Ratings based on 87 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Disappointing experience

Posted Apr 2, 2018
I arrived and had to call a number just to be let in the lobby. Amanda arrived 5 minutes later and got me checked in. I was told there would be coffee at 6am. Out of the 4 mornings I was there coffee was made on time once. The continental breakfast was decent and tasty. The bed was not as comfortable as hiped. And the light on the nightstand was broken. At checkout...again nobody was there and I just left the keys at the desk. Just a little disappointed in the customer service. The views were spectacular and Grandma Tillies Bakery across the street wss wonderful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alaska

A wonderful welcome and a wonderful stay.

Posted Jan 22, 2018
Pros: The room was impeccably clean. The breakfast fresh and full of variety.
Cons: Can't think of anything.....
Location: We had a great view of the bay and a walk through the woods to the town central.
Turned out to be a perfect location close to a great place to eat and some interesting shops. Exceptionally quiet and the personnel ever so helpful. We hope to return for another visit next year. .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from GA

Nice Find

Posted Sep 7, 2017
Pros: Clean & Cozy
Cons: Nothing
Location: It was a bit of a hike from town, but a short walk to Sitka National Historic Park and Baranoff Brewery.
This was the first we stayed in Alaska so we didn't really know what to expect, but we were picked us up at the airport as promised, and we had a nice stay. The view of the water was beautiful from our room. The room was clean and cozy, and we had a nice continental breakfast before leaving.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco, CA

Nice clean place to stay.

Posted Aug 14, 2017
Pros: The very friendly people who worked and stay there. The always open breakfast area to get snacks or drinks.
Cons: Have more places in the down stairs rooms to hang clothes. Maybe a soundproof door at the entrance to the hallway to shut off random noises.
Location: Good Location..
The room and bathroom was very clear. We were on the ground floor and since the reception's desk and breakfast area is just down the hall it would become noisy sometime very early in the morning. Needed more places to hang clothes in the bedroom. It was an easy walk to the Alaska Raptor Center, Sitka National Historical Park with their Native totem poles etc. There is also an longer hike up Indian River Trail that end at a beautiful waterfalls.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from State College, PA

Hotel on the outskirts of Sitka

Posted Aug 2, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: Although out-of-town, it is in a small commercial plaza that has a decent Mexican & pizza restaurant and a marijuana store.
An ordinary motel that is on the outskirts of Sitka. Nice bay views. Access to town would be much faster if the footbridge over the Indian River was functional. It's about a half-hour walk to the center of town with the bridge out of commission.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 1, 2017
Pros: The owner was very friendly
Cons: Better beds they were really squeeky
Location: Fish!
Had fun fishing. Good restaurant right next door.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Texas

Very bad experience

Posted Jul 27, 2017
Pros: Not much
Cons: Customer Service
Location: There is nothing nearby.
They left us stranded at the airport, then after getting alternate transportation to the hotel, we had to wait another 1/2 hour for someone to arrive to let us check into our rooms. Then we were told they would refund part of the room expense, but they did not.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from texas

Posted Jul 24, 2017
Could not get in 1st night and had to stay in another hotel. No one would call us back.
2 out of 5
by Kent

Sleep deprivation

Posted Jul 20, 2017 on Hotels
Understand that there will not be anyone on duty when you arrive. You will call a number and then wait for someone to show up. Be sure not to stay on the first floor because you will hear everything that happens in the lobby, such as conversations between the owner and early morning (5:15) guests, as well as dramatic domestic relations calls at 1:45 AM. But, they do provide transport for those without cars.
1 out of 5
by Carol J

BEWARE OF MAKING A RESERVATION AT EAGLE BAY INN!

Posted Jul 17, 2017 on Hotels
We confirmed on Friday 6/30 that we would arrive on 7/1 and would need a shuttle pick up at 9AM from the Westmark hotel. We were bewildered when no shuttle came and no one answered the phone at either number given by the Inn. After waiting/calling with no success we took a taxi there and found no one there and no note. We contacted Hotels.com to report the situation and a representative did finally reach the hotel and they indicated a shuttle was available and they would pick us up. However, we called to confirm and were told the shuttle wouldn't pick us until the keys were found. Given the irresponsibility exhibited thus far and having no confidence of when we would be picked up then or brought to the airport the following morning we cancelled. I have not received the refund I deserve!