Ratings based on 301 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston

Beautifully renovated historic property - go now!

Posted Nov 30, 2016
Pros: Stunning exteriors and even better updated interiors Rooms with views! Great restaurant/bar with pool
Cons: They're still getting up to speed with new computer systems, etc. so we had some miscommunications and a fair bit of time to check out. Nothing major.
Location: Bit of a drive from downtown Stowe compared to other b&bs along the way. But we had fun checking out glassblowing studios and the B&J factory
It snowed as we drove into the Stowehof, and it was the perfect weather for this lodge on the hill. It is breathtaking on the inside, seamlessly blending modern and rustic styles into their walls, furniture, accents, and overall vibe. We loved all the cosy nooks around the common areas, in particular the pool table, the booths with games, and the several fireplaces next to the library. From late night hot cocoa to hanging at the lovely bar downstairs, there's always something fun around the corner here. The Stowhof was a super romantic getaway and was the perfect backdrop for us - my boyfriend proposed here! The staff was lovely, bringing out champagne for us and taking our pictures. We look forward to our next stay, maybe in the summer when we can use the pool and other outdoor facilities.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bartlett, United States of America

Disappointing

Posted Oct 26, 2016
Pros: I has very good location for the winter being very close to the skiing slops,
Cons: Inside needs updating, got a room with the hair still on the shower wall and bed wasn't clean enough after having previously guests with a dog there.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Babson Park, United States of America

Nice facility

Posted Oct 19, 2016
The facility of the hotel is great, the room and bed were comfort, and the breakfast was nice. I would definitely go back to stay there with friends during the ski season.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Scarsdale, NY

I went to my nephews wedding and it was very nice.

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Location: Stowe is a beautiful town, and there is much to see and do in all seasons.
The room was comfortable but, it could have been updated. The surroundings were nice and the staff was friendly and non-intrusive. There were a few spots that seemed that they could have led to unwanted incident, but no one was hurt, beyond a few bumps and scrapes. The low ceilings in the pub area do not lend themselves well to a tall family such as mine, especially when drinking is involved, (and it was). However, most can be overlooked for the quaint ambiance and New England charm of an authentic chalet style inn such as the Stowehof. I would certainly recommend staying at Stowehof as the experience is one that will be well remembered.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from MA

Hiking in Vermont

Posted Oct 15, 2016
Location: Few miles away from commercial activity allowing for peace and quiet yet many shopping places, hiking trails and places of interest short drive away
Chateau like hotel, tucked in the woods of Vermont. Cozy, comfortable and relaxed atmosphere. Staff friendly and informative. Complementary buffet breakfast was the best I've ever had, scrambled eggs, home fries, bacon/sausages, pancakes/French toast, yogurt( Greek), bagels, juices and great coffee! Plenty food to start the day. The large living room/lounge had fireplaces and many comfortable chairs that faced a beautiful view. Indoor and outdoor pool with hot tub. Yes, we enjoyed our stay!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Binghamton, NY

Beautiful place to stay in the mountains

Posted Sep 23, 2016
The inn is gorgeous and is set on a beautiful piece of land. You are surrounded by mountains, a photographer's dream in the fall. The rooms are clean, comfortable and have incredible views! The staff was helpful and friendly, making you feel like you are home. The continental breakfast was the best I've ever had. Fresh cut fruit, French toast, crispy bacon, eggs and potatoes. There's a pub downstairs that has a great environment with a fireplace and cozy candlelit tables. The food also amazing! With the inn being so close to the cute town of Stowe, the Cabot annex and Ben & Jerry's factory it was a perfect trip. Will absolutely be going back and staying at the Stowehof.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Truro, Nova Scotia, Canada

Lodge nestled in a wooded area

Posted Sep 22, 2016
Pros: Many nooks and crannies with welcoming fireplaces.
Cons: Carpets need to be replaced.
Location: Nestled in the woods and lots of walking trails
Great reception on arrival. This is a quaint old world lodge that makes you want to rest your body after a long drive. I would like to see it become a time share so that we could book a week stay.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Worth the visit!

Posted Sep 20, 2016
The grounds are beautiful and so are the views! Staff friendly. Such a wonderful feel of the place! Free breakfast was delicious! Would definitely go back!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 11, 2016 on Hotels
Pittoresk dorpje.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 6, 2016 on Hotels