Ratings based on 400 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from eastern long island NY

Old world Austrian ski charm hotel in Vermont

Posted Jan 4, 2018
We recently stayed at th Stowehof for New Years! Our stay was bery comfortable and the staff was excellent, caring and attentive! The hotel could be in Austria minus the 8 hour plane ride and time change! This hotel was perfect for a ski experience and close to the mountain and town and many restaurants in between. The breakfast was very reasonably priced buffet that was freshly made and cozy by the fireplace, well attended by the staff. The rooms are a bit dated in design but very clean and comfortable. The carpets need an update and the shower needs one too. The bathroom over all was good and no issues with hot water! The rooms have big windows and sliding doors to a beautiful view that is probably stunning in the summer and fall! Thank you all at the Stowehof! Overall we enjoyed our stay and would return again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 3, 2017
We go to the Stowehof every year- it’s a one of a kind experience and we love it!
4 out of 5
by Roy

Posted Oct 23, 2017 on Hotels
Hotel was very comfortable, although dinner menu was quite limited. Disappointed that we had to pay extra for breakfast.
5 out of 5
by Baruch

great

Posted Oct 17, 2017 on Hotels
Very special surroundings.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Highly disappointing. :/

Posted Oct 15, 2017
Pros: Absolutely nothing.
We checked in, went up to our room opened the door and were extremely disappointed. The bed looked like it had not been made properly, the room was small and felt claustrophobic, the carpets were dirty and badly stained. No fridge, tea or coffee maker, a second rate room. We have started in cheaper hotels that were of a higher quality than this place. We quickly jumped online, booked another hotel in the area collected our bags and walked out.
1 out of 5
by Robert

Posted Oct 13, 2017 on Hotels
Cancelled reservation due to condition of facility upon arrival
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointed

Posted Oct 10, 2017
Only stayed one night. Thank goodness. Staff was nice. I’m okay with quaint, but this was bad.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Great staff & an interesting hotel

Posted Oct 10, 2017
Pros: Location and views
Cons: Modernisation but keeping the character of the hotel
Location: Hiking and skinh
Let’s start with the good the staff were fabulous, friendly and very nice. The location is stunning and the views amazing. The hotel room was large with a dressing room however it is very dated and although there is a lift we still needed to climb stairs to get to our room not ideal with cases and handbags. No coffee making facilities in the room which was a bit disappointing and we couldn’t see a hotel service/information in the room
2 out of 5
by Larry

In a Stephen King novel

Posted Oct 10, 2017 on Hotels
I don't know if because we booked through a third party they gave us a room in the oldest part of the hotel. It was nothing like the pictures on their website. The room was decorated like a 1950's motor lodge. The front desk was more concerned with the phone than checking me in. I'm assuming a agent for a tour group was calling because she was very concerned with making John happy(Whoever John is). I walked around the hotel looking for a coke machine,( because the front desk was vacant )and it was like walking around in a Stephen King novel, dark and creepy. I think there have to be better options available.
5 out of 5
by Linda

Amazing

Posted Oct 8, 2017 on Hotels
It was like a step back in time. It was older but the ambiance was amazing. The mountain view with the fall foliage was amazing!