Ratings based on 1,026 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel in Meguro.

Posted Dec 24, 2017
Pros: Convenience and location.
Cons: Getting a little run down. Needs a few more plugs for electronic devices in the rooms.
Nice hotel in Meguro. Close to the train station and convenient for Ebisu and other interesting parts of Tokyo.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston

Close to the station. Great view of Mt. Fuji

Posted Dec 22, 2017
Need to be up grade....I stayed on early December, constitution going on next neighbor, noisy and smell.. Great housekeeping !!. It was VERY clean. Building was just too old.... I had a beautiful view of Mt. Fuji every morning from the room!!! Very close to the station.
2 out of 5
by Mark

Convenient location - but in need of an upgrade

Posted Nov 20, 2017 on Hotels
I stayed at the Hotel Princess Garden (HPG) for 3 nights having business in the area. The HPG is located a few minute walk from the Meguro Station that intersects several lines, including the JR Yamanote Line and the Tokyo Meguro line. So location is prime for access. There are also many small-to-large restaurants within walking distance. However, there is not much shopping nearby. In spite of the good location and access, I was very disappointed with the hotel. The HPG is simply an old, tired hotel that has not been maintained, upgraded nor improved for a very long time. This might be acceptable for a budget hotel - however the HPG is a high priced hotel for the area. The carpets in the hallways and rooms (at least my room) were warn-out in spots and stained. The wall paper in my room was beginning to peal off at the seams. The mattress was absolutely rock hard. There were no air-conditioning controls in the room - only a fan control that blew in air that you could not control the temperature. In spite of the HPG supposed to be catering to non-Japanese tourists, the television had only Japanese-language channels. The bathroom is the "pre-fabricated" variety, which was not well maintained and not the cleanest. On the plus side, the wireless internet worked well, it was quite, and the lobby is well appointed. So my recommendation is that there is better value available nearby.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Posted Nov 16, 2017
Pros: Small hotel located in nice, quiet suburban street. Very convenient location
Cons: Room size could be bigger as two people with two suitcases is a squeeze Otherwise no other issues
Location: Meguro station has connecting trains to other areas plus on the JR line Area is not too busy either
Hotel in quiet area, central to subway, shops etc. room was very clean but small and compact , not much room to move around if you have 2 suitcases open. Small hotel but everything works. Will definitely stay here again.
3 out of 5
by Jorge

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 14, 2017 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from san diego, ca

Did not work out.

Posted Nov 12, 2017
Pros: Maybe location
Cons: everything
Location: The location was ok nearby Meguro station.
Did not work out for me. Room was very small & very old. I purchased breakfast package but breakfast serve from 7am to 10am. I had to leave before 7am for meeting every day so no use. No air conditioner (cooler) this time of year.(11/6-11/10) It was too hot to sleep. I would never stay here again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Japanese Room

Posted Oct 27, 2017
Pros: The outdoor garden.
Location: It is near the Meguro station, with many restaurants.
This was a typical Japanese room. Very small bathroom, very small room overall. There were two small twin beds which made it great because I was able to at least open my suitcase on the other bed. Price was right for the slight inconvenience. Hotel staff inconsistent depending on which staff you asked for help. Some great, some clearly not willing to go the extra way for service. They were all polite, but easier to simply say no. From the Narita airport, take the airport express bus to the Sheridan and then a short taxi ride to the Hotel Princess Garden. Which truly had a lovely outdoor garden.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Overall good hotel on the main Tokyo circle line

Posted Sep 10, 2017
Pros: The location is great and the staff are nice.
Cons: The bed covers had cigarette holes burned into them and maybe some shelving for the smaller rooms to improve the storage space.
Location: Close to a main station with good transport links, great (and cheap!) places to eat nearby (Coco Ichiban is amazing), nice canal walk nearby as well.
This is the second time I've stayed here - I would definitely advise to get a deluxe economy room unless you are a very light packer. We had stayed in one previously after being upgraded and the wifi was fine (the floor seemed to have its own wifi) and there was plenty of space. In the normal economy rooms there is no wardrobe - a peg hangs either side of the mirror if you want to hang anything up and as we were on a lower floor we were expected to use the open wifi for which we never had a signal - we hired a portable wifi so this luckily wasn't an issue but could be frustrating if you were relying on it. Storage space for things like makeup and toiletries was also limited (but again,if you're a light packer it's less of an issue - I do carry a lot of stuff). Room itself is clean with loads of free toiletries (razors, toothbrush/toothpaste, hair brush, body cloth, towels and face wash/soap/body wash/shampoo) and complimentary pajamas, water and green tea, staff were nice as always and the laundrette is useful.
4 out of 5
by Lance

Aloha from Hawaii

Posted Sep 7, 2017 on Hotels
Great location. Very convenient. Near 2 train stations. Nice neighborhood. My room was clean and quiet. I always stay here when I am in the area. Great value.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice somewhat older hotel in a good location

Posted Jun 28, 2017
Nice somewhat older hotel in a good location (Meguro). Rooms are standard business hotel type.