Ratings based on 271 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sandwich, MA

People and setting made the difference.

Posted Apr 10, 2016
Upon arrival we received a big welcome from the front desk clerk Molly. The hillside setting was beautiful and the panorama from our room (#15) was striking after a light snow. Also the views from the public lounge/living room was impressive, with two big fireplaces (though not set with fires; presumably because the facility was not fully open. The room was clean, but a bit worn and ready for at least a minor upgrade and paint refresh. Specifically, the carpet could use a shampoo, or better yet replacement. The bed had a memory foam topper added that nicely firmed up our sleep, but seemed like an effort to delay replacing the mattress. There was a small hole (1" approx) in the middle of the main room ceiling that looked like it was intended for a light fixture. Lastly, the exhaust fan in the bath did not work. Stowehof was not completely open for the season, so food service was limited. However, nearby restaurants and coffee shops are numerous. Molly recommended an excellent restaurant for dinner - The Bistro at Ten Acres. We started our one morning at Stowehof earlier than the 8:00 AM continental breakfast and the person setting up the table was very accommodating when I asked for coffee and toast at about 7:00 AM. Some would say I'm hypercritical, so take these comments with a grain of salt, and as an effort to help the hotel improve and to help future guests set their expectations. We had a nice one-night stay and can imagine an even nicer stay in season.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 24, 2016 on Hotels
Hôtel très peu occuper pour un lundi et mardi. Le bar de l'hôtel a été fermé le lundi soir parce qu'il n'y avait pas assez de gens. Le lit vraiment pas confortable !!!
4 out of 5
by william from Burlington

Nice Inn

Posted Mar 20, 2016 on Hotels
I always like staying at the Stowehof. It is an older, country inn that could use a bit of updating here and there, but overall it is clean, quiet and very relaxing. Breakfast is included and excellent! Room was clean, nice size and free wifi was nice as well.
4 out of 5
by Warren

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 18, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice location, could use an overhaul

Posted Mar 7, 2016 on Hotels
The Stowehof is in a great location and has nice amenities including an indoor pool and hot tub which were very clean. There are also some nice grounds and outdoor facilities for the summer. The interior lobby and lounge areas are nice but furniture was worn. The staff is very helpful and friendly. The only thing is the place could use a good overhaul and cleaning. The bar downstairs is nice, but the pool table is in shambles. Our room was spacious and for the most part clean, but wood paneling in a bathroom gets moldy in the cracks and for someone super-sensitive about that they might be upset. the walls are paper-thin - we could hear every step and conversation around and upstairs. The bed situation was odd - 2 twin beds pushed together and had twin duvets on them, though king sheets. So there was a crack down the middle of the bed, though both beds were comfy. Breakfast was included and you could order eggs, omelette or pancakes, and then make your own yogurt/toast/cereal/oatmeal/coffee/tea on a sidebar. They should use more local foods like Cabot yogurt instead of gelatin milk (Yoplait) which isn't really yogurt. Overall, it was a nice place for the price but I am not really committed to stay there again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 1, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 29, 2016
It was supposed to be 20 minutes from Smugglers Notch. Due to road closure of route108 in the winter it was 50 minutes away. If we had known that we would have booked a different location. The commute was terrible.
5 out of 5
by Brian from Meredith, NH

The Stowehof is close to the mountain and unique.

Posted Feb 28, 2016 on Hotels
Great people, great atmosphere great bar & food
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not what the Stowehof Inn used to be!

Posted Feb 24, 2016 on Hotels
We have stayed at the Stowehof many times over the past years, but this time things seemed more run down than previously. Cleanliness of the room was just OK. Breakfast used to be something that our kids looked forward too, but not very good at all - obviously cutting costs. When we had hot water issues in our room (NO hot water at all, not even luke warm!), it took many trips to the from office and calls after hours to fix the problem - hotel staff really didn't want to help at all. Claimed that they never got our messages. Took over 24 hours to fix the problem. Also their handling of a fire alarm at 11pm on a night that was 0F outside was very poor - no communication with guests at all! Not sure that we will stay at Stowehoff Inn again.
3 out of 5
by Maria from San Juan, PR

Posted Feb 23, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel vintage very nice and cozy. Rooms need a little love and update inside. Although very clean, needs some decoration updates and the bed could use a new mattress as well. But overall and for the price, not bad. Pub downstairs is really good