Ratings based on 18 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 15, 2016 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dubai

Worst hotel I have ever experienced

Posted Jul 9, 2016
Way too dirty. Rooms old and smelly. I rented a junior suite for over 600$ for 2 nights and i didnt stay 4 hours. I had to check out to go to a more descent place. Staff and management terrible. Food awful. Do not even come close to book there... its the worst experience ever...
5 out of 5
by GOKULA

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 27, 2015 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Waaaaaaay overpriced

Posted Sep 28, 2015
Pros: A number of the staff were very sweet
Cons: The price! It is quite away from everything so you do feel a little isolated. Rooms need a bit of a re-vamp
Location: Pigeon island is very close
This hotel is far too expensive for what it is. It needs some serious renovation to justify the price. The photos on the websites are obviously from a long time ago. If they lowered the price to match the standard then I could recommend it. There seems to be a lot of work going on in the yard which detracts from relaxation. Especially when you have lots of workmen staring at you whilst on the beach or around the pool. The wi fi was very temperamental and only available in the main lobby
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Stained linen, broken fridge.

Posted May 30, 2014
Apart from the stained linens and fridge not working - the hotel is relatively ok. The food was the best thing about it- absolutely great food. Overall though for the price charged - it's simply overpriced
3 out of 5
by Emma from Melbourne

Pigeon island

Posted Apr 23, 2014 on Hotels
This is a basic hotel that will provide for all your needs in a basic fashion. Don't expect lavish. The food is a a little disappointing, as is the lack for shaded options around the pool, but the service was expectionally friendly. Be wary of hotel mark ups for local services. Perhaps try the Nilaveli Beach Hotel down the road is you are looking for a more spectacular experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Liz from Cheltenham

Lovely quiet resort close to snorkeling

Posted Apr 20, 2014
Staff are very attentive and the food is good. We really enjoyed our stay here and it was great value.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by stuart from suffolk, uk

Nice hotel. Isolated. Right on the beach. Quiet.

Posted Apr 19, 2014
Nice place, rooms are 3* standard but perfectly fine. Food is generally very good indeed. Staff very kind and obliging. Right on the beach, great pool. Nice, chilled place. Good for families or couples.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Nice and quiet

Posted Mar 13, 2014 on Hotels
The room was big and had a tv, air conditioning, mini bar and a safe, although the safe was not attached to anything and very small - not big enough to get even an iPad in! Service was good and friendly and they were not pushing about anything. The pool is lovely and there is some shade at all times of the day. During the week days we had the pool to ourselves but the weekend was busier. Wifi was free, but only available in the lobby and pool bar areas and very very slow! We left early on the last day and they made a take away breakfast for us. Only downside was not being able to reduce a 4 night booking to a 3 night booking more than a week out as all the rooms were booked?
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Kathy from Riyadh Saudi Arabia

Pigeon Island Resort Converts

Posted Jan 6, 2012
Pros: The staff are genuinely provide good service. The rooms are clean and the food generally good. Teeming with wildlife. The beach is clean and quiet
Cons: The gym! Of the three pieces of equipment the treadmill was broken and the multi- gym partially worked. The cross trainer worked but is antiquated.
Location: Far from the capital Colombo. From Dambulla onwards the roads are terrible. Try the twice weekly flights from Colombo to Trincomalee.
If initial impressions count then we would have left the Pigeon Island Resort after day one. After an eight hour journey by road from Colombo to Trincomalee with our two children we were very tired and pleasant welcome apart, we did not expect to find a room where the air conditioning and toilet seat were broken and the hand wash basin precariously fixed to the wall. However, the manager listened and by the next day we were moved to another two rooms which were a great improvement on the previous ones. For the remainder of the trip we found the hotel staff to be courteous and attentive but not overbearing. The facilities were clean and the food was generally good;the mutton curry was disappointing- the crab dishes were superb. As hotel prices go, we found them to be reasonable. We loved the beach, whether it was lazing under an umbrella with a book or frolicking in the water. We loved it. Nature lovers would also be delighted. From the comfort of our balcony we saw monkeys, peacocks, chipmunks, amazing butterflies. If you are travelling with youngsters who need more than a pool and the beach for entertainment then then take a few board games with you or have some othertricksup your sleeves. Couples or adults looking for peace and tranquility would love it. My husband and I would definitely return but we would fly toTrincomalee rather than take the road.