Ratings based on 14 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from gloucester

Food and staff were brilliant, we would return

Posted Oct 30, 2016
Pros: Real milk in the room which makes a change to the Travelodge type hotels
Cons: Nothing we got what we excepted for the room cost and more
Location: Lovely villages
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lymington,Hampshire

Lovely hotel in middle of Hampshire village

Posted Oct 24, 2016
Pros: Friendly staff and a very charming lady owner. The low beams of the dining room took some getting used to but added a quirky atmosphere to the place.
Cons: I cannot think of anything.
Location: Stockbridge is a lovely Hampshire village. The shops cater for the hunting, shooting and fishing set. Both Winchester and Salisbury are nearby.
My brother and I walk together once a year to catch up as we live in different parts of the country. This year we decided on the 24 mile Clarendon Way from Winchester to Salisbury. Although off the Way Stockbridge is a beautiful village and convenient half way point to stop for the night. On arrival at the Three Cups very tired after our twelve mile walk we were shown to two very pleasant rooms by a helpful member of staff. The rooms were clean and fresh with very welcome tea and biscuits available. After a good rest we went down to the busy bar for a much needed pint before a delicious meal in the quirky restaurant. There were only five main dishes available but were a good choice and we both had the pork belly. For dessert we had a berry jelly, something we would normally have associated with school dinners but which turned out to be quite delicious. There was a good selection of fruit and cereals at breakfast and we both enjoyed the smoked salmon with scrambled eggs.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Bath

Stockbridge stop over

Posted Sep 18, 2016
Pros: Fun to stay somewhere really old. Really friendly staff.
Cons: Ventilation.
Location: Loads of National Trust places nearby. Easy to find and good location.
Quirky old Inn with bags of character. Lovely old beamed rooms, bars and restaurant.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from salisbury

good hotel

Posted Jul 25, 2016
Pros: handy
Cons: none
Location: Stockbrige is a lovely place
Very good hotel near to where we needed to be in a lovey town
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Devon

Nice period hotel in lovely town.

Posted Sep 13, 2015
Pros: The classic traditional inn with real sloping floors and low beams providing comfortable accommodation and good food and beer/wine.
Location: Obviously, a popular hotel for fishermen of the River Test nearby.
We had a very enjoyable one night stay. The dinner and breakfast was very good as was the cheerfulness of the staff. There was a nice friendly ambience apart from the odd low ceiling beam in places! Did not really have time to explore the garden and country surrounds.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Southampton

Full of character.

Posted Sep 7, 2015
Pros: The character of the building itself is lovely (watch you head in the doorways), the staff were very friendly and they serve kippers for breakfast.
Cons: I couldn't find fault with the place.
Location: We only had an overnight stay as part of a walking holiday so didn't see much; lots of nice pubs and countryside, plus the Test Way.
This ancient inn has buckets of character, exposed beams and brickwork, uneven floors that almost make you feel like you're at see and hobbit-sized doors. None of that is a criticism, I thought it was wonderful. The staff were all very friendly to the point of bringing treats over so they could meet our dog, and seemed quite rightly proud of the place. The room was spotless and had touches that made it feel that little bit more special, like the slate label on the bubble bath, the bath salts, the way the complimentary coffees and teas were set out etc. What really did it for me though was when I picked up the breakfast menu and it had kippers on it! Breakfast of kings and champions.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 27, 2015
Pros: Character, attention to detail - fresh milk and coffee in rooms. Personal attention to customers. Great for dining , wonderful garden area to sit.
Cons: Breakfast a little later, I was on holiday.
Location: River Test, to walk and fish. Winchester , Salisbury for history, shopping and dining. Stockbridge village itself has lots of little shops and bistros
Wonderful, lovely to step away from corporate hotels. Staff were great and really helpful. Breakfast hot and lots of choice but a little early for a Sunday morning - last orders 9am.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Forest

The 3 Cups Stockbridge

Posted Dec 16, 2014
Pros: We liked the location of the hotel as it is between, Winchester, Salisbury and Andover but not too close.
Cons: The flooring in the bedroom is extremely unpleasant and would be helped by rugs. A specials board for regular diners would be beneficial.
We wanted to stay in a period hotel with modern amenities and we were not disappointed. The 3 Cups has managed to keep the original building at the heart whilst accommodating the present traveller. The low beams and an open fire are very welcoming and when you get to the rooms upstairs you realise that it is the floor that is leaning and not you. I was concerned about our front facing bedroom but did not suffer from the passing traffic noise at all. The bedroom was clean and spacious with ample wardrobe space. The bathroom was more than adequate with great water pressure from the shower and even bubble bath supplied for a relaxing soak in the bath. Fresh milk and tap water in a bottle were waiting upon arrival. We had fantastic meals in the restaurant both nights and although they were very busy, the food was hot and freshly prepared with local ingredients although the choice was limited. The service from the staff was attentive but not overly and the over all atmosphere was friendly and welcoming. We had a very relaxing weekend and would definitely book again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from huntingdon

Beautiful pub in stunning countryside

Posted Dec 15, 2014
Only had a flying visit to the areas only to visit the Xmas market in Winchester but wanted to stay out of the city. We knew Stockbridge was a nice place but it was superb. Room was lovely, pub was delightful. Just a great stay. We will definitely be back in 2015. Many thanks
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Billingshurst

Accomodation close to Winchester.

Posted Nov 2, 2014
Pros: Extremely comfortable bed and lovely breakfast.
Cons: Broadening the breakfast serving time particularly at weekend.
Location: Stockbridge is a pretty village. Winchester is nearby as it the national trust house at Hinton Ampner.
Room was a little small although extremely comfortable. Bed was extremely comfortable and my wife and I had a great night sleep. Breakfast was very nice indeed.