Ratings based on 189 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Sista mini vacay 2016!

Posted Aug 25, 2016
Awesome hotel and perfectly situated for fun times in the harbour, on Water Street and George St! Just a few short steps back at the end of busy fun filled nights, PLUS the outdoor courtyard was perfect for cocktail hour! Highly recommend this hotel, so much history to enjoy!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ottawa, On

Unique hotel in heart of downtown

Posted Aug 23, 2016
Exposed brick walls and timber beams, fireplace(electric), jacuzzi tub, lovely amenities, friendly staff, ideal location, wonderful stay
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Medicine Hat, Alberta

Great Location!!!

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Pros: The location was great and it was unique.
Location: Close to restaurants and easy to get out of town to sightsee.
This was my first time to St. John and was very happy that we chose the Murray Premises, it was close to everything. We were able to walk to all of the great restaurants and pubs. We arrived on an early morning flight, they recommended a great place for breakfast and by the time we were finished we were able to get into our room early and have a sleep before exploring the wonderful city. There is a continental breakfast included. The room was very unique with open beam ceiling (it was a warehouse way back). I would definitely recommend this place to stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ottawa, Ontario

The elevator wasn't working - again

Posted Aug 18, 2016
Pros: The location
Cons: Fix that elevator, brighten up the lobby
Overall an OK place but nothing special. Even though we had seen previous reviews where the elevator wasn't working, the front staff presented it as if it were a recent occurrence and that it would be fixed in the morning which obviously wouldn't happen on a Sunday night (and didn't). We ordered a taxi from the front desk for the am - had to call for one in the morning. Breakfast is included but doesn't start until 7 am which is after our departure time. We were able to grab and go at 6:55 fortunately though. The front desk tried to be helpful but is obviously used to apologizing. The location is good but there are lots of other hotel options nearby and the room had a horrible view of airconditioning equipment even though the hotel appeared to far below capacity.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Iowa

Rustic Beautiful Hotel

Posted Aug 17, 2016
Pros: Nothing.
Cons: New elevator.
Location: Shoppes, pubs, restaurants are all right out the back of the hotel.
Right on the waterfront. It's in the middle of everything you'd want to be a part of in downtown St. John's. Room was fantastic. Everything was clean. The courtyard behind the hotel has a beautiful cafe/restaurant/bar. I'd have given it straight 5 stars except we got stuck in the elevator for about 5 minutes. The hotel staff was great about getting the door open. I guess that's just to be expected for a property built in 1846. Seriously, it is one of the best experiences my wife and I have had.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Nice ambiance.

Posted Aug 10, 2016
Pros: It's old brick and timber walls.
Cons: The walls are not sound proof at all. And the elevator was broken.
Location: Great music& a fun time at O'Reilly's on George St. We hiked up to Signal Hill. Take lots of water and be prepared to walk a lot of hills & stairs
Charming old hotel close to George St and everything downtown. We also enjoyed the lovely courtyard bar and restaurant.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ottawa, ON, CANADA

The heartbeat of downtown St. John's

Posted Aug 2, 2016
Location: A block from the George Street Festival and all the best restaurants in town.
This hotel is steeped in historic charm. There is a beautiful courtyard with several food offerings and a nice bar. It's a real hub of social activity. When we arrived they informed us that the only elevator was out of service and we were on the 4th floor. Not good. But they quickly offered to take all our luggage to our room and get us settled in. The next morning they immediately accommodated a move to the first floor so that we could avoid doing all the flights of stairs because I have a bad knee. They really made a rough situation as pleasant as they could with little else to do to solve the elevator problem. We deeply appreciated the special care. The staff was amazing. The hotel is clean, charming and in a perfect location for enjoying the George Street Festival and all that downtown has to offer - all within walking distance. I'd highly recommend this hotel...we loved it!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Guelph, Ontario, Canada

Historic Hotel in the heart of St. John's

Posted Aug 1, 2016
Pros: Ambiance, location, friendly staff.
Cons: The elevator died during our visit.
Location: Lots of restaurants, pubs and shopping within an easy walk.
The hotel is perfectly situated near the shopping on Water Street and the pubs and restaurants on George Street. It is an historic building so it has some quirks - like a gigantic support post in the middle of the bedroom, but the overall ambiance is great. The hospitality room in the lobby has Keurig coffee and snacks and is a pleasant place to relax after exploring the neighbourhood. The only downside during our three-night stay was the old elevator died and we had to walk up and down the stairs to our third-floor room.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto, On

Nice hotel overlooking harbour

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Rooms are spacious and clean. Staff are very friendly. Location is great - with views of the harbour and close to shopping on Water St. A really nice experience!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 20, 2016 by Murray Premises Hotel, Hotel Management
We are happy that you enjoyed your stay. One of the Murray Premises Hotel's key features is our great location, and I am glad to hear that we served as a home base for your visit to St. John's. Just about anything is within walking distance downtown in terms of shopping, nightlife, and history! We appreciate your feedback.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fairfax, VA

Easy walk to St John's activities.

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Pros: Loved the terrific bathroom and accessibility to downtown St. John's
Check in was easy, with friendly staff. Our room was on the 3rd floor, not much of a view, but a terrific bathroom, with whirlpool tub and comfortable bed. We walked about looking at the cruise ship and other ships in the harbor, at George St pubs, and had a great dinner at a restaurant on Water St. Included breakfast was remarkable for the variety of baked goods and variety of fresh fruit (blueberries, raspberries, kiwi, plums, as well as the ubiquitous banana).