm Hotel

Posted Feb 26, 2017 on Hotels
Sharm El Sheikh is a great destination and the Sonesta is an excellent and affordable place to stay. Pools are everywhere and the beach is a little small, but fun nonetheless. Staff is knowledgeable and helpful.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Niagara Falls Canada

Stay away from this place!

Posted Feb 14, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: The food and chefs were good.
Cons: Everything
Location: Location OK near the end of bay.
Rude and errogant staff at reception. First room had mold on ceiling and corners of bath tub and shower curtain had a smell that was disgusting. Floors were dirty and sand everywhere. After asking for another we got a room that you had to sit sideways on the toilet as you couldn't sit down property without your legs hitting a wall. Room had a urine smell even after they supposedly cleaned it before we changed room. Now the best part! We developed bed bug bites over all parts of our bodies. They call this a 5* resort so you decided what it is! You would be a fool to ever stay at this hotel.
3 out of 5
by Alan

Dated and run down

Posted Aug 25, 2016 on Hotels
Room and other areas were dated and looked run down... didn't match the website pictures