Ratings based on 56 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Syracuse, NY

Nice motel with fantastic staff

Posted Sep 30, 2016
Pros: The over the top staff!
Cons: Pillows (my wife is picky about them).
Location: 5 minute walk to the Raptor Center, Totem Walk (National Historic Park), Baranov Island Brewing Company, Science Center, Post Office, beach.
We chose EBI for its location near our daughters residence, free breakfast and its free transportation to the airport/ferry terminals. The room was nice, the continental breakfast good, the location OK and the staff over the top fantastic! We started our trip with a call the the desk for a ride from the airport and got no answer, not a good start. But they called back within a few minutes and we were on our way. The motel is located in a strip mall (shared with stores and a decent pizza place) across from a small beach. It is about a half hour (or less) walk (or a $7 taxi) from the heart of town, but only about five minutes from the Baranof Brewery, the Raptor Center and Totem Pole Park. It is on the bus line (doesn't run on weekends). The front desk is not always manned, but someone is available by phone. This is a long-time Sitka family-owned and operated motel. We enjoyed the breakfast chatting with other guests and Vicki. Our ferry out was not until early evening, so we spent the day in town. We needed a ride to get to the ferry and we were offered to be picked up in town for our trip to the ferry dock. When she heard that our clothes were still wet from some rainy day hiking (this is southern Alaska), she offered to put the wet clothes in the motel drier to get them dry. She then loaded the clothes and our luggage into the van and came and got us to our ferry. Way "above and beyond the call of duty". A great experience and I would stay there again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Australia

New clean hotel with very helpful staff

Posted Sep 22, 2016
The hotel is unpretentious and utilises the top floor of a small shopping centre, but the rooms are large and clean, the location is very quiet and everything works well. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The only negative was the beds, which were clearly quite new, squeaked loudly with every slight movement.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from west coast

pleasantly surprised

Posted Sep 20, 2016
Cons: Stronger wifi
Friendly, helpful staff. Coffee, pastries, etc available 24/7. Nice, clean room with water view & good bed & bath. Great Mexican/pizza restaurant just a couple doors down?
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very decent

Posted Sep 13, 2016
This is a great place to stay. It's clean and comfortable and the staff goes out of their way. You can't ask for more in a small town.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Juneau, AK

Awful check in but turned around, nice view

Posted Sep 8, 2016
Pros: Clean, view
Cons: Check in process. Receiving Expedia reservations. Attitude of some staff.
Location: Right across from the water/boat ramp.
Waited in the lobby for over 15 minutes for someone to show up to check us in. Finally someone walked in to the front desk at the same time as another group of travelers. I had been waiting and standing at the desk and was told that they did not have my reservation and was asked to step aside so she could check in the other people who had just arrived AFTER me. It was very rude and I had a reservation as well and had already been waiting a long time. I booked an ocean view room and after the other people were checked in I was told there were no more ocean view rooms by another staff. Very disappointing check in process. After waiting another half hour the other staff, Amber, moved some things around and got us into the ocean view room we booked through Expedia but they said they did not receive the reservation. Amber really turned things around for us and had it not been for her we would have went somewhere else. The other disappointing factor after we had checked in was to find that their wifi did not work and there was no cell service or landline in the room which was extremely frustrating when we needed to be connected for work and school. Room was clean and comfortable with a nice view though.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Quiet, Out of main street.

Posted Sep 8, 2016
Pros: Very friendly owner/family. Close to everything. Best continental breakfast ever. comfy bed
Location: Short walk to Rapture center, and very close to Natl. Historical Park,which also leads into town.
Had quick response for shuttle to hotel. Amber was really friendly and also checked me in. Room was very nice. Comfortable bed. Vicky, the Had quick response for pickup at airport. Amber was friendly and also checked me in. Vicky,the owner was very personable and makes everyone feel welcome. Great location, right on the bay and near attractions.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 26, 2016 on Hotels
WiFi didn't work. Shuttle driver for the airport did not show up. The rooms were very nice, the hotel is in a strip mall, but the owners were very willing to provide shuttle rides to town.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good Accommodations in Sitka

Posted Aug 21, 2016
This hotel is not in downtown but close enough to walk. The hotel picked me up at the airport as promised and even took me at 5:00 am to the airport for my early flight. The rooms were clean and the breakfast was fine for my needs. The staff went out of their way to make my stay a good one.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 18, 2016
Vicki was awesome. Pick up service, attentive to our needs, just can't say enough, love this place!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Comptche, CA

Squeaky clean, great staff, but pack earplugs.

Posted Aug 16, 2016
Pros: Miss Vicky and her lovely, caring, supportive, truly friendly ways. Squeaky clean room!
Cons: Add tissues to the bathroom. Heavier, sound damping curtains, if possible. Otherwise, provide truly high quality ear plugs for the night.
Location: Sitka Sound Science Center with Ludwig's Clam Chowder next door! Sheldon Jackson Museum! Russian Orthodox Church & Bishop's House! Tongass Threads!
Miss Vicky picked us up promptly at the Sitka Airport and delivered us to our squeaky clean, harbor view room. She's a truly joyful soul and did everything possible to make us feel welcome and cared for. Everything about this hotel is truly nice, except it's location. Keep in mind - it's truly squeaky clean The only downside is it's in a mini-strip mall on one of Sitka's major roads, so the traffic noise can't be ignored. Bring good earplugs. There's a good market nearby with a reasonable alcohol selection. Minor gripe - no tissues and breakfast offerings lean towards sweet pastries, but that's just me!