Ratings based on 117 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 16, 2017
Really unique layout, we only stayed one night but wish we had more time to get to know the place. Not super luxurious, but nice and nicely priced.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Not the same as last year, but still really nice

Posted Jan 9, 2017
Definitely not the same as last year, but still a nice experience. Room was big and staff was accommodating since Expedia screwed up ONCE AGAIN on booking correctly. Breakfast is no longer free. We were told it was better than last year.. it's actually almost exactly the same. Except they now charge you $10 pp. Overall, still inexpensive and convenient. Coslin's Pub is now Fritz Bar. Not too much has changed menu-wise. Fondue is still amazing and it's convenient to not have to travel from your hotel/inn for apres-ski.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

A ski bum paradise

Posted Dec 23, 2016
Pros: Inexpensive, breakfast served there
Cons: Timeliness of breakfast, rooms cleaned more thoroughly
Location: Ten minutes from Stowe mountain. Dope
I stayed here because I got a great price. It was the cheapest in the area and ten minutes from Stowe mountain which is exactly what I was looking for. I just needed a place to sleep between shredding the powder during the day. The wrap around deck was an interesting touch and connected between all the rooms on the sides of the hotel which was interesting. The room was clean, though I did notice a bottle cap on the floor behind a chair and a random towel was left on my toilet which leads me to believe rooms could be cleaned more thoroughly. It has the charm of a quirky Vermont hotel. Breakfast was tasty and reasonably priced though it was put out after 7:30 one day. When you're itching to get to the mountain, having breakfast not be out on time can be a little bothersome. Overall, I would stay here again for the same price.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Shrewsbury MA

Cool place, nice people... what else do you need?

Posted Dec 21, 2016
Everyone is nice, close to the mountain, slept like a rock:)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

70s chic at a bargain

Posted Dec 12, 2016
Pros: I enjoyed the retro aesthetic, the friendly staff, the terrific value, the convenient location, and the beautiful views.
Cons: Buy new linens (please please please) and spend some money to refurbish the rooms to look as fun as the lounge.
Location: Stowe is amazing, and there's no shortage of incredible food and run recreation. Let your trip revolve around the mountain: skiing, hiking, etc.
I got the Stowehof at a relatively inexpensive rate, which it absolutely was worth. Had it been more expensive, I'd have been more disappointed, but in all, it was pretty good value for the cost. The location is between the town of Stowe and the ski resort, which some might find the worst of both worlds, but I actually found quite peaceful. Both were just a short drive away (definitely have a car if you plan on staying here) and it certainly has the feeling of a 1970s "European"-style chalet. If you grew up on ski comedies, you'll know the aesthetic. The entrance and public areas of the hotel are where that aesthetic really works -- it feels comfortable yet somewhat posh, but not to such an overwhelming degree that you feel outclassed. It's playful and the snow makes it all the more cozy. The downstairs bar is a nice touch, just in case you're too tired from the slopes to venture to town. The rooms are the weakest feature, to be sure. Mine felt quite dated, and the idiosyncrasies of the hotel are far less charming here. Nothing felt unclean, but it all felt quite lived in and used. That's not surprising -- it's an old ski lodge, so stains of the carpets, dings on the furniture, and the like are not out of place. But, it's worth noting, most of my linens had stains on them in some capacity. They'd obviously been cleaned, but they just felt a bit old. In all, I had a lovely time during my brief stay, and it was worth the cost: No more, no less.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston

Pure beauty

Posted Dec 11, 2016
Pros: Everything!
Cons: Small room improvements.
Location: In the middle of the woods! But also a short drive to downtown Stowe. Great Italian restaurant less than 5 minutes away, Trattoria La Festa.
Hotel is gorgeous! Design and architecture amazing. We just wanted to enjoy every inch of the property. Breakfast was the best deal anywhere and just delicious. The team is so friendly and helpful. Our room was small but comfortable. The only negative was the carpet was stained. The coat peg kept falling out of the wall when we removed our coats and the bed frame too needs some tightening. Parts come off in your hand. Otherwise, a gorgeous place, a wonderful stay and we will definitely be back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Boston

Beautifully renovated historic property - go now!

Posted Nov 30, 2016
Pros: Stunning exteriors and even better updated interiors Rooms with views! Great restaurant/bar with pool
Cons: They're still getting up to speed with new computer systems, etc. so we had some miscommunications and a fair bit of time to check out. Nothing major.
Location: Bit of a drive from downtown Stowe compared to other b&bs along the way. But we had fun checking out glassblowing studios and the B&J factory
It snowed as we drove into the Stowehof, and it was the perfect weather for this lodge on the hill. It is breathtaking on the inside, seamlessly blending modern and rustic styles into their walls, furniture, accents, and overall vibe. We loved all the cosy nooks around the common areas, in particular the pool table, the booths with games, and the several fireplaces next to the library. From late night hot cocoa to hanging at the lovely bar downstairs, there's always something fun around the corner here. The Stowhof was a super romantic getaway and was the perfect backdrop for us - my boyfriend proposed here! The staff was lovely, bringing out champagne for us and taking our pictures. We look forward to our next stay, maybe in the summer when we can use the pool and other outdoor facilities.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bartlett, United States of America

Disappointing

Posted Oct 26, 2016
Pros: I has very good location for the winter being very close to the skiing slops,
Cons: Inside needs updating, got a room with the hair still on the shower wall and bed wasn't clean enough after having previously guests with a dog there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Babson Park, United States of America

Nice facility

Posted Oct 19, 2016
The facility of the hotel is great, the room and bed were comfort, and the breakfast was nice. I would definitely go back to stay there with friends during the ski season.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scarsdale, NY

I went to my nephews wedding and it was very nice.

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Location: Stowe is a beautiful town, and there is much to see and do in all seasons.
The room was comfortable but, it could have been updated. The surroundings were nice and the staff was friendly and non-intrusive. There were a few spots that seemed that they could have led to unwanted incident, but no one was hurt, beyond a few bumps and scrapes. The low ceilings in the pub area do not lend themselves well to a tall family such as mine, especially when drinking is involved, (and it was). However, most can be overlooked for the quaint ambiance and New England charm of an authentic chalet style inn such as the Stowehof. I would certainly recommend staying at Stowehof as the experience is one that will be well remembered.