Ratings based on 84 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from GA

Nice Find

Posted Sep 7, 2017
Pros: Clean & Cozy
Cons: Nothing
Location: It was a bit of a hike from town, but a short walk to Sitka National Historic Park and Baranoff Brewery.
This was the first we stayed in Alaska so we didn't really know what to expect, but we were picked us up at the airport as promised, and we had a nice stay. The view of the water was beautiful from our room. The room was clean and cozy, and we had a nice continental breakfast before leaving.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco, CA

Nice clean place to stay.

Posted Aug 14, 2017
Pros: The very friendly people who worked and stay there. The always open breakfast area to get snacks or drinks.
Cons: Have more places in the down stairs rooms to hang clothes. Maybe a soundproof door at the entrance to the hallway to shut off random noises.
Location: Good Location..
The room and bathroom was very clear. We were on the ground floor and since the reception's desk and breakfast area is just down the hall it would become noisy sometime very early in the morning. Needed more places to hang clothes in the bedroom. It was an easy walk to the Alaska Raptor Center, Sitka National Historical Park with their Native totem poles etc. There is also an longer hike up Indian River Trail that end at a beautiful waterfalls.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 1, 2017
Pros: The owner was very friendly
Cons: Better beds they were really squeeky
Location: Fish!
Had fun fishing. Good restaurant right next door.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Texas

Very bad experience

Posted Jul 27, 2017
Pros: Not much
Cons: Customer Service
Location: There is nothing nearby.
They left us stranded at the airport, then after getting alternate transportation to the hotel, we had to wait another 1/2 hour for someone to arrive to let us check into our rooms. Then we were told they would refund part of the room expense, but they did not.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from texas

Posted Jul 24, 2017
Could not get in 1st night and had to stay in another hotel. No one would call us back.
2 out of 5
by Kent

Sleep deprivation

Posted Jul 20, 2017 on Hotels
Understand that there will not be anyone on duty when you arrive. You will call a number and then wait for someone to show up. Be sure not to stay on the first floor because you will hear everything that happens in the lobby, such as conversations between the owner and early morning (5:15) guests, as well as dramatic domestic relations calls at 1:45 AM. But, they do provide transport for those without cars.
1 out of 5
by Carol J

BEWARE OF MAKING A RESERVATION AT EAGLE BAY INN!

Posted Jul 17, 2017 on Hotels
We confirmed on Friday 6/30 that we would arrive on 7/1 and would need a shuttle pick up at 9AM from the Westmark hotel. We were bewildered when no shuttle came and no one answered the phone at either number given by the Inn. After waiting/calling with no success we took a taxi there and found no one there and no note. We contacted Hotels.com to report the situation and a representative did finally reach the hotel and they indicated a shuttle was available and they would pick us up. However, we called to confirm and were told the shuttle wouldn't pick us until the keys were found. Given the irresponsibility exhibited thus far and having no confidence of when we would be picked up then or brought to the airport the following morning we cancelled. I have not received the refund I deserve!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from North Carolina

Extremely Hostile Manager

Posted Jul 12, 2017
Pros: Except for the outrageous behavior of the front desk manager, it was an acceptable place to stay
Cons: Restructure the Expedia-Hotel agreement so the manager finds it more agreeable, or eliminate this hotel from the Expedia registration system.
The manager became extremely angry and hostile upon my arrival simply because I had booked a room through Expedia. Her rant about my egregious idea of using Expedia went on for about twenty minutes, increasingly belligerent and impassioned. Her hatred for the Expedia booking system (and apparently their customers) was at a full boil from which I had no escape. I explained that my search for a hotel started with viewing the city's website, which then pointed me to Expedia. I had never been to Sitka before so I did not know the name for her hotel. This encounter was the most verbally abusive conversation I have ever encountered. I cannot recommend this hotel for fear of this lady's anger exploding into something physically dangerous.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas, TX

A Comfortable, Affordable Place to Stay

Posted Jul 4, 2017
Pros: Good basic no-frills room. Wi-fi and simple continental breakfast. Good price.
Cons: Communication by phone. 1st line voice mail was full, second line went unanswered, 3rd line was answered. 3rd line is not listed on web site.
Location: Raptor center and Fortress of the Bear are "must dos." National Park and St. Michael's Cathedral are worth the time. Russian Bishop's House
They advertise on the internet as "A Comfortable, Affordable Place to Stay" and that is correct. Don't expect luxury and you will not be disappointed. We stayed two nights before going on a cruise and were happy with our stay. The inn is located in the middle of a business plaza with a hodge-podge of other businesses. If you don't mind walking, it is about a mile to the national park or to the raptor center (both recommended) and about two miles to downtown. It is SE Alaska, so count on rain. Our flight in to Sitka was delayed by about 3 hours and we had some phone calls to get the shuttle late at night, but it all worked out.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Southwest

?

Posted Jul 3, 2017
Pros: Good facility room
Location: nothing near
Staff not on site or at desk on Sat morning, place was empty