Ratings based on 128 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, Canada

Quiet waterfront property with a local island feel

Posted Mar 30, 2017
Pros: The bed was very comfortable, the property is located on the water halfway between Basseterre and Frigate Bay which was our main go to locations.
Cons: The showers in both our rooms needed servicing but they worked well enough for the small amount of time we needed them.
Location: Basseterre is a busy port for cruise ships. Nevis Island is a slower paced island accessible by ferry. Frigate Bay has some good beachside restaurants
My son and I stayed at the Bird Rock for 5 days while we were island hopping from Sint Maarten. The staff was very friendly and our stay there was enjoyable. We both had separate rooms and my room was very comfortable as I was able to sleep well on a very comfortable bed. Understand that this is an older resort so you may have to deal with some issues like a quirky shower that needs a good plumber but the bed sheets were clean and changed daily and the other facilities on the property were great. Unfortunately I was dealing with a head cold so I wasn't able to go diving as was my intention but according to other guests the dive shop located on the property provided a quality service and the diving was excellent. Overall we had a great stay and we were able to explore the island mostly by taxi and one day with a rental car from Bullseye (I would recommend them), the Bird Rock is not a fancy resort but it gave us what we wanted which was to feel we were part of the island, from the friendly stray cats that follow you around to socializing with the staff such as Devin who entertained us with his conversation and big robust laugh.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

nota great location

Posted Mar 23, 2017
Pros: nothing very poor maintenance and security very very poor very high risk for vistors staying there
Cons: security need to have security gaurds upstairs ned to put in alarm in office need to put ion security lights
Location: nothing just homes etc no facilities in the area place is a dump
there was a break in at hotel and money and documents for guests were stolen hotel has no security it is on 3 levels and one man at bottom no security for main level no security for where apartments located looks as if there were a spate of breakin before my arrival hotel owners hav e not put in any security so lives and property of guests are at risk no security cameras no physical security at main entrance or at main apartments situation is very dangerous
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location, inexpensive, helpful staff

Posted Mar 22, 2017
Pros: Right on the water, good view of the sunset, nice swimming.
For the price and short duration of our trip, the hotel was perfect. Front desk staff was helpful in arranging a rental car, and all was quite easy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hants UK

Its had a facelift.

Posted Mar 7, 2017
Pros: It was a clean spruced up hotel with good aircon. The breakfast was nice but rather expensive for such small portions
Cons: Staff shortages. We couldn`t get a drink or food on a couple of afternoons. If the reception is left unmanned leave a note as to when it will be.
Location: Located far enough away out of Town to warrant a car hire or taxi. Decent beach and restaurants/ bars close.
The staff tend not to be around even during the day at the reception. The staff serving breakfast were oh so slow and not interested seemingly. The receptionist was good and did help us out with requests. The room was good with aircon and had a couple of large beds for me and my pal.The room was attended to everyday and in good clean order throughout our stay. Overall very pleased with the hotel and it was a lot better than we were expecting.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to twn.

Posted Mar 5, 2017
Restaurant, hotel staff, and environment was nice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 2, 2017
I recently stayed here for a week and this hotel made a great inexpensive base of operations for my week of scuba diving, snorkeling, and hiking. The dive crew at the hotel were excellent and friendly, a few restaurants on site, friendly staff, clean rooms, and not to far from an inexpensive grocery store. I'd recommend renting a car for ease of mobility. A few days the hot water wasn't working but that's definitely not a deal breaker when it's 80-85* outside. All in all, another great week in the Caribbean on a super chill island.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NY

This is not a beach resort

Posted Jan 7, 2017
It was more of a rock cliff, not a beach. There was no hot water, fridge or microwave in the guest rooms. The AC barely worked. Ice was not available after 9pm. The pool was dirty. The menu was very expensive.. $20 for bacon and eggs. The hotel was expensive overall. The location was very remote and there was no bus access. Most of the employees were very pleasant and helpful, and the sunset view was lovely. The dolphin cove was a nice surprise.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Small, convenient beautiful hotel

Posted Jan 4, 2017 on Hotels
It's always a pleasure spending time at the Bird Rock beach hotel. The staff was very helpful and friendly. The grounds and rooms are well-kept. Looking forward to coming again. Thanks to your lovely staff.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Colorado

beautiful views/lacking in amenities

Posted Sep 18, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: reasonable price for a studio with a balcony and prime view of the sea and seabirds. Quaint. Old school.
Cons: Hot water is really required (not just tepid) because dishes washed in the sink (no dishwasher) need hot water. Kitchenette was very poorly furnished.
Location: Scuba 2 tank trips to fabulous dive sites (wrecks and reefs). 20 minutes walk to the grocery store and outdoor eating mall. not much on-site 4 kids
Be sure and bring your confirmation proof as our reservation was not in the system so the room was not ready (no AC, no frig, no shower curtain). Scenic pool. Convenient, fun scuba shop on site with a small dive boat that really only carries a few divers. The dive masters were a blast so the 2 night stay was tolerable.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 4, 2016 on Hotels
My stay was very pleasant for business. I enjoyed my interaction with the very friendly staff, always willing to please and respond to my requests